We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Greenwood Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isleornsay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenwood Barn
Ranked #1 of 2 Isleornsay B&B and Inns
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding B&B”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at Napier Cottage for 3 nights whilst touring the West Coast of Scotland. The hospitality and welcoming atmosphere makes this a very special place to stay. The scenery is breath taking and we enjoyed seeing the otters and seals on the rocks at the bottom of the garden. Breakfast was first class. Christine and Ian are lovely people and have built an amazing house. You certainly deserve your 5star rating. We hope to visit again soon, but wish you both a great summer. Once again thank you.
Mark and Michele

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Ian and Christine are fantastic hosts. The rooms are superb and we hope to stay in the future! Highly recommended! One of the best b & b's we have ever stayed in. The room was huge and beautifully dressed. The location is excellent - very quiet and overlooking the sea. Down the road a few miles is a fantastic pub as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

After quite a harrowing journey by bike in bad weather on poor roads (our choice of route!) the welcome by Christine, and her afternoon tea was just what we needed. We stayed 2 nights and really enjoyed our time here. The breakfast was excellent.
Only downside is there is only one restaurant within walking distance, and that is a bit 'high end', and might not be everyone's cup of tea.
Christine was very helpful in advising on local facilities and went out of her way to help us.
Fine weather on the second evening meant we got to see the seals!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninepinnellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

From the hot tea and homemade scones that welcomed us upon arrival, to the breathtaking views, to the comforts of a warm bed, to the best porridge I've tasted, make a stay at the ' best little cottage overlooking the loch' a relaxing and stressfree part to a trip to Skye. Christine goes out of her way to make you feel perfectly welcome in her home and is more than helpful with ideas and suggestions on what to do to make the most of your trip. It is a perfect base from which to explore the Isle. I'd definately return if I'm ever back in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We thought this B&B would be good as it was recommended in Alistair Sawdays. However, we did not realise just how good it would be. As has been mentioned, Christine and Ian were very welcoming hosts and their house was wonderful. It was quite the most comfortable accommodation of our holiday and compares very favourably to 5 star hotels. We enjoyed watching the birds and the rest of the wild life. This was a very good location from which to visit Skye. In summary, lovely setting, lovely house and lovely people - we certainly hope to return.

Room Tip: No doubt all are good - we had the Green Room and it was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCCC187056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I can't praise this B and B enough. We had 2 nights there and it was absolutely fantastic. The house is a beautiful new-build in probably the best location on Skye, convenient for the Armadale ferry and the Skye bridge. There's more than 180 degree sea views from the dining room, the garden room and the bedrooms. The house is exquisitely decorated and dressed.. Where else can you watch siskins at the bird tables and seals playing on the rocks whilst breakfasting? Top notch food for breakfast and dinner, and Christine and Ian are superb hosts.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Me and my husband stayed in Napier Cottage for 3 nights. The house is absolutely beautiful outside and inside! The interior is finished tastefully with lots of attention to details, rooms are immaculately clean with luxurious feel. You can choose your breakfast from quite an extensive menu, so every day you can have something different. By the way everything was supper delicious! To dine out there are quite a lot of hotels with its own restaurants nearby, from basic to gourmet. Yes .. and there were seals laying every day on the beach nearby B&B, what else would you want? Thanks to friendly Christine and Ian, for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyonka_alyonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isleornsay
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
36.5 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
22.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.4 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#1 of 2 in Sleat
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwood Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwood Barn

Property: Greenwood Barn
Address: | Duisdalemore, Isleornsay IV43 8QX, Scotland (Formerly Napier Cottage)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Isleornsay
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Isleornsay
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My new B&B, Greenwood Barn, offers luxurious accommodation in spectacular surroundings on the beautiful Isle of Skye. If you want peace and luxury within spectacular surroundings, then I would love to welcome you into my home. The house's modern interior and comfortable, well equipped accommodation reflects a quality I hope you will enjoy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing