We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hillside Cottage

Hillside Cottage with moorland views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hillside Cottage with moorland views
Entrance to Hillside.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Hillside Cottage with moorland views
Entrance to Hillside.
Cosy living room, relax and chill after a days exploring
light, spacious living room
View from the living room
Well equipped kitchen.
American fridge freezer/washing machine/tumble dryer/dishwasher
Light and airy double room.
Moorland views
Twin bed room
Drench shower and normal shower head...bliss
Bridge at river Roskhill
River Roskhill,
Heather moorland by river Roskhill
Moon behind the Cuillin Mountains, taken from Roskhill
Cuillin Mountains
Cuillins
Cloud below the Cuillin Mountains
Deer feeding on the lowlands on the road to the Isles
picnic bench
Private road up to Hillside Cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dunvegan, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
1300807
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at Hillside cottage for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer.

The cottage was extremely clean and very comfortable, everything you could think of was there, really appreciated the up to date dvd's like American Sniper and the Theory of Everything to watch in the evenings.
Maps and books are provided and the information that I received before arrival really helped us plan our short break.
The beds were so comfortable, great shower, fast wifi, well equipped kitchen, the location is ideal for exploring the Island and it is so nice to come back to a lovely home. Plenty of hot water and the house is very warm, we didn't even put the log fire on!

Can't wait to book this cottage again and explore more of the Wonderful island, will definitely recommend to family and friends and will stay for at least a week next time:)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loader365
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed June 10, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Very comfortable, warm cottage. We stayed for week in May and loved it. Everything was spot on, from the decor and furniture to the kitchen equipment. Nice to have a supply of maps to help explore the island. Well placed just outside Dunvegan and ideal for getting everywhere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Little touches like fresh flowers in the house when we arrived.
Liked least: That we had to leave....
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything you need for self catering
Liked least: the best view was from the bedroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alyth
Reviewed April 1, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 26, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jan G
1 review
“Fabulous, modern cottage in a glorious setting.”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a wonderful 5 nights on Skye. Even before we arrived, Gail gave us loads of travel ideas and advice for our trip through Scotland. Once we arrived, we were delighted with the cottage. Immaculately furnished and decorated, with all the mod cons, and even an X Box for the children! I would say a home from home, except it was much more high spec than our own home! A real bonus having a washing machine and dryer so we could do laundry from the previous week really quickly. There were loads of maps and books for us to peruse, and nothing was too much trouble for Gail and Spencer to make our holiday a happy one. We were blessed with blue skies throughout, so could really make the most of our stay. Would not hesitate to recommend, and hope to stay again as we only saw a fraction of what the island had to offer..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing