We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot for a stopeover”
Review of Dunvegan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunvegan Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Dunvegan B&B and Inns
Lochcarron, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely spot for a stopeover”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in January. I was extremely well looked after. The food was very good "pub grub", and the portions were very generous. Although I would not say this hotel would be ideal for people to stay for a week, it is ideal if you are travelling through Skye or the Highland and are looking for a stopover for the night. Contrary to other reviews, there are a number of places to eat out in Dunvegan.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickrailroad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    33
    30
    21
    35
See reviews for
26
69
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We didn't stay in the hotel but did have a meal here. Granted, the restaurant area was quiet but the lady ' owner' couldn't have looked more disinterested if she'd tried when we arrived enquiring about a table. We were told we could eat then as they would probably shut up the restaurant soon if no-one else came in. This was about 7pm. We looked at the menu board and said we'd eat and she took her time getting up from her seat before going behind the bar to take our order. The meals were only average and the atmosphere completely flat. I know this hotel from years ago and it used to be lively and previous owners enthusiastic. Such a shame given its beautiful location and many years standing that it has come to this. On a brighter note, down in the cellar bar, the atmosphere prevails from years gone by thanks to Willie and the faithful regulars. If only the owner could look to his engaging and fun personality to inject some life upstairs.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank leoxlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dunvegan hotels

Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Having recently stayed in Dunvegan for a week, we visited the hotel twice for an evening meal. The first night we were well looked after and the food was quite good. We went a few nights later as there are not many places to eat out in Dunvegan. When we got there only a couple of tables were taken, maybe 5 people in all. The bar area is quite large with quite a number of tables, it was indicated that they were expecting a large party plus they had to keep some tables free just in case any of the guests in the hotel wanted to eat, also there was only one person in the kitchen (not our problem). Reluctantly we're given a table in the corner whilst the anticipated large party arrived. It transpired that the large party was only 7 people and there were no other guests that arrived wanting meals. The first course arrived and was okay. When the main courses arrived the size of my husband's salmon was just incredible. The piece of salmon was so thin it wasn't even the width of a knife. Considering the price for the salmon dish was £13.50 and it was my husband that had ordered the meal we felt it was an insult and had the feeling of being completely ripped off. Whilst we appreciate that fish can be expensive that was absolutely disgusting. Think they should re-consider their portion control.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giminana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I tried booking for a night near Dunvegan weeks in advance but most of the accommodation was already booked out. We were relieved when we found the rooms available here. The accommodation was comfortable and breakfast fine.

Room Tip: There are loch view rooms and hill view rooms - ask for your preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferrri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We arrived in dungevan on a tour of the isle of skye with very limited accomadation aviable, so with the rubbish weather decided to settle upon the dungevan hotel, at first recieving nice hospitality, we firstly went down for food and a drink, which was ok, although not to fresh tasting and overally boiled, it was then when back in the room, when we discovered the digusting state of the room, with a carpet that looked like it hasn't been vacked in years, lots of dead moths, brown mould growing in the shower and a awfull smell to the whole room, howvever nice view out of the window, also discovered a broken bed, which was impossible to sleep on, after a night with very little sleep, my girlfriend decided on not having the breakfast while i made the mistake of doing so, awful smell in the dining room, fruit juice was nice, but the cooked food was absouluty disgusting, had all seemed to have been but through a microwave. All in all would not stay here again in serious needed of diy and cleaning, shame as lovely views in a nice village.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We spent the night here after arriving at what we thought was Skye's second biggest town, only to find not much option on the b&b front, ie just Dunvegan Hotel available.

As others have said, it's a bit like going into a time warp entering this hotel, but that seemed to be the case for most of the highlands so we grew to expect it. The room was fine, clean enough - ancient tv though with only 3 working channels. The shower was dire though! We ate in the restaurant without mishap and I thought the food was quite nice, portion size was fine. Breakfast too was nice - had fresh fruit rather than tinned.

The hotel needs a lot of updating, but it serves its purpose for a night.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kumquats2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I arrived in Dunvegan today, staying at the guesthouse across the road, I was looking for a place to have dinner. The Dunvegan Hotel restaurant seemed to be the only thing open around this area (at 7:10pm). I wish I'd have read other reviews here before I even attempted it.

I went into the restaurant. Being alone, I felt uncomfortable immediately, people were staring at me. I approached the lady at the restaurant and asked if I could take away food, she said no. And so I said, "ok, I'll just sit here". Then I looked at the menu, since I'm vegan and there were no vegan options on the menu, I asked if I could just have fries, since they come as a side order to many meals. The woman said "no, we don't do just fries for dinner". So I said, "ok, but there are no vegan options here so there's nothing I can eat" and she said "we don't do just fries for dinner" so I said that I understand, but is there anything else I could have suitable for vegans, and the woman said no, and giggled a little. I'm glad she found it funny, being the only restaurant open at this time, and seeing as fries WERE ON THE MENU, I thought they'd care a little more, guess I was wrong.

I drove a little down the road and found the beautiful Old School restaurant which had a great vegan dish and seemed all around nicer, with great service that come with a smile. Skye is full of nice Scots, no need to get served by grumpy ones.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lalyil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunvegan
14.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,054 reviews
6.7 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
177 reviews
4.0 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 6 in Portree
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atholl Guest House
Atholl Guest House
#4 of 10 in Dunvegan
98 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kinloch Follart
Kinloch Follart
#1 of 3 in Dunvegan
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunvegan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunvegan Hotel

Property: Dunvegan Hotel
Address: Dunvegan IV55 8WA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Dunvegan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Dunvegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dunvegan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunvegan Hotel Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing