We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MacKinnon Country House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Kyleakin B&B and Inns
Schenectady, NY
Level Contributor
255 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good location, nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel was ideally located for us because we were only able to spend half a day on the Isle of Skye. It is just over the bridge from Kyle of Lochalsh (just off the first roundabout), so we were able to stop at the hotel, check in, go exploring and end up back there at the end of the day so we were able to start our drive to Glasgow the next morning by just popping back over the bridge. We were greeted by the friendly black and white dog and then Chef Ian upon arrival. Nice man. Our room was in the cottage in the back, upstairs. Parking back there was a bit of an issue, so we ended up just parking in the main lot (not that it is a far walk at all). Room was decent with a view of the back lawn. The grounds are pretty. Our room was quite chilly when we arrived after our sightseeing day, but the electric heater provided did the job relatively quickly. The bed was a little saggy, but not ridiculously uncomfortable. The bit of whisky in the decanter upon arrival was a nice touch. (Would be nice to have a little sign to let you know which on it is – we were keeping a list of all whiskies consumed on this trip.) Bathroom amenities include: 2 bars of soap, 2 shower caps, 1 lotion, 1 shampoo and one conditioner (the only hotel on our trip that provided conditioner). Hair dryer worked fine. We did not eat in the hotel for dinner, so can’t comment on the quality of the restaurant there. Breakfast was decent and the dining room is bright with lots of windows. The hotel has free wifi, but we struggled with it in the back cottage – the router was on the floor downstairs and we found we needed to be near the door of the room to make it work with any sort of regularity. At one point, I gave up and just went and sat on the stairs for 10 minutes to check my email. I would recommend this hotel to others - but note to have reasonable expectations for a hotel this old.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wraar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    51
    49
    44
    67
See reviews for
71
118
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Friendly, welcoming and helpful staff. Excellent breakfasts; fine dining in the evening. Handy location just over the Skye bridge. Lovely setting in well-kept grounds. Easy parking. Has character and charm will nice small bar and two lounges for lounging in. Very handy for a visit to Skye.

Room Tip: The single room I stayed in had a door to an adjoining room which meant you could hear your neighbou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brightonchris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were on a family vacation and this hotel was perfectly priced and very comfortable. The breakfast next morning was fab. Location of the hotel was perfect to go around isle of Skye. The rooms were very comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: If you are family / group of 4 go for the family suite. Perfectly sleeps 4 adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as part of our 5 day coach tour. We received a very warm welcome on arrival from owner/manager/chef Ian and were sent on an "adventure" to our room (the MacKay Room) in the Garden Lodge. The room was overall clean and comfortable with a view out over the garden. The wee decanter of whisky was a nice touch.

The highlight of this hotel has to be the food. We dined here on both nights, the service was impeccable - white-gloved friendly servers looking after our every need - and the food was even better! Ian claims to have only been cooking for five years and out of necessity but you'd never know that based on the food which could have come out of a very expensive restaurant (and his prices were very reasonable too). The honesty bar (a full bar where you serve yourself) was great fun too!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mrkjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed just one night - last minute booking and we had to find somewhere which would accommodate our small dog. First glance of hotel , grounds lovely but from front door looked run down, but don't be fooled - the interior is old fashioned but warm and welcoming, as was the host, and nothing was too much trouble. Dinner was fantastic - and not expensive. The honesty bar was a breath of fresh air, where else would you find a group of people from all walks brought together by self service bar! Room was roomy and comfortable and included coffee, shortbread, malt whisky and toiletries. Breakfast was cooked to order and again fantastic - only downside breakfast 8-9 am, and would have been good if an extra half hour allowed on a Sunday, after a fun filled evening in the bar! I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and would certainly hope to be back.

Room Tip: Travelling with a dog - Room 21 (Thompson) has a little room between bedroom and bathroom and the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Easy to find and nicely surrounded by beautiful gardens you get a nice feeling straight when you see the hotel. Kind staff where really helpful, borrowed us walking guides, cheese slicers and restaurant menus and let us really feel that you are here to relax and just ask if you need anything. Common room with lot´s of books and fireplace were especially beautiful and gave a nice feeling for the whole hotel. Village with a grocery store (for your walking day packed lunch) and an Indian restaurant (evening food) are just round the corner and make this hotel for example a nice first stop of your Isle of Sky adventure! We really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HasseH56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great place to stay, Beautiful home, very friendly and helpful Host. Lounge warm and inviting with a roaring fire, comfortable sofas, lovely antiques.Waitress very attentive all evening. plentiful and tasty breakfast (lovely bacon) served in a charming breakfast room. Bedroom was large clean and comfortable but have to agree has a bit of mismatched furniture and the finishing touches was a bit botched but nevertheless we really enjoyed our stay and would stay here again if we were in that part of Scotland again, but would definitely recommend to any-one.
Location was perfect for either Kyle of Lochalsh or Skye.

Room Tip: I slept in room 4 which was lovely and my Brother and sister in law had the McMillan room which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovebutterflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
1.2 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.1 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
19.3 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacKinnon Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacKinnon Country House Hotel

Property: MacKinnon Country House Hotel
Address: Kyleakin IV41 8PQ, Scotland (Formerly the Dunringell Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kyleakin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — MacKinnon Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your MacKinnon Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MacKinnon Country House Hotel Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing