We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Tables Guest House
Ranked #1 of 10 Dunvegan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
542 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Excellent location, excellent service”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Great views across the loch with a warm welcome from the owners who provided service above and beyond for our entire stay as an example they recommended and booked restaurants for us, and provided glasses and refregeration for our beer.. I am not quite sure where the adverse reviewers stayed but it was not here. Our room was spacious well appointed and decorated with ample supllies of teas coffees,biscuits and toiletries. If you wanted anything else just ask.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tableshotel, Owner at The Tables Guest House, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Thank you for your response, were pleased you enjoyed your stay here and found everything to your liking. We hope you can return at some point in the future so you can see more of the island. Best Regards, Ian & Nicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    38
    13
    3
    8
See reviews for
23
100
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

A big part of any good B and B (this is not a hotel) is the owners, comfort, clenliness and of course the breakfast, and clearly the owners of this place have never stayed in a good b&b. The man and wife team just havnt got a clue, on arrival my wife went across to book in and the woman owner bellowed at the rest of us us to get a move on we thought she was having a laugh but I dont think so. I dont know if she was trying too hard but we felt loke we were being lectured to about everything and the costs of running the place. Bedroom was clean but ott on pillows ornaments etc. But the breakfast was a real laugh nothing I.E fruit juice and cereals were set out you had to ask for juice and what cereal you wood like and the full breakfast well you could almost see through the ONE rasher of bacon and when we asked for a poached egg the stunned look on the owners face was like Basil Fawlty being asked for a Waldorf Salad. We asked for more coffee he asked how many as he had switched the machine off we were made to feel uncomfortable. We didnt pay by credit card as he wanted to charge us i think it was 2% more and he had to tell us that it cost (or used to be before charging residents) £3k per year. We were glad to get away from this place and as other reviewers have said its like fawlty towers (but not as good)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SteveLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tableshotel, Owner at The Tables Guest House, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
We agree that we currently do not run The Tables as a main stream hotel, we were graded as a Small Hotel with 5 bedrooms in the past, over the years we had to drop our alcohol license due to spiralling costs. We havent changed the title as guests can stay in there rooms, lounge or conservatory should they wish for the duration of the day as with a B & B you are expected to leave. My wife was talking with the lady who came to check the party in for a good 7/8 minutes about how long the rest were taking and she jokingly went outside to ask them in, no offence intended and a serious mistake on our part and one we wont make again. As for been lectured we mention what we can, how the TV works, heating, shower and a few other things as so many people used to come back downstairs with "this doesnt work". Im sure people would prefer to know about the room and how to use the facilities rather than heres your keys and there it stops. Theres 6 pillows on every bed, 4 for use and 2 for show we cant see a problem with this. Obviously these guests found something very amusing with breakfast and didnt take the time to look around the dining room, as they would see there is not the space to have an array of fruit juices or cereals out, hence a comprehensive menu is provided and we serve everything from the kitchen. As most of the party had poached eggs 2 days running why would we look stunned ?? when the plates were taken away you all said how lovely breakfast was ! We dont slice the bacon, if it wasnt thick enough we can give you the suppliers address so you can take it up with them, and if you wanted more than ONE piece why didnt you say so ! I really dont see what the problem was in asking how many would like more coffee, it would be a waste making anothing litre of coffee for 1 person as against bringing large cups which I did. Once again we have guests who said nothing on leaving, clearly unable to speak to us (though they did for quite a long time during there stay) about anything they may have found wrong in contrast to the 4 German guests who stayed the same time and wrote (Thanks for friendly welcome, its a nice and comfy place. And the breakfast was so good.) One wonders how many of the 5 know what was written here as some of the party commented on how lovely everything was and a wonderful stay and 1 thanked us for the trouble of washing and drying their clothes !! The guests had an email enquiry and confirmation email stating that we charged a 2% credit card handling fee (which there banks charge us) in there possesion since March 2011 so its no good complaining here, you didnt "bother" to read what was sent to you or laise with the rest of the party.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We arrived at Tables and were shown to our room, which was a tiny attic room with the smallest TV ever attached to the wardrobe door and a fire escape running through the room, no value for money at all!
As we hadn't booked a restaurant, the host kindly told us that she would be able to supply us wth the same meal that she had made her family ( so-called 'spaghetti bolognaise'), the food was disgusting and we could hardly eat any of it, the main surprise came when they charged us £10 per person for this which is way more than you would pay for a proper meal in a restaurant on skye! Disgraceful!
In fairness, the breakfast wasn't as bad the folowing morning, but then toast isn't the hardest thing to make!! I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anon350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tableshotel, Owner at The Tables Guest House, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Unfortunately this guest didnt take the time to read about The Tables as it clearly states on our website that the bedrooms are all in the eaves of the building. Been constructed around 1896 it is a traditional 1 1/2 storey building. Images on the website clearly show the construction and views inside the bedrooms. Unfortunately there is no where else to place the TV and is sited in the most appropriate position. We would like to point out the TV is NOT on the wardrobe door but sited to the right on on a permanent non opening fixture. The bedroom is situated off to the right hand side as you walk along the hallway with a locking door which nobody has access except the guests.The fire escape does NOT run through the bedroom. We were instructed to put a door in the passageway by the Fire Service to comply with fire regulations this is a non locking self closing door in the upper hallway leading to the fire escape door which passes the bedroom. To say we found the comments that the food was disgusting is an understatement, in total contrast to every comment about the food which appears on our own website. Theres no accounting for taste. The spaghetti bolognaise was made with quality scottish beef mince. Why didnt the guests say anything if they found it so disgusting ? As for the price of the meal its at a charge to cover all costs - food is at an all time high and like everything else keeps rising. For comparison a proper meal at the local restaurant would be around £19 per head, main course only. In fairness we cant please everyone as the sarcastic comments about breakfast cleary show, again in total contrast to comments on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I suppose our mistake was staying here after coming from Tarbert where we had stayed at a small guesthouse called Tigh Na Mara. Somehow it just felt different - whilst the delightful lady at Tigh Na Mara baked home made cake which was left in our room and got up to give us breakfast at 7 when we had a ferry to catch, the Tables lacked that generous feel. The room was comfortable with a good view although the light was not sufficient to read in bed, the towels were not changed in the 3 nights we were there and the heating was rarely on ( at Tigh Na Mara you could have it on whenever you wanted). Breakfast was adequate, I particularly liked the thick crusty toast, but the cereals were out of date, as were the coffee sachets in the room. Tigh Na Mara allowed you to help yourself to juices, cereals, prunes and grapefruit with porridge also available whilst the Tables brought out a glass of juice and an individual pack of cereal. The tray in the room was not replenished for 2 days and I had to go and ask for more coffee.
The couple who run the Tables were friendly and helpful and perhaps one shouldn't compare but, considering the Tables was £11 per night per person more expensive, it just reinforces my feeling that you don,t always get what you pay for and quite often the smaller places are best!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathbradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tableshotel, Owner at The Tables Guest House, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
A sign of the times when people feel they cannot approach the owners and highlight anything which is wrong. Far easier to do from a keyboard. Unsure why this couple use the phrase "mistake" as they are only interested in comparing with the Tigh Na Mara at Tarbert which can accommodate 5 people compared to ourselves with up to 14. In a survey over the last few days we asked 15 room guests whether they would expect cake to be placed in there bedroom on arrival or daily during there stay, interestingly every guest said "No". We were not asked at any point to provide an early breakfast. The rooms are serviced daily, the information book placed on the bed asks if you would like towels to be replaced to place them in the base of the shower tray or bath. On each of the 3 days no towels were placed indicating they would like to be changed. The heating is a central heating system regulated by a timer thermostat with 5 different temperature settings. On the days the guests stayed the upstairs temperature was at 20C, 4 of the 5 bedrooms had windows open, were not in the business of trying to heat the outside air of Skye, Its just too expensive and not environmentally green. The dining room does not have sufficient space to have a range of juices and cereals out hence we take orders and serve what customers request.The guests did not ask for any prunes or grapefruit or porridge. The drinks tray was serviced daily along with the rest of the room. If we inadvertently missed replenishing the tea\coffee\milk we apologize. The coffee sachets are a sealed product as were the weetabix. The coffee did have a Best Before date of March 2011 and the weetabix 22 March 2011 again a Best Before date. There are currently no regulations stating that any product beyond a Best Before date has to be discarded. As the items are dry and sealed and will not degrade for a considerable time we use up any stock to avoid waste. With 2/3rds of all food discarded in the UK and millions of people dying worldwide who would give anything for a tiny crum of Weetabix or any other food it becomes a rich man poor man scenario and who gives a whatever to other countries and there starving people. We apply the rates per person at a level which allows us to run the business in an appropriate manner allowing necessary maintenance and upgrades to the building as well as been able to provide for ourselves. With 5 months of almost no income you cannot undervalue prices just because. Every business has different overheads as im sure the Tigh Na Mara does. Were also sure the Tigh Na Mara would of appreciated your favorable comments on there listing and not ours. Nothing written as of 08 August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Had a lovely stay at this hotel. Great food, nice clean accommodation, and Nicky and Ian made us feel very welcome! :-). Would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elainejamieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

A great place to stay in Skye. The owners are a fantastic asset to the Isle of Skye, they will help you if they can. Great room with massive bed, clean, warm and cosy. Great breakfast with good choice of freshly cooked items. Eating out locally is good we liked the old school house, great food and good value, you need to book. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GezYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2011

i must thank nicky and iain first of all for the fantastivce reception we got on arrival and there hotel is very homley and you are made at ease right away.
i like the way we were shown to the room before accepting it and the rooms are all colour co-ordinated and very comfy
i would highly recomend staying hear and will be back in the future

mr and mrs j ritchie

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaay1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunvegan
4.0 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
35.5 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
14.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#1 of 6 in Skeabost
445 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kinloch Follart
Kinloch Follart
#1 of 3 in Dunvegan
66 reviews
14.6 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 93 in Portree
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tables Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tables Guest House

Property: The Tables Guest House
Address: Main Street, Dunvegan IV55 8WA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Dunvegan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Dunvegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome To The Tables Guest House - Situated in a beautiful part of North West Skye and central to the village of Dunvegan, The Tables is slightly elevated from the road with wonderful views across Loch Dunvegan to MacLeod's Tables Mountains. With five comfortable bedrooms 4 are en-suite and 1 has a private bathroom which is not shared. It is the perfect place to spend time with your family or friends and explore this beautiful island. All our rooms have free wi-fi, television, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities. Guests are very welcome to stay on the premises during the day to relax or work and have use of the lounge with an open fire (excluding the summer) and large LCD TV, as well as the conservatory overlooking the loch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Tables Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tables Guest House Dunvegan, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing