We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay!”
Review of Kings Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kyleakin
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Great welcome at reception, stunning location & roaring fire. Bedroom comfortable, best nights sleep in a long time. Shower great too. Lovely sea view. Staff all friendly & obliging, nothing to much trouble. Definately going back.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank KAG75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 619 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

Looks quite shabby from the outside & the car park is very small. Carpets throughout the place are thread bare. The double room was cramped. The bathroom window wasn't even frosted glass & when I pulled across the curtain the rail had been just balancing on the brackets & fell on top of me! Our half toilet roll had been taken (by the cleaner I guess) & not replaced & I had to get reception to bring one to us. Over sink mirror had electric wires hanging from it, pedal bin fell apart when I used it, I honestly felt like the room had been set up & expected Ahidden camera crew to burst in at any time. The shower was just a pathetic dribble -struggled to wash the shampoo out of my hair. Breakfast could have been warmer & the final straw was finding a long black hair in my grapefruit (all our party are either blonde or grey haired) so knew it must be from the staff- absolutely disgusted by the place. I guess the owners know they haven't got to try too hard to impress guests as there is really no competition for custom & cash in on the location of hotel. Entire building needs total refurb, was definitely NOT worth the money we paid.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel, if you want value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LaineyMay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel has a fine location next to the bridge of Skye.
We visited Kyleakin on a Wednesday, the small village was almost a ghost town.

Hotel room was small, but ok. The bathroom was partly renewed, some places had some rust. Breakfast was just a very basic hotel breakfast. Everything pre-cooked, the fried eggs where poached and than fried for 5 sec. or something.

There probably better places for around the same money.

Saucy Mary's pub down the road has free wifi and a pleasant atmosphere.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JorenVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

this hotel was very old fashioned we stayed here for two nights yes it was a great place to base our holiday in skye and ideallly the weather and made it all the better however the hotel needs
some updating the food was plain but good although vegetables were frozen i think and we
had the same ones both nights rooms were basic and clean but certainly the hotel needs
some tlc

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorrainemorrow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I was staying at this hotel with my 2 friends. We took a triple room and it was quite nice for the price paid. I really love their unlimited cooked breakfast. You should definitely try their pan cakes. Would like to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baruch_Hashem613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This Hotel is singularly depressing in every way apart from the view from the front rooms. The back rooms overlook a car park and some houses and the general standards are extremely low .the plumbing, although upgraded is of a very poor standard and in some rooms there is not even a shelf for toiletries.

Room Tip: Very very basic Hotel with terrible plumbing (although it has been upgraded)! Depressing in every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carole c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Room not clean. Dust on the future and walls are paper thin. You can hear everything. Great location food below average. Didnt have a good sleep room was drafty too. Dinning room was clean staff are freindly but over priced for whar you got for your money.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pmungall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
6.8 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
610 reviews
19.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,083 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
7.0 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
362 reviews
33.3 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms Hotel

Address: King Street, Kyleakin IV41 8PH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kyleakin
Price Range: $96 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kings Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the Skye Bridge in the village of Kyleakin; the Kings Arms Hotel offers views across the Kyle of Lochalsh to the mainland. The Kings Arms is one of the oldest remaining hotels on the island dating back to the 1600s, and has retained its traditional Scottish atmosphere of great hospitality and warmth. All rooms are en suite and provide home from home comforts. The Hotel offers the ideal location from which to tour the Isle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Kyleakin
Hotel Kings Arms
Kings Arms Hotel Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing