We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat.....”
Review of Hillstone Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colbost
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillstone Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Colbost B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real treat.....”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Our room was tastefully decorated, very comfortable and featured stunning views across the Loch. Complimentary extras in the room, such as fruit, choccie and good quality tea/coffee making were very much appreciated. The bathroom was immaculate. The breakfast was totally delicious and the menu on the table giving the weather forecast and a "thought for the day" were lovely touches. Our hosts were extremely kind and helpful (especially in view of our car trouble!). Their home is just stunning and we were made to feel very welcome and that nothing was too much trouble. We hope to stay again in the future. A real treat!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
184
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Culbokie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed last weekend at the Hillstone Lodge and would well recommend the experience. Lovely rooms with lovely touches, excellent walk in shower! The breakfast was of a superior standard, excellent choice of fruit and cereals and fantastic cooked breakfasts. The owners were friendly and hospitable. The views from all the rooms in the lodge were spectacular. We would also recommend a table at the Three Chimney's for a taste extravaganza.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. Andreas and Marlies are great hosts. The rooms are lovely with large walk in showers. The view alone looking out across Loch Dunvegan in the morning made it worthwhile. Would definitely recommend, but be aware Colbost is a little more remote than you might think!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Amazing location and views from each of the rooms. The layout of the house ,quality of furnishings, food choice and attention to detail make this a truly welcoming and memorable place to stay. The owners have to be commended in creating a truly welcoming haven for guests. The choice , quality of the food and presentation make this 5 star accommodation.
As an added bonus it is only a short walk from the lodge to the 3 Chimneys restaurant so you can try all the restaurant has to offer without a long drive home.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms have excellent views and facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Lovely modern home with outstanding views across the Loch. The owners are most welcoming and are very helpful. Breakfast is varied and delicious. Rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cumbrialife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Hillstone Lodge certainly lived up to its reputation. I recently spent two nights in this wonderful B and B. The welcome is warm and the owners are not only charming and helpful but highly professional - everything about Hillstones, (the bedroom, the bathroom, the food, the location, the views....) is just perfect. And the extra bonus for foodies is that Hillstone is a ten minute scenic walk from the Three Chimneys restaurant ! I look forward to an early return. Many thanks

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ford65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

One of the best places we have stayed in. The location and views are fabulous, all the accommodation and fittings are of the highest standard, the owners are charming and the attention to detail truly impressive. All B & B owners should visit this place to see how it ought to be done!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colbost
38.3 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
4.6 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
17.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
359 reviews
8.6 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
162 reviews
12.6 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#2 of 6 in Skeabost
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillstone Lodge

Property: Hillstone Lodge
Address: 12 Colbost | Dunvegan, Colbost IV55 8ZT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Colbost
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Colbost
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillstone Lodge is a small guesthouse on the Isle of Skye and you can find us easily on the internet for direct bookings. Providing luxury accommodation, offering full breakfast and also dinner options (when booked in advance). Located at Colbost, great views overlooking Loch Dunvegan, close to Dunvegan Castle and within easy reach of all the other sights on the magnificent Isle of Skye. All three rooms feature TV, DVD, iPod dock and radio, tea and coffee making facilities, free WiFi, hair dryer, large ensuite with walk-in shower, fluffy bath towels, bath robes and toiletries. The rooms on the ground floor have their own terrace. Both lounge and dining room benefit each from its open fire place - to relax after a long day outdoors. The modern building was designed by award winning architects "Rural Design" in Portree reflecting the traditions and the heritage of the Isle of Skye. Using "green" construction technology Hillstone Lodge is energy efficient, minimising the impact on the environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillstone Lodge Scotland/Isle Of Skye - Colbost

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing