We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book here.”
Review of Tullochard House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tullochard House
Ranked #3 of 10 Dunvegan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't book here.”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I would love to give this B&B a proper review unfortunately I am unable to. My husband and I booked our trip to the UK for November 2013 we had booked and prepaid for every hotel and B&B we stayed in from Moscow all the way to Scotland so imagine our surprise when 2 weeks into our holiday and 3 days away from going to stay at this B&B we get an email from our travel agent telling us the B&B had over booked and couldn't offer us a room. Over booked we had payed for the room in the August. Very bad form Tullochard House and I will not be recommending and I will NEVER book here again.

Room Tip: Find a room somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suz08j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, Owner at Tullochard House, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We are so sorry to hear that your holiday was spoilt as you were unable to stay with us.
The first we knew about the problem was when we saw your review on TripAdvisor.
We were not overbooked nor did we cancel your booking. We did however receive a cancellation from Expedia on your behalf on the 28th of October, therefore believing that you had cancelled for some reason.
We have been in touch with our booking agent to look into this, they believe the problem was caused by a change of name on your booking with Expedia, but are as puzzled as we are as to why this caused the booking to be cancelled and not re-booked!
Can I once again say how very sorry we are and hope you accept our apology

Copy of email we sent you from our booking agents

I am writing to you in regards to the reservation you made on Expedia for the Tullochard House in Isle of Skye.
We understand from your TripAdvisor review that you were told by Expedia that Tullochard House were unable to accommodate you due to an overbooking?
After an investigation was made by eviivo (Tullochard House’s diary provider) we found that they issue was in fact not caused by Tullochard House but by Expedia.

On 31/07/13 a reservation was made for Mr Greg Higginbottom for check-in 14/11/13, however on 28/10/2013 this booking was cancelled by Expedia.
When this booking was cancelled by Expedia, it generated a cancellation email to Tullochard House (attached email).
From what we can see now, a new booking was generated for Shane Rhodes under the same Expedia ref, but due to a technical glitch, this new booking was not sent across to the hotel.

So you can understand the shock when Tullochard House saw your review on TripAdvisor as they were never informed by Expedia that the new booking had been made.
They have since been in contact with us as they feel that this was an error caused by Expedia and that they should not be penalised for this.
We apologies for the inconvenience this caused you and ensure you that had the hotel known that you had made a new booking, they would have accommodated you.
So we are writing to ask if you would be able to reconsider your review on TripAdvisor as this does impact the hotels reputation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    26
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Kate was a brilliant host - taking time to explain lots of interesting things about Skye and its history. The breakfast was marvellous - especially the home made jams and marmalade. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 463craigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for two nights here and we couldn't have been happier. As we drove through the Isle of Skye we were getting nervous because all there was was scattered homes and sheep! As a young couple we like to eat and drink wherever we are staying and didn't pack any dinner. Thankfully Dunvegan is an actual country town and Tullochard is an actual country B&B!
The location is great for walking. With sidewalks right outside and right next to the Old School Restaurant. The town has about three bars for good drinking.
Kate, the owner, is super friendly and gave us some awesome local suggestions.
Our room had great local feel! The shower was warm and the whole place was clean. I loved Kate's quilts that she had hanging, beautiful. The breakfast was delicious, egg, sausage, bacon, tomatoes, mushrooms, and home-made bread and jelly. We bought one of Kate's Whisky Marmalades.
If we ever make it back to the Isle of Skye, we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We staying here for two nights whilst visiting Skye. Kate is a great host, full of excellent local knowledge and always wanting to make you feel at home. We stayed on the first floor in the en-suite room. The bed was very comfortable and we had tea and coffee facilities. The bad points were that it had carpet in the bathroom which didn't seem very clean and there were nik naks everywhere. Although this would suit others as a young couple we prefer a more contemporary minimalist style place. We would also have liked the option of just toast for breakfast instead of bread and jam. I think it just needs updating. Great location though, in Dunvegan.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariejled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Good points:

Breakfast was filling and proprietors were nice and accommodating; the food was lovingly prepared and our host was very knowledgeable about Skye and what to see/do.

Not-so-good points:

For the price you would expect a bit more class. The bedrooms and bathrooms were tidy and superficially clean (clean sheets, dust-free etc) but in dire need of a deep clean and a lick of paint. Very strange and eclectic taste in décor made me feel uncomfortable, but I'm sure many people would like its "quirkiness". Mattresses creaked. The host didn't introduce herself at the door so I didn't actually know her name until overhearing someone else mention it. There was only one TV for guests and was in the communal living room.

Regarding another review suggesting there were bedbugs, chances are that the scratching was caused by midges!

Room Tip: Two of the three upstairs rooms have a shared shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackSabbath86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Tullochard House. comfy room with en-suite and a great location to explore the isle. Kate does a fantastic breakfast, I have put on a few extra pounds, fresh bread and and a variety of homemade jams and marmalade each morning. Kate is warm and gives you a feeling that you are a friend of the family, lots of information about where to visit and places to see. We will happily return, thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at Tullochard House for one night in May 2013 and that was enough to put us off.

Bad points: no en-suite (two rooms on the first floor share the same bathroom), no TV or radio in the room, in desperate need of updating! It still has the old 1800 power sockets!!!! Payment is cash only. Sheets looked clean but beds are very old, creaky and we couldn't stop scratching the whole night!

Good points: Kate did provide a good breakfast and home made bread as well as helpful tips for walks and sightseeing.

To top it all up, we got covered in bed bug bites but only realised this after we left and paid our £55.00 for the room. I think he bare minimum would have to be new clean beds/ mattresses, en-suite facilities and a TV/ Radio.

Would definitely not recommend it. I would however recommend the Stein Inn, some 10 miles or so drive, where we had a wonderful meal and their rooms all look magnificent with spectacular sea views! I wish we booked there rather than stay in someone's old house!!! This should definitely not be classed as a B&B in this condition.

Room Tip: Would definitely not recommend it. I would however recommend the Stein Inn, some 10 miles or so dri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunvegan
4.3 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
35.0 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
14.4 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kinloch Follart
Kinloch Follart
#1 of 3 in Dunvegan
64 reviews
34.4 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tullochard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tullochard House

Property: Tullochard House
Address: Tullochard House, Dunvegan IV55 8GU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Dunvegan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Dunvegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tullochard House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Tullochard House you will receive a warm welcome from Kate and Keith. Tullochard House offers comfortable, accommodation in well-proportioned rooms for up to 8 guests. All four rooms are individually decorated, with original paintings and patchwork wall hangings. Two Double en-suite rooms (one of which is on the ground floor), one Standard Double room & one Standard Twin room. The two standard rooms share the exclusive use of the first floor toilet/shower room. A homemade takeaway breakfast is available for those who want an early start. The full cooked breakfast is served at 8.30am, along with porridge, homemade breadrolls, scotch pancakes and Kate's own jams & marmalade's. Special dieitry requirments can be provided on request, including homemade Gluten Free bread and mushroom burgers. The Jams & Marmalade's are on sale along with other crafts that Kate makes in her craft room. Tullochard House offers a relaxed and informal atmosphere for those wanting a base for a holiday on the Isle of Skye or wanting overnight accommodation as they travel around the Hebridean Islands Tullochard House is situated in Dunvegan in the North West of Skye and well placed to explore the Glendale, Waternish & Trotternish peninsulas, the Cuillin Mountian Range, & just 25 miles from Portree. Within short walking distance is the Old School Restaurant, cafes, post office and local village shops. Kate and Keith will give advice and suggestions of some of the best places to visit, these will include good long & short walks, local craft outlets and locations for viewing widlife and spectacular scenery that is not to be missed. Payment: All outstanding balances must be paid in Cash on arrival Cancellation Policy: Bookings can be cancelled up to 1 week before check in. Cancellation after this time will incur a charge of 100% of the booking total. We would advise you to take out holiday insurance to cover yourselves in case you have to cancel due to unforseen circumstances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tullochard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tullochard House Dunvegan, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing