We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at the MacKinnon Country House!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MacKinnon Country House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Kyleakin B&B and Inns
Pleasanton, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful stay at the MacKinnon Country House!”
Reviewed April 25, 2010

While scrap booking our trip from last Easter and wishing we were back in Scotland this year too, I realized I hadn't made reviews for the trip. When I went to write this review, I was so surprised to read the recent, fairly negative reviews for this Inn. Our stay with our daughter and husband at MacKinnon House was magical. The location was convenient - MacKinnon Country Hotel is right over the bridge at the first round about on the right going towards Kileakin. We arrived late to the hotel and dinner due to some car problems en route and Ian was very welcoming and put us at ease, showed us our rooms, and arranged things so that we had time for unwinding and to have a drink in the "Honor Bar" beforehand. Dinner was amazing - so much so that we booked dinner for our third night on Skye at the hotel too! Breakfasts were nourishing, hot, with enough food to keep us going for most of the day. Ian was helpful with suggestions for touring the Island and the time involved. The room was well appointed with light wood furniture, a Tartan swag above the bed, drapes and curtains that looked great and the bed was comfortable for a good night’s sleep too. Lots of towels, robes, tea tray and wee dram insured comfort. Our second dinner was just as fabulous as the first. We enjoyed the common room fire, chatting with other quests and playing cards whilst sipping some Drambuie after dinner. My only response to those that had less positive experiences than ours is perhaps their expectations were different than ours. This is not a hotel with every amenity under the sun, nor is it a boutique B & B with modern style, it is a cozy manor, with the feel of the highlands, unpretentious and charming. The dinner is extraordinary. Both the accommodation and food were of excellent value. We stayed here for considerably less than our B&B in Inverness and the hotel in Edinburgh. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MarilynCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    54
    51
    45
    72
See reviews for
74
123
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

Two night stay in the garden lodge. Tiny, smelly, cold room, with some strange nylon tartan cover and drapes from the 70's.

Treated with disdain and rudeness by the 'lady' of the house when we had the audacity to notify her that certain items of clothing had gone 'missing' from our room the day before we checked out!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieUS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kyleakin hotels

Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

I have stayed in many Hotels on the west coast of Scotland and they really are not up to scratch and unfortunately this one falls into that catergory too. The greeting I received at the reception was little more than glance in my direction and handed the key. No information about meal times or the usual wake up calls and papers etc. If you are not bothered about this then the hotel does offer a very country house feel to it. The public lounges are very nice with an open fire in one and a TV in the other. The restauarant was very nicely laid out and decorated with all sorts of ornaments etc. However it lacked any atmosphere what so ever, this may have been to do with the fact that there was only myself and 2 others in the restaurant but a little background music would have helped lift the deathly silence. The food was OUTSTANDING and you have to wonder why the restaurant did not have any locals in it. The food they served was of the highest quality and I would have expected to see this in a restaurant on the high street.

The rooms are basic and if you can see past the dated bathrooms and stained carpets the room I had was spacious and had some nice touches. With matching linen on the bed and cushions of the chairs, complementary whisky and a good tea/coffe try.

I was served breakfast by the chef and he was welcome relief to sour faced person who checked me in. He was very cheerful and polite and I was expecting good things from the breakfast. However breakfast did not live up to dinner, the buffet table had Orange juice and milk and selection of cereals and that was it!!! The cooked breakfast good though.

Some positives about this hotel but unfortunately to many negatives, a little investment is required with some customer service training required.

A reasonable hotel for the west coast of Scotland compared to most!!!! best of a bad bunch!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluenoseScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On a plane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

A bad start, with nobody on reception to greet us, despite there being staff in the "private office", we were ignored for nearly ten minutes.

When someone did finally turn up, they looked at us as if we were something the cat had just dragged in. It has occurred to me since and after reading other reviews here, that this may be because we arrived at 15:45, check in is 16:00 - you have been warned.

The room we had was big enough, but very tatty. It reminded me of a British seaside B&B room, circa 1974. There was a thick covering of dust on the dressing table, not a good sign.

Breakfast is served between 8am and 9am - you need to be quick around here. There's half an hours grace on a Sunday.

To put things into perspective. We had just come from staying at One Devonshire Gardens in Glasgow - one of the best hotels in Scotland. It was cheaper than this place, a real let down.

On the plus side, they provide plenty of towels.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haguebait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2009

On arriving there was no one on reception to great us. We had to wait 5 minutes or so for someone to appear.We were told that booking in wasn't until 4pm but gave us the keys anyway.They weren't very helpful in showing us to our rooms. The rooms were small but comfortable and the bathrooms need updating.The toilet needed several flushes and it took several attempts to get shower to work. The breakfast was alright and the servers were quite attentive to our needs. We have been to other country house hotels for the price we have paid and are much much better.On checking out the same thing happened again, we had to go find someone and had to wait once more!!! I do not think that its value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

We arrived at 3:15 PM and were unsmilingly shooed away without welcome and told our rooms wouldn't be ready until 4:00 and to come back then. We were travelling with friends. Their shower did not work; our toilet's flushing mechanism did not work reliably. Our room lacked a closet or any space for hanging clothes. The hotel's grounds are little more than an untended meadow. That being said, the hotel has a superb restaurant. The food is delicious and the presentation outstanding. The young wait staff was polite, attentive, and extremely professional. It was one of the best restaurants we encountered in 10 days in Scotland.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomD6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

There was so much about this place that could have been really good....

To be fair the hotel was one of the cheapest places we stayed on our weeks tour round the West Highlands, so to compare it with some of the places we paid more for is an unfair comparison

Its conveniently situated in Kyleakin just over the Skye Bridge on the island off the roundabout - its easy to find and has an ok car park. Skye itself is beautiful and there are lots of great places to explore from the hotel

However elements of the hotels appearance let it down from arriving in the car park - neglected plants in pots by the entrance, and a window piled high with cardboard boxes to the right of the entrance - whilst set in gardens, again they had the appearance of lacking a bit of TLC

Whilst lots of people who stayed commented on the friendliness of the owners, we maybe hit the wrong note with them - we were told where our room was but not shown to it, and felt like we were interrupting family life more than once when asking for things from the "honesty bar" - the owners obviously try to achieve a homely feel to the place and several seem to think it achieved it very weel but we felt more that service wasnt offered that may have been

The hotel is clean and presentable but had a dated feel to it, though the bedroom had a hospitality tray, and water which was fine, Our room was fairly small but adequate

Breakfast was disorganised with 1 jug of fruit juice between about 30 guests which was emptied the minute it arrived, a bowl of fruit salad that we didnt get to try as it wasnt topped up, and people being brought the wrong items - even our pot of tea took at least 15 minutes to arrive and the waitresses appeared a bit out of their depth and harassed whilst we were there

Even checking out, we were abandoned whilst another guest was attended to and we felt that it fit with the feel of the place

What was really sad was reading the information about the hotel and its owners, they have fantastic policies and work with charities, and the whole ethos of the place is admirable - they also have a "green" policy to cut down on waste

Its just a shame the hotel itself let down this ethos by not demonstrating bettter standards and customer care to back up their admirable ethics

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mackem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
1.2 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
350 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
558 reviews
4.4 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
34.1 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Saucy Marys Lodge
Saucy Marys Lodge
#3 of 3 in Kyleakin
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacKinnon Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacKinnon Country House Hotel

Property: MacKinnon Country House Hotel
Address: Kyleakin IV41 8PQ, Scotland (Formerly the Dunringell Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kyleakin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — MacKinnon Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your MacKinnon Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MacKinnon Country House Hotel Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing