We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caravans!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Skye Backpackers Hostel
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Caravans!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

It was a one of a kind type of hostel experience - one which we could sleep in a caravan! Being from an Asian country, caravans are a very fresh concept to me, and sleeping in one brings the experience to a whole new level.

Found it rather irritating, though. The toilets are located in the main building and the door of the main building is locked after 10 PM. You need a code to get pass through. It isn't a good idea to drink too much water before you sleep lest you need to wake up and look for a toilet to answer nature's call in the middle of the night.

Of course, you could choose to sleep in the hostels in the main building itself and this problem would be eradicated.

Watch out for the midges just outside the caravans, especially at night. The midge bites sting real badly if they happen to feed on you.

The heater systems in our caravans worked perfectly and it kept us warm and cosy throughout the night. Service was excellent and the place was clean in general.

The staff helped us to "redirect" other hostel-visitors mainly to the other caravan mainly because we were more of the family-oriented visitors, so we kinda had the entire caravan to ourselves.

They were really friendly as well. There is a supermarket quite nearby but you'll have to drive a car there. You can then bring your food into the building and cook in the kitchen. There are many other hostel visitors too and the entire ambience was really cosy. An excellent "hideout" after the cold outside. Fridges are provided as well BTW, along with complimentary milk, hot chocolate, coffee etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SG_Jun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager026, Manager at Skye Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us :-) We're glad you enjoyed your stay & understand the caravan dorms are not everyone's first choice. There is actually an outdoor loo in the shed next to the caravans as we understand the frustrations of a midnight trek to the loo, my apologies that we didn't manage to make you aware of this during your stay. Although frustrating, the door code helps us maintain the fun, friendly & safe environment that you enjoyed during your stay and is limited to night time only :-) We totally agree with your complaints about the midges, even enjoying an amazing sunset can be made difficult by the small biters, but the good news is that they aren't all year round & a good midge repellent usually works. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday & hopefully see you back in Skye Backpackers - cooking up a storm - again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    48
    36
    18
    16
See reviews for
6
28
44
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I was little scared when our group couldn't find any other budget accomodation than Skye Backpackers caravan for 10 people, but we couldn't choose better. Stuff was super helpful, funny and friendly, I felt like on college dorm with friends. Facility itself has many different types of rooms, we stayed in caravan outside main building. The whole caravan was done in theme of starship Enterprise - beds have names of characters, linens have Star Trek theme and there are posters from The original series on the walls. In the main building they have lovely decoration too with tips on what to see on Skye. Location is great also. It's almost sin they charge so low for such great stay.

Room Tip: Caravan are great choice if you are on budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liquidus69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager026, Manager at Skye Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for the review! It's always good to hear we're getting it right & even nicer when people take the time to leave comments :-) We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hostel was great, the super friendly staff make you feel at home straight away, the kitchen is big and has everything you could possibly need even offers herbs and free hot chocolate! And the walls are filled with all the info for the area that you need. Over all this is easily the best place we have stayed in in the month we have been traveling. Thanks for making the effort and thinking of all the little things

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager026, Manager at Skye Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review :-) It's great to hear you had a good time with us & it was a pleasure having you. Hopefully we'll see you next time you visit Skye!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
Budget hostel.
Average rooms.
Awesome location.
Friendly staff.
Free parking available.
Perfect for travellers with tight budget. Free unlimited tea, coffee and hot chocolate.

Cons:
No hot water tap in rooms.
Limited breakfast.
Limited facilities and small kitchen.
Wi-fi limited to common room with poor connectivity.
Window broken and do not open in one of the ocean view rooms so no air circulation.

Bonus:
You might get lucky and may find cute Hemmy (cat) around to play with :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harshit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager026, Manager at Skye Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback :-) We are a budget accommodation option and just as you've said, it means there's some pros and cons that come with the cheap price tag. I'm sorry for the inconvenience of having a basic sink in your room, however we do offer a hot water supply in all bathrooms which are available at any time through the day or night. Although we only offer a basic breakfast (as advertised on our profile), our friendly receptionists could have directed you to a cafe that would suit your needs, maybe if you just pop down to see us next time we can help you more. We'd like to reassure you that the window in your room is due to be replaced and we hope it did not cause you too much bother. All the staff - and Hemmy :-) - enjoyed having you stay and we hope to see you again in the future. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were a group of 10 people visiting Skye. For our purpose the hostel was perfect. The living room has a fire place and is therefore very cosy. The staff is absolutely lovely and welcoming. If you have a cat allergy it might be a problem that the neighbour's cat is stopping by from time to time. The dorm rooms are typical dorm rooms, nothing bad about it. But there are no lockers. In the morning you might queue for a shower cause there are only three or four in the hostel.
They also have a nice kitchen and if the weather is [--], you can borrow wellies. Moreover they offer breakfast for cheap. We didn't use it though cause we brought our own. I would definitely recommend this place and will for sure come back next time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager026, Manager at Skye Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback :-) You were a fabulous group and we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your comment on lockers and if you're staying with us again, we do have a safe behind reception which we can lock up any valuables at no extra cost. Hopefully we will see you again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromarty, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nipped over from the east coast to spend a night in Kyleakin. There's a great pub and a good vibe with locals and visitors. I've been before but not spent a night in the hostel.

Very friendly staff, who do a good job of keeping the place clean, and are very fun to hang out with. Other guests were great. Free tea and coffee is a bonus. Beds were small but fine for a hostel. Lounge with fire and leather sofas was lovely. Thanks very much Skye Backpackers - I'll be back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager026, Manager at Skye Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much for the fabulous review and for all the banter! We hope to see you guys again soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed there 2 nights.
I was a bit surprised when i checked in, they actually told me, that i was gonna sleep in the "Starship Enterprise".

That was true, besides the regular rooms with bunk beds, this quirky hostel offers you the chance to sleep in the Starship Enterprise... well, actually it's just a caravan! :)

Located in the backyard of the building, this caravan is all about Star Trek.

The caravan has 10 bunk beds, each one has a different name, so the guest can identify the one that belongs to him. Names vary from Capt. Kirk, Klingon, Mr. Spock, Dr. McCoy, and so on. The bed linen is Star Trek themed.

There is a kitchen on can use, with dishes and pans provided. They also have information about the Island of Skye, and the hiking routes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
34.4 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
569 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,053 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saucy Marys Lodge
Saucy Marys Lodge
#3 of 3 in Kyleakin
269 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hartfield House Applecross
Hartfield House Applecross
#1 of 2 in Applecross
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skye Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skye Backpackers Hostel

Property: Skye Backpackers Hostel
Address: Village Green, Kyleakin IV41 8PH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Kyleakin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isle of Skye is situated on the west coast of mainland Scotland, and is the largest and best known of the Inner Hebrides. One of Europe's most dramatic and haunting lands, words can do little justice to describe Skye's awesome beauty. You simply have to see it for yourselves. Skye Backpackers sits in the picturesque fishing village of Kyleakin, skirted by mountains and sea. It's a small, cosy and friendly hostel with loads of character and great staff who are committed to ensuring you make the most of your time on the island. Our accommodation is comprised of 2 Double Rooms, 1 Twin Room, 1 Triple Room & 5 Dorm rooms that vary in size between 4-8 beds per room. We also have 2 caravans in our garden which can accommodate up to 20 people. All of our beds come complete with full bed linen and 2 pillows so there is no need to bring your sleeping bag. We have a great fully equipped self catering kitchen, a sunny dining area and the famous Groove Lounge with a real coal fire, loads of books and games and spectacular seaside views. Take some time to explore the island's haunted castle ruins; feel the mysterious presence of the legendary faeries in tranquil glens, waterfalls and mountain pools; visit whiskey distilleries and sample local beers and ales; take a relaxing stroll through the countryside or boldly ascend a mighty mountain. There’s plenty to see and do around the Isle of Skye so come and ask us for ideas – we’re a friendly bunch!We will give you all of our ‘Top Tips’ on our fantastic island and will even give you a FREE MAP. Possibly the BEST way to explore Skye is onboard our magical, mystical day tour with MacBackpackers. You can experience all of the best parts, learn all about the history & mythology and even hike up the dramatic hills for amazing views. Day tours start & finish from our hostel, cost £29 and can be booked at reception.(subject to availability) There are endless Cycling, Walking & Kayaking Routes literally on our doorstep. If you have your own bike or kayak with you it can be stored in our shed and we have bike wash facilities in our garden. If the weather catches you out, you can hire a pair of wellies and buy waterproof ponchos from reception. The hostel reception is open from 7am - 12 noon and then from 5pm - 10pm. If you arrive in the afternoon feel free to leave your bags, help yourselves to a cup of tea and we will check you in between 5pm-10pm. We look forward to welcoming you to Skye and to our cosy wee hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Skye Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skye Backpackers Hostel Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing