We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So helpfull and nice family business!”
Review of Cliffe House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyleakin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliffe House
Ranked #5 of 11 Kyleakin B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

There was not any room for us in the cliffe house so they offered us room from their own home. Room was tidy and comftorable and had a nice wiev to the castle ruins and mountains! Owners daughter who helped arou d the house offere to drive us to th train on sunday beacause there really isnt any busses going on sunday, she was so nice and we were happy to met with her!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Cliffe House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 67 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed in the twin room in the main house. I was a bit nervous from reading the other reviews that we may get booked in the apartment rooms across the street, but we were fortunately booked in one of the rooms in the house. The room was tiny (converted attic room) but clean. The bathroom is clean as well but lacks constant supply of hot water (my travel mate had the unfortunate experience of finding this out the hard way)..

The view from the breakfast room/lounge is spectacular. We arrived a bit late to enjoy the views but it's a nice place to lounge outside with a cup of tea.

The hosts were friendly and being the first B&B we stayed in Isle, we didn't have any other B&B to compare it against so all in all we were pleased. However, compared to the other B&B prices, this place was a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in the Cliffe house on the 9th of August and we were delighted with the lovely bedroom sporting 3 fine window that gave us a wonderful view of the water. Parking was good and a few minutes from bars and eating establishments,. Breakfast in the morning was lovely. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Cliffe House. The water views are excellent and the place is quiet at night. Breakfast was generous. The decor is old fashioned, but no matter, things were generally clean and tidy. The bathroom was tiny, and not luxurious at all. A larger person would not have comfortably fitted into the shower, which easily leaked over the rim if the curtain was not in place. Windows opened for fresh air. Owners' restaurant recommendations were not particularly good, but then, perhaps there are not many swishy eateries around the area. mostly just pub food.

Room Tip: Ask for room 3, great views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0rrettaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a lovely house on the waterfront near to where the ferry used to berth. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a nice en suite. There were 3 windows in our room so the view was fantastic.
There is ample off street parking for guests and nice places to go for walks. Kyleakin is a lovely wee place and there are a few eating places. We had dinner at Castle Moil restaurant, which is a 10 minute walk from the B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalind_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

we came in the evning around 8 oclock.
we where welcomed by the oner Miry a very frindly woman.
the view is like sailing on a ship. the house is first on the whater front.
the brekfast was very good. roomes very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Cliffe House has great views, you are right on the water. Your breakfast in the morning is overlooking the water with unobstructed views. Breakfast was hot and tasty and quick. The rooms are clean and decorated with lots and lots of pine (which goes with the homes theme). Plenty of parking and the location is easy to find in the village. Not that many choices for dinner in the village but Ian (the owner) is able to make some good recommendations that are nearby. We would stay here again if in Kyleakin.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newmarket2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
0.5 mi away
Lochalsh Hotel
Lochalsh Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
360 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blairdhu House
Blairdhu House
#4 of 11 in Kyleakin
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
MacKinnon Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Witchwood House
Witchwood House
#10 of 11 in Kyleakin
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saucy Marys Lodge
Saucy Marys Lodge
#3 of 3 in Kyleakin
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffe House

Address: The Pier of Kyleakin, Kyleakin IV41 8PL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kyleakin
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Cliffe House Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing