We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hostel with excellent location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyleakin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skye Backpackers Hostel
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
Budget hostel.
Average rooms.
Awesome location.
Friendly staff.
Free parking available.
Perfect for travellers with tight budget. Free unlimited tea, coffee and hot chocolate.

Cons:
No hot water tap in rooms.
Limited breakfast.
Limited facilities and small kitchen.
Wi-fi limited to common room with poor connectivity.
Window broken and do not open in one of the ocean view rooms so no air circulation.

Bonus:
You might get lucky and may find cute Hemmy (cat) around to play with :)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harshit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager026, Manager at Skye Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback :-) We are a budget accommodation option and just as you've said, it means there's some pros and cons that come with the cheap price tag. I'm sorry for the inconvenience of having a basic sink in your room, however we do offer a hot water supply in all bathrooms which are available at any time through the day or night. Although we only offer a basic breakfast (as advertised on our profile), our friendly receptionists could have directed you to a cafe that would suit your needs, maybe if you just pop down to see us next time we can help you more. We'd like to reassure you that the window in your room is due to be replaced and we hope it did not cause you too much bother. All the staff - and Hemmy :-) - enjoyed having you stay and we hope to see you again in the future. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 175 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were a group of 10 people visiting Skye. For our purpose the hostel was perfect. The living room has a fire place and is therefore very cosy. The staff is absolutely lovely and welcoming. If you have a cat allergy it might be a problem that the neighbour's cat is stopping by from time to time. The dorm rooms are typical dorm rooms, nothing bad about it. But there are no lockers. In the morning you might queue for a shower cause there are only three or four in the hostel.
They also have a nice kitchen and if the weather is [--], you can borrow wellies. Moreover they offer breakfast for cheap. We didn't use it though cause we brought our own. I would definitely recommend this place and will for sure come back next time!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager026, Manager at Skye Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for the great feedback :-) You were a fabulous group and we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your comment on lockers and if you're staying with us again, we do have a safe behind reception which we can lock up any valuables at no extra cost. Hopefully we will see you again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nipped over from the east coast to spend a night in Kyleakin. There's a great pub and a good vibe with locals and visitors. I've been before but not spent a night in the hostel.

Very friendly staff, who do a good job of keeping the place clean, and are very fun to hang out with. Other guests were great. Free tea and coffee is a bonus. Beds were small but fine for a hostel. Lounge with fire and leather sofas was lovely. Thanks very much Skye Backpackers - I'll be back again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager026, Manager at Skye Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you so much for the fabulous review and for all the banter! We hope to see you guys again soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed there 2 nights.
I was a bit surprised when i checked in, they actually told me, that i was gonna sleep in the "Starship Enterprise".

That was true, besides the regular rooms with bunk beds, this quirky hostel offers you the chance to sleep in the Starship Enterprise... well, actually it's just a caravan! :)

Located in the backyard of the building, this caravan is all about Star Trek.

The caravan has 10 bunk beds, each one has a different name, so the guest can identify the one that belongs to him. Names vary from Capt. Kirk, Klingon, Mr. Spock, Dr. McCoy, and so on. The bed linen is Star Trek themed.

There is a kitchen on can use, with dishes and pans provided. They also have information about the Island of Skye, and the hiking routes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a little lovely hostel up on the Isle of Skye. No complaints other than it's a bit cold this time of year (but warmer than most of Scotland!) and can get a bit crowded when their tours come in. Very cute and small town, great location with a wonderful view of the beach. Lovely staff, fireplace, and hostel cat! Very cozy hostel. Would recommend to anyone going up to Skye. The island doesn't have the best public transport this time of year either, so I would suggest paying for the hostels tour of the island (well worth it), renting a car, or simply coming up in summer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadicNatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Having decided to visit skye for 2 days, during the peak holiday season, we choose to go for a backpacking experience ! the rooms were clean, lot of international crowd, all of them friendly in the kitchen the meeting spot! the reception staff was really helpful in every way. inspite of lot of peeple, we didnt have any trouble with using the toilets or showers on main premises. the kitchen was well done with enough pans to cook; free hot chocolate; travel maps and posters of things to do ! there are couple of news-licence stores in the vicinity and a pub. overall a good, safe, back-packing experience with making new friends!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SneBhatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place is too good. Clean, neat, wonderful friendly people. We reached there late in the night but still warm n a cosy place to stay in and the view is just wonderful. Free coffee and tea was offered to us. worth every single penny.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Deepali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
0 mi away
Saucy Marys Lodge
Saucy Marys Lodge
#3 of 3 in Kyleakin
288 reviews
19.9 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#8 of 25 in Portree
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
MacKinnon Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Witchwood House
Witchwood House
#10 of 11 in Kyleakin
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blairdhu House
Blairdhu House
#4 of 11 in Kyleakin
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#6 of 11 in Kyleakin
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skye Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skye Backpackers Hostel

Address: Village Green, Kyleakin IV41 8PH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Kyleakin
Price Range: $26 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isle of Skye is situated on the west coast of mainland Scotland, and is the largest and best known of the Inner Hebrides. One of Europe's most dramatic and haunting lands, words can do little justice to describe Skye's awesome beauty. You simply have to see it for yourselves. Skye Backpackers sits in the picturesque fishing village of Kyleakin, skirted by mountains and sea. It's a small, cosy and friendly hostel with loads of character and great staff who are committed to ensuring you make the most of your time on the island. Our accommodation is comprised of 2 Double Rooms, 1 Twin Room, 1 Triple Room & 5 Dorm rooms that vary in size between 4-8 beds per room. We also have 2 caravans in our garden which can accommodate up to 20 people. All of our beds come complete with full bed linen and 2 pillows so there is no need to bring your sleeping bag. We have a great fully equipped self catering kitchen, a sunny dining area and the famous Groove Lounge with a real coal fire, loads of books and games and spectacular seaside views. Take some time to explore the island's haunted castle ruins; feel the mysterious presence of the legendary faeries in tranquil glens, waterfalls and mountain pools; visit whiskey distilleries and sample local beers and ales; take a relaxing stroll through the countryside or boldly ascend a mighty mountain. There’s plenty to see and do around the Isle of Skye so come and ask us for ideas – we’re a friendly bunch!We will give you all of our ‘Top Tips’ on our fantastic island and will even give you a FREE MAP. Possibly the BEST way to explore Skye is onboard our magical, mystical day tour with MacBackpackers. You can experience all of the best parts, learn all about the history & mythology and even hike up the dramatic hills for amazing views. Day tours start & finish from our hostel, cost £29 and can be booked at reception.(subject to availability) There are endless Cycling, Walking & Kayaking Routes literally on our doorstep. If you have your own bike or kayak with you it can be stored in our shed and we have bike wash facilities in our garden. If the weather catches you out, you can hire a pair of wellies and buy waterproof ponchos from reception. The hostel reception is open from 7am - 12 noon and then from 5pm - 10pm. If you arrive in the afternoon feel free to leave your bags, help yourselves to a cup of tea and we will check you in between 5pm-10pm. We look forward to welcoming you to Skye and to our cosy wee hostel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skye Backpackers Hostel Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing