We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinloch Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunvegan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kinloch Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Drumnadrochit, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I've never written a review before but was compelled to here as this campsite is simply the best I've been to in the Highlands and Islands - and I've been to many.
The owner is a local, ( a pleasant surprise ) and was able to give sound knowledge on the local area, wineries and dineries in Dunvegan.
For me cleanliness is paramount, and the toilet block and showers were very clean and well maintained.
The site was pretty busy and I was disappointed that I hadn't arrived earlier to get a good spot, however you only have to walk a few feet to get breath taking views of Macleod's Tables, and Dunvegan and Loch Dunvegan.
Busy but relaxed, this is a definite choice for folks that want a bit of peace and scenery. There is no bonnier place on earth !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marjie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    36
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
68
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed three nights in this fairly small campsite with our three kids in July in a tent and it is certainly one of the best souvenir we came back with. The first night was a bit hectic due to the exceptional hight wind, however the owner was of great advice and provided help.
It is the perfect place to visit the Isle of skye. The scenery is fantastic and the kindness of the owner cannot be better.
It is true the facilities are basic, but spotless and everything you need is there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurentG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Beautiful location and the locals are very friendly and laid back. Would recommend this to anyone going to the Isle of Skye for a short break. The grass pitches were extremely good and the information and welcome you get from the owner was top notch. Dunvegan isn't very big but the locals are extremely friendly. Toilet block and showers were kept very clean and plenty space in the shower. You can have the shower as hot as you like and the power on one of them nearly blew my skin away!!! The site was extremely busy but it all fell silent from 11pm so a good nights sleep was had.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Difficulty in finding enough superlatives to describe this campsite, therefore one word only EXCELLENT...... the only rule of the campsite was 'enjoy your stay' and we certainly did. The location alone would sell this site, views over the loch, the sunsets.... Amazing

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianLandels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Camped for 4 nights.Relaxed owners very pleasant throughout. Basic facilities. No campsite shop. All local shops ran out of bread & milk by afternoon. So get stocked up in the morning. campsite within 10 mins walk from pubd & local store.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soots2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Arrived on spec, for two nights and was met by Colin who made us most welcome, and given a choice of pitch with hook up. Next morning was offered to move to any others that were free, but was more than happy with my pitch.The site and facilties were plentiful and very clean. Was given a full run down of the local facilties (short walk), The Old School House lovely food (not cheap but well worth it). Great walk to Dunvegan Castle over the hills, about 45 mins, Colin will supply a leaflet (part of the Two Church Walk). Used Divers Eye at Stein for a boat trip, sea eagles, minke whales, porpoise, seals, puffins, Shags and the rest, Gordon was very information and took time to find the wildlife. Stayed an extra night, fell in love with Skye. Breakfast with a seal watching you.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Booked 3 weeks in advance and requested a nice pitch with grass for sitting out for our large motor home . On arrival we were met pleasantly by reception and shown to our pitch - oh no !! A hard core section of 4 cramped pitches on top of each other and no grass !!!! No room to run out awning , hard core rockery meant you could not sit out with table and chairs if you had room . We requested a change as we had booked for 3 nights and were met with total indifference. We opted out of staying and left in the morning . In conclusion nice view and location , very poorly thought out pitches which are obviously maximised for profit, pictures are deceptive and we spoke to 2 other unhappy campers on the 1 night we stayed ( if we had not been late afternoon would not have even stayed at all ). If you intend To book i would ensure you got one of the few decent pitches but personaly I won't be back - would have been better off in a pub carpark !!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunvegan
14.7 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
6.9 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
35.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tullochard House
Tullochard House
#3 of 9 in Dunvegan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tables Guest House
The Tables Guest House
#2 of 9 in Dunvegan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kinloch Follart
Kinloch Follart
#1 of 4 in Dunvegan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinloch Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinloch Campsite

Property: Kinloch Campsite
Address: Dunvegan IV55 8GU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Dunvegan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Dunvegan
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are open from 1st April to 31st October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kinloch Campsite Dunvegan, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing