We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The White Heather is a delight.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Heather Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kyleakin
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The White Heather is a delight.”
Reviewed June 12, 2006

The White Heather is a delight in design and comfort. The owners go out of their way to make everyone feel welcome. Breakfast was delicious. The beds were wonderful and the rooms spotless. I couldn't recommend it more highly.

Helpful?
4 Thank kittyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    84
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
92
225
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2006

Sunrises don't come better than this. Open your curtains and see a view of the boats in by the quay, the mountains of Kyle of Lochalsh in the distance and the ruins of a castle across the harbour. The hotel is set on the quiet harbour and is very comfortabe. The owners are very apporachable and very friendly and breakfast was well cooked. The owners pride themselves on using fairtrade produce where ever possible. An excellent hotel for the area.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zigzague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2006

My wife and I spent two days at the White Heather Hotel. We were very impressed with the level of service from Gillian and hubby Craig. The location is ideal as a base for travel to any other part of the Isle. The breakfast was excellent, just the right start to the day.
Many thanks Dave R

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Big_MIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2006

Have just come back from a couple of days on Skye and was not dissapointed by The White Heather Hotel. We were warmly welcomed and shown to immaculate rooms. My sister and her husband had a lovely view of the harbour and a fab power shower. The lounges were a real home from home with lovely sofas and plenty of books and maps to browse through and games to play. Craig's legendary breakfasts were to die for and I have been practising my poached eggs as he instructed! The attention to detail and levels of cleanliness and hospitality couldn't be faulted. i would recommend The White Heather to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newport2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 6, 2006

We stayed at the White Heather Hotel at the end of March. What a wonderful and comfortable place to stay on a cold, rainy day in Skye. The rooms were a delight, the breakfast was delicious and most of all the company - you can't meet a more friendlier couple than Gillian and Craig. Looking forward to going again soon.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chulmleigh
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2006

We stayed at the White Heather Hotel in October 2004 and we are returning there this year in September 2006. We found Gillian to be a fountain of knowledge on Skye and the places to visit. Craig's breakfast's were fantastic.
Each night you have a little menu in which you tick off what you want for breakfast the next day and then hang it on your door for collection.
Our room was a double ensuite with a fantastic side view over the harbour and castle moil. It is basic but has enough facilities. There are two lounges, one with a stereo, one with a tv and games.
The breakfast room overlooks the harbour and is very peaceful.
We enjoyed it so much that we just had to stay there again. no choice really, we didn't even look anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2006

This is an excellent small hotel, and a bargin!

Hosts are very friendly, location is excellent, rooms are clean and brekfast is excellent too.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
19.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,055 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
7.1 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.6 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
33.4 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
388 reviews
19.9 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Heather Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Heather Hotel

Property: White Heather Hotel
Address: White Heather Hotel | The Harbour, Kyleakin IV41 8PL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kyleakin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — White Heather Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at our cosy family run hotel, nestled on the harbourside in Kyleakin, by the Skye Bridge. Both lounges, breakfast room & most bedrooms enjoy harbour, Castle Moil, mountain views or Loch Alsh, mainland views. We have 3 Standard rooms & 2 *NEW* Superior rooms, a Family room & 1 Single room, all ensuite. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your White Heather Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Heather Hotel Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing