We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ceol-na-Mara
Nearby Hotels
$168
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Balmacara Hotel(Balmacara)
$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunollie Hotel(Broadford)
$186
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$357
$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$312
$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Broadford Hotel(Broadford)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveler rating
153
10
2
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
10
2
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisle of skyehair drierscleaned every dayrestaurants pubslittle detailshighland experience tourprivate bathroomexcellent breakfastfull scottish breakfastday tourlovely couplelocal pubtoastshort walka lovely stayperfect hostsclean rooms
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 171 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed in this homely traditional house and felt absolutely comfortable and well looked after. The hosts are very welcoming and helpful, pointing out places to visit and even phoning ahead to get ferry information for us. Our en-suite room was spacious and immaculately clean, with a superbly comfy bed and a great view of the harbour and Skye bridge.The breakfast menu is very acceptable and the food is nicely prepared and presented and very good indeed. Kyleakin is quiet and peaceful with a couple of good pubs within a very short walking distance from Ceol-na-Mara; the village itself excellently placed for exploring both the Island and the mainland. We will definitely stay at Ceol-na-Mara when we visit magical Skye again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 695sueb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and another couple and myself stayed here on a bus trip for the night. It is a lovely place to stay the rooms are very clean and the beds are very comfortable. The couple that runs this B&B make you feel right at home as soon as you step inside the door. They have a nice breakfast menu and you pick what you want the night before and the time. When you get up in the morning its all waiting for you in their lovely dinning room. If we end up going back to this area again this is where we would stay!!

Room Tip: If you get a room at the front of the house its has a lovely view!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethalina2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very helpful & warm friendly people in the Isle of Skye who open their home to you & make you feel so comfortable. The surrounding view is spectacular which is the first thing you notice once you open your eyes in the morning. Beds are very comfortable & cozy.The rooms are very spacious, clean & and attention to detail is a given. Breakfast order is taken the eve before so they make sure that they see to your request. Should I come and visit again this is the place where I'd make sure I'd stay. 5* star service to me :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosieJo075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked a twin room with ensuite at this place several days in advance. When we arrived in the early afternoon, it appeared to be completely empty but the host insisted it would be filling up later in the day. He rushed us through the check in process while we were standing there in the hallway, still holding all our bags, He put us into the smallest room in the house, which did not have the promised ensuite... While we were disappointed, we understood that Skye is busy and the detached bathroom was still quite nice so we didn't make an issue of it... Once we tried to settle in, t we found that there was barely room to put our bags down, let alone walk around the room. If we wanted to be able to open the door, we had to sleep with our bags on one of the beds... Is this maybe a fire safety issue???

But when we came back in the evening, the place was still deserted, with not another guest to be found. Very nice spacious rooms with ensuite were available throughout the house but we had to spend the night squeezed into the tiny room. We didn't sleep well at all since the beds were terrible - saggy and lumpy.

Breakfast was fine. Good food, nothing to complain about there. But as we were sitting alone in the dining room, we asked where all the other guests were. We found out that there hadn't actually been any bookings, the host had been hoping for walk-ins. We were annoyed, but bit our tongues since we actually felt sorry for the man.

As we were preparing to check out, we found out that he only accepts cash payments... Which we had NEVER been told about, which wasn't signposted anywhere, and which obviously we did not have. And there aren't any bank machines in Kyleakin... So we had no choice but to drive back across the bridge to Kyle of Lochalsh, with him following us...

Finally, we decided to let him know how we felt about the various shortcomings of our stay. As we felt sorry for him and his apparent ineptitude in running a B&B, we tried, diplomatically, to let him know how awkward various aspects of the visit had been. He could not have cared less. He didn't listen to anything we had to say, said our opinions didn't matter, he doesn't need word of mouth referrals or reviews, and then proceeded to drive away while were still trying to speak.

Overall, while the house is ok, our particular room was awful. The host made us feel terrible.

Room Tip: Don't know about the others, but NOT the one above the front door.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sam G, Owner at Ceol-na-Mara, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

You were advised the only twin available had a private bathroom which you accepted. The room is of a reasonable size, even for 2 large people like yourselves, but having open bags strewn across the floor certainly restricts space, and yes you may have caused a fire safety issue by adopting this practice instead of using the facilities provided in the room. Beds are regularly replaced well within there lifespan, the ones you refer to are less than 4 years old. In the course of conversation in the morning you were told of the unfortunate mishap suffered by our other party of booked guests resulting in them having to arrive a day late and loosing a night of their 3 day stay. All guests are advised at the point of booking of our credit card policy eliminating the use of unsightly notices, you were not an exception to that rule. You did not raise any issues when asked about your stay whilst on the premises and seemed perfectly happy until arrival in Kyle of Lochalsh, I can only assume it was because you had to draw cash on your credit card account. I was not prepared to discuss your issues in the middle of the street and the only input on my part was to invite you back to the house and address them in private, having declined my offer I then politely excused myself and left. You were in possession of good quality photographic equipment yet you did not post any photographs to support your claim of a "tiny room".
By your own admission you checked in early in the afternoon giving you the opportunity to find a suitable room in one of the numerous establishments found locally, you were under no obligation to stay at Ceol-Na-Mara allegedly in a room that did not satisfy your needs. I note you are new to writing reviews on Trip Advisor, like the hospitality business it takes time and experience to get it right, and become a constructive reviewer, (we have almost 40 years involvement in the hospitality business, 29 of those years at Ceol-Na-Mara).
I wish you every success in your endeavour to become a creditable reviewer, and I`m sure you will as long as you apply the one crucial component in that process, and that is of course true facts and not fabrication.
Kind regards,
Sam G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

very nice location, with nice walks around, perfect hosts Sam and Fay, lovely and full of attentions, with a nice conversation.
the breakfast was lovely, the rooms are cosy with great beds, and fully equipped bathrooms. everything is renovated and it is all as clean and comfy as it gets.
full of nice attentions and delicacies in every room, toffees, biscuits, drinks and candies for the kids...
the decoration is a bit on the kitschy side, but it is part of its charm :)
beware ! there is another ceol na mara on the other side of the island, be sure to have the right address... we somehow got the wrong one, and drove an extra hour... to be received by the charming lady of the "other" B&B, and very nicely redirected ! (she even called Sam to tell him we would be late :) )

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghassan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews