We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where was Manuel?”
Review of Misty Isle Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunvegan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Misty Isle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunvegan
Dunoon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Where was Manuel?”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Fully booked at Dunvegan Hotel, so tried Misty Isle for a meal with family.
The place looks terrible from outside, with an ugly extension spoiling a perfectly good original building.
The place was like Fawlty Towers without the laughs. We were put at an un-wiped corner table beside a fire exit in the stunningly naff extension, ordered drinks at bar with a sad-looking young lad who tried his best but seemed unable to cope. My pint was later delivered by a man who turned his back as he dumped it on the table in front of me. No idea who he was.
Another unsmiling man in jeans was wandering about, sometimes delivering food to tables and otherwise dealing with people looking for rooms.
All the while bloody East Enders was blaring out of the unwatched TV in the corner, while the unhappy boy tried his best.
No attempt by any of the staff/management to make anyone feel welcome or at home.
Food was like a throwback to 1970s - in fact, so was the whole place.
I have to say that amongst the life-sucking depression of the place, the haddock was good (frozen chips were rubbish though). Wife had the curry that time forgot. Another poster hit the nail on the head, comparing it to their first ever experience of curry - like something your mum would make in the 70s or 80s. Edible if non-descript.
One European lady visitor near to our table had the courage to ask for the win list, to be met with panicked confusion.
It became funny in the end - but none of the staff were laughing...or even smiling.
Welcome to Scotland.
For God's sake. Beautiful Skye; friendly Sgianach natives; fantastic natural and human history all around. And we spoil it all with this.
Why??
Even if the food occasionally reaches the standard expected - if you're out looking for somewhere to eat, walk on by and spend your hard-earned somewhere that makes an effort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Currach67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    5
    2
    9
See reviews for
6
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Snodland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Well?..We went there for a meal on our first night in Dunvegan. Was told by a local that it looked a bit iffy? but,the food was good if the owner hadn't been on the gatter.
Well,it looked as if it had been closed down for months and,re opened for one night only.Almost like a discarded film set. I declined to eat but,my other half ordered fresh scallops which looked ok and,he said they were delicious.
The toilets doors were just about held up having lost the bottom frame to rot.But,they were clean. I was glad that I wasn't a staying guest. I actually would have liked a month there and,sorted it all out as,the owner of 18months was a really friendly,helpful guy but,had no idea.
It is a no frills place which needs some tlc but,we were made very welcome and,I hope they get some advice soon as,it's a shame to see it like that.
p.s.The young lad behind the bar was very polite and,did his best.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NessaJ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dunvegan hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I'm visiting from overseas, my cousins took me on a fantastic day out touring around Skye in Scotland. We stopped at the Misty Isle Hotel for lunch, my cousins had fond memories of meals had there in the past. The outside of the Hotel looked ok from the outside, sadly when you enter that's a different story! It is very old, cold, rundown and uninviting. We thought about leaving but decided to give the place the benifit of doubt. The young man behind the bar was obliging, every now and ten another staff member would walk in, scowl at us then leave again.When our meals came out one currie with chips floating in the curry sauce, three fish, chips and salad, they looked very inviting, that is until I got half way through my fish to find a long black hair in it!! we asked that it be taken back to show the cook, that was the end of it, never saw the fish, the cook or a sorry again!!! It was the only letdown in what was a wonderful day! I would never advise anyone to venture through the doors.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This has to be up there with one of the worst places I have ever stayed after travelling the world. It is not only the cleanliness (or lack thereof) that is an issue, the staff themselves are a major problem for this place and until they are all gone there is no hope for improvement. This is unlikely to happen anytime soon.

My friend was actually threatened by bar staff over nothing and the management didn't seem to take issue with it.

I would rather stay on the street in a gutter in the snow than this place if I ever had to pass it again.

Room Tip: Keep driving..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Quite possibly the worst experience any of our group of 8 have encountered in all our travels.
Very unfriendly - shabby and dirty (both the staff and the building)
If visiting Dunvegan and looking for food and drink, go elsewhere - we did.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Duncryne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We were looking for somewhere for an evening meal, probably should have been put off by the external appearance, however we were very hungry. Restaurant was empty (maybe should have been put off here.....) We went through to the lounge bar, a few locals (no one eating, maybe we should have been put off here....) We both ordered the chicken curry, which arrived very quickly and was reminiscent of our first curries as teenagers..... Vesta came to mind!! All in all not a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrianLandels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle/gateshead
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We visited the lovely Isle of Skye this easter (2012) its been a couple of years since our last visit to see old friends. We stayed as usual at The Misty Isle hotel.
After a 300 plus miles motorbike ride all we wanted was comfy bed and a shower, which we got along with a warm highland welcome a decent pint of lager and a nice hot meal.
YES its basic and there are no frills to this place but you are always welcome at The Misty,

Room Tip: The Misty Isle Hotel has a family suite with bathroom, tea making facilities and a TV lounge. OH an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunvegan
4.2 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
14.9 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,026 reviews
35.4 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
163 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
359 reviews
28.6 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Isle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Isle Hotel

Property: Misty Isle Hotel
Address: Main Street, Dunvegan IV55 8WA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Dunvegan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunvegan
Also Known As:
Misty Isle Hotel Dunvegan, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing