We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable place to stay while discovering Skye” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MacKinnon Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MacKinnon Country House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Kyleakin B&B and Inns
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very comfortable place to stay while discovering Skye”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

we had a very enjoyable stay at the hotel, staff were very friendly, food was very tasty rooms clean and cosy, the large garden will be fantastic in the late spring with all the daffodils and bluebells that are starting to come to the surface during our visit in march 2013

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    50
    49
    44
    66
See reviews for
69
118
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Arrived unbooked off-season (not booking as not sure we needed to stay in Skye), but checked booking.com which said same number of double rooms available (3) as had been that morning and the night before - lady looked up (?down) at me and said All Rooms were booked (I'm mid-50's and don't look like a rowdy hooligan!). I said I should have booked this morning as 3 rooms had shown on booking.com, to which she bluntly replied "You should have". A bit taken aback, I then checked online via mobile phone and they were still advertising 3 rooms available - I returned to reception, and advised lady there that she should probably reset / adjust her listings on booking.com as they were still showing vacancies - she simply said booking.com must be wrong as the hotel was fully booked (except for a single room this time) and that booking.com gave her all the business and its list was full. I said that I could press the booking.com online app and asked what would happen then if I showed her a reservation? - mumbled answer only.
I write this as it seems to be in keeping with other reports re this hotel - either very good or very poor - not much in-between. Obviously my face did not fit the type of customer they were looking for.
So watch out if you turn up unexpected (or booked because maybe they overbook?)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WRLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kyleakin hotels

boroughbridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in march15-17th. We were travelling with our dog Meg and we were made very welcome. The rooms are clean, comfortable and warm. The breakfast is great. Also dinned in the restaurant one evening and had a lovely meal.
Herons nesting in the trees in the hotel gardens. Fantastic!
A great place to stay and enjoy all the wonderful things the island has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leliborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were with friends on a train trip and arrived at the hotel at around 8.45pm. We had let the hotel know this but nonetheless they kept the kitchen open so we could have an evening meal.
The staff were very welcoming and helpful and couldn't have been more helpful.
The bedroom was comfortable and the breakfast,whilst a little slow, was very tasty and well worth the wait.
Before breakfast I walked a few yards form the hotel and got great views of the Skye Bridge and the mountains around.
A good place to stay and enjoy the island and good value for money

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevind281050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This place is so engaging and agreeable, you will find your host to be a great crack and essentially you'll get a great drop of tea in the morning. The setting is idyllic and the bedroom I had was sublime. The people have never had it so good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serendipity07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in a family suite. The hotel is a lovely old manor decorated with many beautiful period pieces. Ian and his wife's hospitality is truly wonderful. I was a bit unwell with a cold while we were there and Ian did his best to make me comfortable. The bar and drawing room with an open fire are fantastic and we enjoyed several hours there of an evening. The breakfasts are brilliant, a large choice and all freshly and quickly cooked. Coffee was very good.

We would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay again when we return to Scotland.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Samm1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were made very welcome the moment we entered. Very friendly atmosphere. Bedroom was comfortable. Spent a relaxing couple of hours in front of a very cosy fire in lounge. Due to circumstances the restaurant was closed but an alternative place to eat was suggested. Lovely cooked breakfast rounded off our stay. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
1.2 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
19.3 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacKinnon Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacKinnon Country House Hotel

Property: MacKinnon Country House Hotel
Address: Kyleakin IV41 8PQ, Scotland (Formerly the Dunringell Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kyleakin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MacKinnon Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your MacKinnon Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MacKinnon Country House Hotel Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing