We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accomodation! Perfect for couples.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliffe House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyleakin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliffe House
Ranked #6 of 11 Kyleakin B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accomodation! Perfect for couples.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this b&b guest house few days ago. We were on a 3-day tour over Scotland, so this house was chosen by the tour company. All people on a tour stayed at different houses and we reckon that we were really lucky to stay at that one. It was our first b&b experience. The house has a beautiful view over the harbour and has the best location. It is small, but very cosy and the owners are very friendly. We stayed at double room, had tea/coffee making facilities, windows and en-suite bathroom. The breakfast is up to you, you can choose from cereals, bacon, sausages, eggs etc. Moments away from the house there is a lovely pub and restaurant, where we tried some traditional Scottish food. We enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina_Sergeevna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    22
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bedale
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We don't normally stay at b & b's but were recommended to stay here by the nearby hotel as they were full. I'm really pleased they were as the location of Cliffe House was brilliant and the views from three sides of our room were great. The room itself was very good, apart from the en suite, been very tiny, but the room and views made up for it! Breakfast was good and the owners were very friendly. Kyleakin was a lovely little place to stay and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Room 3 has three great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canal Winchester, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were booked into the B&B by Highland Experience Tours and were very pleased! Warm and friendly welcome with tea service in the room....the perfect cuppa after a long day of travel. From our room we had views of both the ruins of Castle Muir and the bridge. Perfect space to watch for dolphins, seals and such. Had dinner at Saucy Mary's pub. (Yuummmmm! Try the chowder!) and stopped at king Haaken pub for a fortifying pint of the way back to the B&B (because 200 yards was sooooooo far to go) ;)

Room Tip: Try and explore the ruins of castle Muir.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaHarroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Cliffe House is a little (only 3 rooms) and cosy place which guarantees a warm and calm stay.
The owner was very kind and the breakfast was really tasty. My room was very clean and comfortable. But the best thing about the Cliffe House is an amazing view of the Skye Bridge, especially during the sunset.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lech S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

There was not any room for us in the cliffe house so they offered us room from their own home. Room was tidy and comftorable and had a nice wiev to the castle ruins and mountains! Owners daughter who helped arou d the house offere to drive us to th train on sunday beacause there really isnt any busses going on sunday, she was so nice and we were happy to met with her!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed in the twin room in the main house. I was a bit nervous from reading the other reviews that we may get booked in the apartment rooms across the street, but we were fortunately booked in one of the rooms in the house. The room was tiny (converted attic room) but clean. The bathroom is clean as well but lacks constant supply of hot water (my travel mate had the unfortunate experience of finding this out the hard way)..

The view from the breakfast room/lounge is spectacular. We arrived a bit late to enjoy the views but it's a nice place to lounge outside with a cup of tea.

The hosts were friendly and being the first B&B we stayed in Isle, we didn't have any other B&B to compare it against so all in all we were pleased. However, compared to the other B&B prices, this place was a bit expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in the Cliffe house on the 9th of August and we were delighted with the lovely bedroom sporting 3 fine window that gave us a wonderful view of the water. Parking was good and a few minutes from bars and eating establishments,. Breakfast in the morning was lovely. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Highswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
1.9 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lochalsh Hotel
Lochalsh Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saucy Marys Lodge
Saucy Marys Lodge
#2 of 2 in Kyleakin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blairdhu House
Blairdhu House
#4 of 11 in Kyleakin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffe House

Property: Cliffe House
Address: The Pier of Kyleakin, Kyleakin IV41 8PL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kyleakin
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Cliffe House Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing