We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MacKinnon Country House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Kyleakin B&B and Inns
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely!”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Since we first arrived to the Mackinnon House, we received excellent and kind personal attention from Ian, the owner and manager, which complemented the charm of the property and made us feel truly at home. The house is very nicely decorated, cosy and very clean. The rooms are comfortable, the garden beautiful and breakfast is generous and yummi. Small details such as the honesty bar and ammenities in the room enhance the atmosphere of hospitality. I travelled with my grandparents and my husband and all of us feel really grateful to Ian for making us feel so welcome and pampered. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor overlooking the garden are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaOsunaOrozco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    55
    51
    46
    73
See reviews for
76
123
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I stayed in MacKinnon house recently with my partner and we found it very unwelcoming. The house itself has so much potential as its has beautiful garden and a lovely honesty bar. The rooms are spacious and clean. Unfortunately, It is let down hugely by the lack of friendly staff and heating. When we arrived the lights were switched off. When we entered the main hall there was one woman sitting in the dark at a computer. She didn't welcome us or even speak to us. After introducing ourselves we were led to our rooms in silence. It was awkward and very unwelcoming in fact it was very creepy. The room was clean and presentable but again cold. We asked about the heating and was told bluntly ''it is on a timer'' ''I appreciate it is cold''. We were unable to use the honesty bar or lounge as both the lights and heating were not on there either. We had to leave the hotel to find somewhere we could sit to warm up. Although on return we were given a portable heater for our room it meant we were confined to it as the rest of the house was freezing.
Despite the cold it was the lack of friendly service and welcome that bothered us the most during our stay. Unfortunately, the lady in question seems to be the owner therefore there won't be a change of staff anytime soon and so we would not recommend this hotel to any of our friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kyleakin hotels

Bristol, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I stayed at the Mackinnon House whilst working at Kyle. We were starting early and finishing late so we didn't see much of the staff or the owners until breakfast on ther last day, but they were very friendly and welcoming. I think we were the only guests there for a couple of nights. Anyway, the rooms were clean, and very snug given the inclement weather outside. The whole hotel has an air of quiet Scottish charm about it, which we loved. And the most friendly "guard dog"! We didn't get to eat at the hotel due to our working ours, but breakkie on the last day was fine.

I've worked in Kyle several times over the years an previously always stayed on the mainland, but I would be happy to stay at the Mackinnon again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidElGato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights here. When we arrived the receptionist really did not speak to us during check in process. This was uncomfortable. I had asked for a ground floor room so we were in the lodge building behind the main hotel. The room was large and comfortable,but, we could see that the carpet had not been vacuumed before our arrival. We did eat one evening meal here and it was very good.This place has the potential to be very nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docLongmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I booked the MacKinnon Country House hotel for an evening meal on the recommendation of another guest-house further down the road. I almost didn't bother to turn up as the receptionist had been distinctly unfriendly on the telephone, making me feel that perhaps outside dinner guests were not really welcome. However, as there didn't appear to be any other good restaurants in the area we went ahead with the booking. I have to say that the lady on reception was as disdainful in person as she was on the phone - not even bothering to smile or look me in the eye when I confirmed our arrival! Once in the dining room however, the atmosphere completely changed, and we were served a delicious meal which everone enjoyed, so our compliments to the chef. Many thanks also to Sandra, the wonderful waitress who went out of her way to make us feel like special guests. She is a real treasure!!! I am glad we saw the evening out and stayed (in spite of the initial frosty welcome).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sawbo_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

First impressions of this hotel are really good. It looks very stately from the exterior, with lovely grounds. The entrance is grand and, although a bit worn, still has an air of grandeur. There is much potential; but there's just something about the MacKinnon that makes you feel like you need to keep your voices down. We received no greeting at all from the woman at the front desk. Not a word. In fact, I felt unwelcome. I basically carried what little conversation there was until she presented us with our two room keys and proceded to give us a hard time about providing our passports, although we are UK residents (albeit with foreign accents.) Oh, she did announce that she was "proudly English" which seemed a bit of a strange thing for someone to say who is running a Scottish inn. Nonetheles, our two rooms in the annex were clean, warm and very comfortable. Loved the touches of plaid--carpet, draperies, cushions, etc....also appreciated the complimentary dram of whiskey provided in pretty decanters in both rooms. The honour-bar off the main entrance adds to the quirky charm of the main house. One of our rooms was a family suite which had ample space for the four of us. My elderly parents were accomodated in a first floor twin room, with easy access as requested. The diningroom is formal and although the food at both breakfast and dinner was supurb we still had this uneasy feeling, like we needed to whisper. I think what this place needs is a good dose of customer service. A friendly greeting upon arrival and more cheerful staff in the diningroom. Still, I would stay here again if only to give it a second chance to redeem itself.

Room Tip: There is no lift in the annex for disabled guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summafunmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed here for two days in September as a base for exploring the Isle of Skye. The hotel has an "honesty" bar, two comfortable sitting rooms, a restaurant, and is surrounded by lovely green gardens. It is right across the bridge from the Scottish mainland. The hotel serves dinner as well as breakfast, and we ate here both nights. Dinner is a leisurely affair, beginning with a menu perusal in the sitting rooms. The restaurant is in a room lined with windows overlooking the gardens. The food was good to excellent, as was the service. The room we stayed in was located a short walk from the main hotel building and was comfortable, if not luxurious. Overall, the hotel is a little shabby, but the timeworn quality adds to the appeal, perhaps. The internet worked well. The hotel has a very friendly, home-like ambiance, and the atmosphere was certainly conducive to chatting with the other guests, which adds a lot to travel. The hotel is in Kyleakin, which is some 37 miles from Portree, the true "center" of Skye. If we had wanted to dine somewhere other than the hotel, we wouldn't have had a lot of choices without a long drive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckvjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
6.4 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
569 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
352 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
228 reviews
34.1 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
8.3 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacKinnon Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacKinnon Country House Hotel

Property: MacKinnon Country House Hotel
Address: Kyleakin IV41 8PQ, Scotland (Formerly the Dunringell Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kyleakin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MacKinnon Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your MacKinnon Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MacKinnon Country House Hotel Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing