We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fussy host”
Review of Ceol-na-Mara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyleakin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ceol-na-Mara
Ranked #2 of 11 Kyleakin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Sometimes you just don't get on with people, and this was one of those rare times, as my wife wrote "We were upsetting the equilibrium". On the plus side great room everything you could want, great breakfast.

Please be aware that the directions on the web site are incorrect. The Youth hostel has long since been relaced by a block of flats.

We were not greatly impressed with the eating places for evening meals.

If anyone knows where the constant streams of bubbles in the harbour come from we would like to know.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doing_the_coast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 168 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

Ceol-na-Mara was a great place for us to stay, the place is clean and very comfortable. The village is right on the water in Kyleakin and the village is a great place to stroll around. We were welcomed right off and any questions regarding the surrounding area were happily answered. The room was large and very comfortable and we were served a large, excellent Scottish breakfast in the morning. The whole place was lovely!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

the woman owner of this house is very very unfriendly, especially to international people. I stayed in this place with my wife on 26th July 2011, at that night my son came to visit us (he was staying in MacBackpacker hostel ), however, when the woman house owner saw my son staying with us, she became scold us rudely because she thought my son would stay with us whole night.

you won't feel comfortable and free when you stay in this place. and sometimes they will ask you to open your room and check if any other people in your room .

it is very very terrible to stay in this B&B, she (the woman house owner) ruined our holiday.


I and my wife strongly suggest people do not live in this B&B, especially to International people (you will strongly feel the discrimination from her).

Room Tip: don't stay in this house especially if you are international people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank myw016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FayKyleakin, Owner at Ceol-na-Mara, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

We graciously allowed this couple to take their son into their room to use showering facilities, as he was staying in a near by hostel sharing all facilities with another 28 people. At no time did we check the room to see if he was still there, or accused them of trying to keep him there all night. We checked with them at 30 minutes past midnight to see if he was ready to leave in order to lock up the premises for the night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

First of all, there are other bed and breakfasts in the area with the same name, for example in Balmacara, so Ceol-na-Mara in Kyleakin shouldn't be confused with the others!

We stayed for one night while touring the Isle of Skye. The rooms were scrupulously clean and nicely appointed. The proprietors obviously have a keen eye for detail. Ceol-na-Mara has nice views across to the mainland as well as of the Skye Bridge. The breakfast was of the highest quality. I would certainly recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Number66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sylperuzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Roberta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La nuestra doble con baño es genial :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Almoraima74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
19.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lochalsh Hotel
Lochalsh Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
MacKinnon Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Blairdhu House
Blairdhu House
#4 of 11 in Kyleakin
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#5 of 11 in Kyleakin
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceol-na-Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceol-na-Mara

Address: Ceol Na Mara South Obbe, Kyleakin IV41 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kyleakin
Price Range: $28 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ceol-Na-Mara Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing