We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in a lovely setting...”
Review of Hillstone Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colbost
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillstone Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Colbost B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay in a lovely setting...”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. Andreas and Marlies are great hosts. The rooms are lovely with large walk in showers. The view alone looking out across Loch Dunvegan in the morning made it worthwhile. Would definitely recommend, but be aware Colbost is a little more remote than you might think!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
207
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Amazing location and views from each of the rooms. The layout of the house ,quality of furnishings, food choice and attention to detail make this a truly welcoming and memorable place to stay. The owners have to be commended in creating a truly welcoming haven for guests. The choice , quality of the food and presentation make this 5 star accommodation.
As an added bonus it is only a short walk from the lodge to the 3 Chimneys restaurant so you can try all the restaurant has to offer without a long drive home.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms have excellent views and facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Lovely modern home with outstanding views across the Loch. The owners are most welcoming and are very helpful. Breakfast is varied and delicious. Rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cumbrialife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Hillstone Lodge certainly lived up to its reputation. I recently spent two nights in this wonderful B and B. The welcome is warm and the owners are not only charming and helpful but highly professional - everything about Hillstones, (the bedroom, the bathroom, the food, the location, the views....) is just perfect. And the extra bonus for foodies is that Hillstone is a ten minute scenic walk from the Three Chimneys restaurant ! I look forward to an early return. Many thanks

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ford65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

One of the best places we have stayed in. The location and views are fabulous, all the accommodation and fittings are of the highest standard, the owners are charming and the attention to detail truly impressive. All B & B owners should visit this place to see how it ought to be done!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Easily the best place I stayed during my two week visit to Scotland. I was moving around quite a bit, so I would up staying in a number of places, and this was by far the best place. It is a little bit off the beaten track, but the extra effort to get there is worth it. The place is only a little more than a year old and I thought it was very tastefully designed and decorated. My single room was quite spacious and the bathroom was twice the size of others I had come across on my travels. All the little details were dialed in just right. For example, instead of the ubiquitous electric heater for heating a pot of water for instant coffee, they had an instant cappuccino machine. Loved that.

And the views! Just stunning! The whole wall facing the loch was windowed and included a sliding patio that opened to my own porch. It was a bit cold, windy and rainy, so I didn't sit outside much. But still, even in stormy weather, the views were mesmerizing.

Although remote, it is a short drive to the Neist Lighthouse. For dinner, it's a short drive to The Old School in Dunvegan, where I had an absolutely excellent meal. Morning breakfast was just perfect.

I recommend this place to anyone going to the Isle of Skye and wants to stay at a very comfortable, contemporary accommodations with spectacular views.

If I return to Skye, I will definitely be staying here again.

One last point, as an added bonus, this place was a great value. They could easily charge much more. I told the owners this and they said they are only planning modest rate increases for next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badgertrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Hillstone Lodge was recommend by the staff at the Three Chimneys. It couldn't have been a better recommendation. Andreas and his family have built a beautiful guest house on Colbost. Architect designed, the house is fantastic. The welcome was great, with every amenity you need. Our room on the upper floor provided stunning views of Loch Dunvegan - including the seals this morning. The view from the guest lounge is simply incredible.

Breakfast this morning was 5 star, lovely fresh produce and brilliantly presented.

I highly recommend this place. We will be back

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chancer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colbost
17.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,054 reviews
38.3 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
4.6 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
177 reviews
17.4 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 93 in Portree
235 reviews
12.6 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#1 of 6 in Skeabost
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillstone Lodge

Property: Hillstone Lodge
Address: 12 Colbost | Dunvegan, Colbost IV55 8ZT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Colbost
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Colbost
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillstone Lodge is a small guesthouse on the Isle of Skye and you can find us easily on the internet for direct bookings. Providing luxury accommodation, offering full breakfast and also dinner options (when booked in advance). Located at Colbost, great views overlooking Loch Dunvegan, close to Dunvegan Castle and within easy reach of all the other sights on the magnificent Isle of Skye. All three rooms feature TV, DVD, iPod dock and radio, tea and coffee making facilities, free WiFi, hair dryer, large ensuite with walk-in shower, fluffy bath towels, bath robes and toiletries. The rooms on the ground floor have their own terrace. Both lounge and dining room benefit each from its open fire place - to relax after a long day outdoors. The modern building was designed by award winning architects "Rural Design" in Portree reflecting the traditions and the heritage of the Isle of Skye. Using "green" construction technology Hillstone Lodge is energy efficient, minimising the impact on the environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillstone Lodge Scotland/Isle Of Skye - Colbost

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing