We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveler rating
385
70
29
27
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
70
29
27
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasting menusplit levelsconesoystersisle of skyevenisonlocal producebefore dinnerlong driveloch dunveganlittle touchesbreakfast roomeach eveningremote locationgranolasingle track roadporridge
Filter
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 532 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Eating in the restaurant is a great experience, staying in the House over by is a great way to reinforce the beautiful feeling. Right from the first entry through the door we were made welcome. A cup of tea was organised and when we could not decide which cake we wanted we had both.
We were given advice about places to go and offered maps and guides. The room was stunning and everything has the look of being designed by somebody who wanted to stay there. So many places look like they are designed by people who want to collect the fee!
After a long soak in a hot bath I sought liquid refreshment and had a perfect G&T made with Shetland gin and a piece of lime in it; absolute bliss.
The meal, reviewed elsewhere was memorable for all the right reasons and followed by a really good night's sleep.
Breakfast, with a great view, lived up to the standard of the previous day. It's the details that count; the home made granola, the lovely fruit salad and the amazing bread. Then the cooked breakfast arrived. Every ingredient was a champion; from the eggs so fresh the hens hadn't noticed they were gone to the black pudding that even black pudding haters love.
We left, not needing anything more to eat for the rest of the day with smiles that remained as long. Of course other people will have other views but perhaps the service you get is a mirror of how you come over.

Room Tip: Book well in advance. All the rooms are fantastic but the disappointment of finding them fully booked could make you angry.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TinbumNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

...but this wasn't it. Nearly, but not quite - I'll explain.

First impressions were fabulous: the rooms (we had 2) are large and tastefully done, the service is efficient and friendly and we were offered tea and muffins within 5 minutes of arrival. Obviously, it's an amazing location, which helps too.

There are nice touches in the rooms: complimentary fudge and fruit; a decent coffee machine and stunning views across the loch. Toiletries are from Temple Spa and bathrooms are spacious with powerful showers. The seating areas are comfortable too.

The staff were friendly and helpful, with the exception of a breakfast waitress who was on the dour side (but hey, it's Scotland!) but the whole experience was slightly let down by the service at dinner.

We had the 7 course taste of Skye menu and really rated the food - it's better than we've had at several Michelin starred places this year - but a couple of things could have been better: the wine arrived quite a bit before the food at least twice; our empty plates were left in front of us for quite a while on 3 occasions and the service noticeably slowed down towards the end of the meal - it felt as if they'd forgotten about us. In fact, a few times a waitress walked past our empty plates to ask another table if they were happy and I wanted to say "hold on, clear these!" ( but didn't, obviously.)

Also - and this is minor - bread plates and knives weren't cleared until the very end of dinner, despite our finishing with bread by course 3; when I was a waitress I'd have been told off for that. But that was a long time ago so maybe it was deliberate in case we wanted more bread, who knows?

The bill for one night (2 rooms, dinner for 4, wine for 2 of us), at the 'special' winter dinner bed and breakfast rate was just over a grand. I'll leave it to you to decide whether that represents value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wickedwaterwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were hugely looking forward to a visit to ‘The Three Chimneys’ as the high point of our week on Skye- we were sorely disappointed.
A good meal is all about the dining experience. In common with some other reviewers we were upset and hugely disappointed with this particular experience. We felt let down. The spread of tripadvisor ratings says a lot, I think. For so many to be poor or terrible speaks volumes. The quintessential ingredient for the best dining experience is to feel valued. We did not feel this way. It is difficult to iterate why we felt the service was not up to scratch, people seemed to go through the motions but we felt there was an undercurrent of condescension mixed with end of season tiredness. In short, we felt the attitude towards us was perfunctory. In common with other reviewers, we felt there was an element of people resting on their laurels. Of course, all of what I have said is subjective and our opinion based on our experience but was how we felt. No one helped with our coats on arrival, no-one even attempted to see us out. There was little of the genuine personal touch shown towards us.
We felt the position of our table was dreadful -crammed in to a small area that made us feel remote from the restaurant proper. We felt this area was too small for 4 tables, I got a jet of cold air when the serving door behind me was opened - which was quite often. Too many people seemed to be crammed into a totally unsuitable space. This area felt like eating in the porch and if we had walked in off the street we would probably have walked back out again - actually that is what we should have done with hindsight.
The food was very good - there is no denying that. Whether it was worth the price though is quite another matter. This restaurant will offer some people a superb experience. The fact that it wasn't us - and judging by the reviews will not be for quite a few other diners either, means that if you don't have £300+ per couple to be prepared to 'lose' on a poor overall experience then seriously consider whether this is for you. In point of fact our emotions now are those of disappointment rather than anger. We just feel rather silly having paid so much for such a poor evening.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
16  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful place to visit. If you are looking for a room with swags and tails, don't come here. This place has class! Beautiful furnishings, lovely paintings, small touches in room to make you feel most welcome.
And the food. The seven course tasting menu offers a range of flavours so subtle, yet awakening taste buds every step of the way. The staff were so helpful and accommodating, a credit to the Three Chimneys.
The Three Chimneys represents the best of Scotland and what it had to offer. But what makes it stand out is their commitment to the use of local products,and their commitment to the local community of Skye. Well worth the five hour drive from Gladgow. Will certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oscarcallie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife had been nagging me to take her to this restaurant for some time, and, travelling from London just for dinner, was a real ask. We travelled on the Caledonian Sleeper from Euston, which offers such small compartments at crazy prices, that, per square foot, a suite at Claridges looks good value.
Nevertheless, a bottle of wine made the journey bearable, as did the early morning views of Scotland as we made our way towards Inverness. Stopping off at the Caledonian Hotel for breakfast (grim) we then taxied to Inverness airport to our hired car, and so began our journey to Skye.
Having just returned from New England, we weren't expecting Autumn colours to match , but were amazed with just how beautiful the Scottish landscapes were.Crossing over to Skye really was like discovering Brigadoon, and our arrival at the three Chimneys took a lot longer than necessary as we stopped to marvel at every turn of the road
The hotel, itself, whilst uninspiring in design, is offset by the warm and wonderful welcome, which includes tea and muffins on the house. But don't think ordinary scones, but the most delicious, home made fruit scones
Before dinner we gazed at the basking Seals through the binoculars out across the loch...total joy.
The restaurant, situated in another building alongside the hotel is a somewhat more up to date building, and the food absolutely sensational. As for the breakfast the next day.....fantastic.
The whole experience was wonderful, a real treat. I can't wait for my wife to nag me again....

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews