We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“StStayed here 4 years ago. Thought it great. This...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Anchorage

The best place to be!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The best place to be!
The Anchorage - right on the water's edge in Skye Always something interesting passing by. This is the Hebridean Princess luxury cruise ship.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
The best place to be!
The Anchorage - right on the water's edge in Skye
Always something interesting passing by. This is the Hebridean Princess luxury cruise ship.
Always dramatic!
Fishing boats always passing
Otters on the rocks by the house
Wonderful summer days on Skye
The small fishing harbour is just 30 seconds walk away.
Otters by the house
Castle Moil is a nice half hour round walk from the house- just beware the tide!
Aga cooking at its best!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kyleakin, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
B W
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“StStayed here 4 years ago. Thought it great. This time, after renovation it's even greater”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in June 2018

Stayed here 4 years ago. Thought it great. This time, after renovation it's even greater. Really comfortable, spotlessly clean, lots of amenities. Only the position and views unchanged, and couldn't be better. Good for touring on Skye or mainland, or just lounging as per photo. Friendly, helpful neighbour. Richard even phoned to see if we were OK.
No need to say more!
Kyleakin is nice little village with a couple of pubs of which King Haakon is better for (plain) food. Easy walk over the bridge to Kyle with good Co-op supermarket and other shops. Broadford has good restaurants - the 'Harbour' in main street is excellent - and good Co-op supermarket

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2018
Thanks for your review Bill. Much appreciated and makes it all worthwhile! Glad you had a good time and it's nice to hear from someone who knew the house originally!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Stunning Location”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

This is a very well equipped and comfortable house, but even were it not, the setting makes it a fantastic holiday choice. The garden leads directly onto the water's edge; it's a bit rocky, but a delightful place to sit and watch the world go by. The view across Kyle Akin to the mainland is fascinating, and really beautiful when the sun is setting behind the Skye bridge. There are always birds to watch, as well as the occasional dolphins and porpoise, and many and varied boats and ships; binoculars are essential. We didn't see the often advertised otters, but in a rare week of superb weather, we travelled and walked on the lovely island, wishing nevertheless to have more time just to sit and stare from the house.
Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2018
Thanks, Russell. These are the same reasons we have loved the house ourselves over the years. Welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NigelPart...
Clare
2 reviews
“Amazing views with modern living at Kyleakin”
Reviewed June 8, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We had a wonderful week at the Anchorage at Kyleakin on the Isle of Skye. The house has undergone a major overhaul since we booked.The accomodation is now stylish and open plan and clean. We enjoyed getting to grips with the Aga and all the equipment provided.The sunsets and ever changing views from the house were amazing and we saw the odd passing seal and returning fishing boats. the house was well located to visit Skye or the west coast of Scotalnd and Kyleaking and nearby Kyle had all the facilities we needed. The house requires some finishing off but we are sure that, once completed, the accomodation will be first class. The owners were very helpful from booking to our departure.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2018
Thanks for this Neil. In fact the small amount of tiling and new decking are due to be completed when we are at the house ourselves next month. Thought it best not have any inconvenience for guests! Hope you had a safe journey home and welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floridaga...
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“An Amazing Place”
Reviewed June 4, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The Anchorage is situated right on the waters edge in Kyleakin (Skye) opposite the Kyle of Lochalsh (mainland Scotland).
It's position makes it the most amazing place to stay as the views and sunsets from all the rooms are just incredible!
Kyleakin itself is small with a little harbour, a shop, a cafe, a few bars and restaurants serving usual pub style food. These are just a short walk away from the cottage, although the excellent Indian restaurant is slightly further and for most requires driving! It's position just over the bridge on Skye make it the ideal place to tour the island and the mainland.
The cottage itself has recently been refurbished by the owner and is beautiful and comfortable. We spent most of our time on the window seats just looking at the views, reading and watching the boats passing by.
The AGA cooker was a bit of an education but I was quite surprised how easy it was to cook on. The kitchen was stocked with a good selection of pots pans and utensils.
The dining table was unique and the views from the kitchen window and table meant meals and washing up was not a hurried affair!
Time was also spent sitting on the rocks outside the garden gate in the hope of seeing the otters but it wasn't to be unfortunately!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2018
Thank you for your kind review and I’m glad you enjoyed your stay as much as we have loved the house over the years.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing location, amazing view, amazing cottage!”
Reviewed October 19, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I don't write reviews very often but how could I not. I live in the South of England and work in London so was looking for somewhere to escape to that was safe (travelling on my own) stunning and calming. This cottage is all that and more. The drive here was breathtaking and after a 12 hour drive I was so happy to open the door and find the most perfect cottage (bigger than it looks on the photos) A lovely big kitchen, a cozy living room and the views!! You can see the sea from every room! I spent most of my time when not touring the Island, sitting in the sunroom watching the boats, the birds and reading books. Heaven! The location is perfect for touring the Island yet being able to get to the mainland easily to tour the West coast. I have toured the whole Island and was never an hour from home. I wanted a home from home and that is exactly what I got. I honestly cannot recommend this cottage enough it has everything I needed and more! I think it is fair to say I have fallen in love with this place and am already planning my next trip back. I won't be staying anywhere else but here! So happy I found it. Very sad that tonight is my last night :-(

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2017
Thanks so much for your extensive review Katherine. You have identified precisely the things we love about the house ourselves, as reflected by so many guests. Welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FluffChuc...
North West England
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A wonderful home from home”
Reviewed September 26, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Despite pretty awful weather during our week, we had a thoroughly enjoyable time. We have rented homes all over the world and, without hesitation, this has been our favourite. Perhaps, if one were designing a rental property from the ground up, one would do certain things slightly differently. However, this is primarily the owners holiday home which we were privileged to use for a week. No commercially rented property could hope to convey the warmth and comfort of this delightful cottage. As has been stated before, the location is absolutely perfect and we looked forward to returning each day.
The owner was particularly attentive and sorted out a couple of small issues that occurred whilst we were there with efficiency and charm. We will return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2017
Thank you for going to the trouble of providing this review Paul. We appreciate it and you'd be most welcome to return anytime. As you say, most of our guests appreciate the fact that is our holiday home in Skye and they are always careful to treat it accordingly. Sorry about the weather. We usually promise rainbows as it is usually far better than people might expect. Best wishes, Richard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing