We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor showing all round” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of MacKinnon Country House Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
MacKinnon Country House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Kyleakin B&B and Inns
On a plane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor showing all round”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

A bad start, with nobody on reception to greet us, despite there being staff in the "private office", we were ignored for nearly ten minutes.

When someone did finally turn up, they looked at us as if we were something the cat had just dragged in. It has occurred to me since and after reading other reviews here, that this may be because we arrived at 15:45, check in is 16:00 - you have been warned.

The room we had was big enough, but very tatty. It reminded me of a British seaside B&B room, circa 1974. There was a thick covering of dust on the dressing table, not a good sign.

Breakfast is served between 8am and 9am - you need to be quick around here. There's half an hours grace on a Sunday.

To put things into perspective. We had just come from staying at One Devonshire Gardens in Glasgow - one of the best hotels in Scotland. It was cheaper than this place, a real let down.

On the plus side, they provide plenty of towels.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haguebait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    50
    49
    44
    66
See reviews for
69
118
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

On arriving there was no one on reception to great us. We had to wait 5 minutes or so for someone to appear.We were told that booking in wasn't until 4pm but gave us the keys anyway.They weren't very helpful in showing us to our rooms. The rooms were small but comfortable and the bathrooms need updating.The toilet needed several flushes and it took several attempts to get shower to work. The breakfast was alright and the servers were quite attentive to our needs. We have been to other country house hotels for the price we have paid and are much much better.On checking out the same thing happened again, we had to go find someone and had to wait once more!!! I do not think that its value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mags74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kyleakin hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

We arrived at 3:15 PM and were unsmilingly shooed away without welcome and told our rooms wouldn't be ready until 4:00 and to come back then. We were travelling with friends. Their shower did not work; our toilet's flushing mechanism did not work reliably. Our room lacked a closet or any space for hanging clothes. The hotel's grounds are little more than an untended meadow. That being said, the hotel has a superb restaurant. The food is delicious and the presentation outstanding. The young wait staff was polite, attentive, and extremely professional. It was one of the best restaurants we encountered in 10 days in Scotland.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomD6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

There was so much about this place that could have been really good....

To be fair the hotel was one of the cheapest places we stayed on our weeks tour round the West Highlands, so to compare it with some of the places we paid more for is an unfair comparison

Its conveniently situated in Kyleakin just over the Skye Bridge on the island off the roundabout - its easy to find and has an ok car park. Skye itself is beautiful and there are lots of great places to explore from the hotel

However elements of the hotels appearance let it down from arriving in the car park - neglected plants in pots by the entrance, and a window piled high with cardboard boxes to the right of the entrance - whilst set in gardens, again they had the appearance of lacking a bit of TLC

Whilst lots of people who stayed commented on the friendliness of the owners, we maybe hit the wrong note with them - we were told where our room was but not shown to it, and felt like we were interrupting family life more than once when asking for things from the "honesty bar" - the owners obviously try to achieve a homely feel to the place and several seem to think it achieved it very weel but we felt more that service wasnt offered that may have been

The hotel is clean and presentable but had a dated feel to it, though the bedroom had a hospitality tray, and water which was fine, Our room was fairly small but adequate

Breakfast was disorganised with 1 jug of fruit juice between about 30 guests which was emptied the minute it arrived, a bowl of fruit salad that we didnt get to try as it wasnt topped up, and people being brought the wrong items - even our pot of tea took at least 15 minutes to arrive and the waitresses appeared a bit out of their depth and harassed whilst we were there

Even checking out, we were abandoned whilst another guest was attended to and we felt that it fit with the feel of the place

What was really sad was reading the information about the hotel and its owners, they have fantastic policies and work with charities, and the whole ethos of the place is admirable - they also have a "green" policy to cut down on waste

Its just a shame the hotel itself let down this ethos by not demonstrating bettter standards and customer care to back up their admirable ethics

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mackem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2009

This place had a lot of character, in a good way that fit with Skye. Our room was actually in a separate building from the main house and was nice and quiet. The only thing I didn't like was it was one of those places where the two beds are pushed together to make one.

The common areas are awesome. There is a bar that you can make your own drinks and leave the money. There is a living room area with a fireplace, chess, an organ, etc. There were some fascinating old postcards there, too.

The guest book said "don't miss dinner," so we stayed, and it was fabulous. We had deer, and everything was great. First class service and yet you felt like you were at home rather than at a fancy restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gwenifyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2009

Rooms crowded, creaky, and rustic, although basically serviceable and, I'm sure, ever-so-charming if you're into that sort of thing. No A/C, no window screens, therefore flying insects in room.

Set in a pretty garden at the roundabout just across the bridge onto the island. Walking distance to the little village of Kyleakin.

Very good food at breakfast and dinner; service hit-or-miss. But the dining room tables and chairs are oddly short, making it feel like you are sitting on kindergarten furniture, and making it very awkward for a moderately tall person to maneuver their knees under the table.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, WI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

From the hearty greeting to the great kitchen, the stay was most enjoyable and welcome. On a three day Highland Experience tour and
arranged to stay at the Mackinnon Hotel. Wonderful warm surroundings and rooms, fire in the fireplace and sparkling glass and silver in the dining room. Great little inhouse bar. Thanks to Ian and Carol.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
1.2 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
6.7 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacKinnon Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacKinnon Country House Hotel

Property: MacKinnon Country House Hotel
Address: Kyleakin IV41 8PQ, Scotland (Formerly the Dunringell Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kyleakin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MacKinnon Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your MacKinnon Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MacKinnon Country House Hotel Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing