We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colbost
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Three Chimneys House-Over-By
Ranked #2 of 3 Colbost B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful place to visit. If you are looking for a room with swags and tails, don't come here. This place has class! Beautiful furnishings, lovely paintings, small touches in room to make you feel most welcome.
And the food. The seven course tasting menu offers a range of flavours so subtle, yet awakening taste buds every step of the way. The staff were so helpful and accommodating, a credit to the Three Chimneys.
The Three Chimneys represents the best of Scotland and what it had to offer. But what makes it stand out is their commitment to the use of local products,and their commitment to the local community of Skye. Well worth the five hour drive from Gladgow. Will certainly go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oscarcallie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    65
    29
    27
    20
See reviews for
41
313
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife had been nagging me to take her to this restaurant for some time, and, travelling from London just for dinner, was a real ask. We travelled on the Caledonian Sleeper from Euston, which offers such small compartments at crazy prices, that, per square foot, a suite at Claridges looks good value.
Nevertheless, a bottle of wine made the journey bearable, as did the early morning views of Scotland as we made our way towards Inverness. Stopping off at the Caledonian Hotel for breakfast (grim) we then taxied to Inverness airport to our hired car, and so began our journey to Skye.
Having just returned from New England, we weren't expecting Autumn colours to match , but were amazed with just how beautiful the Scottish landscapes were.Crossing over to Skye really was like discovering Brigadoon, and our arrival at the three Chimneys took a lot longer than necessary as we stopped to marvel at every turn of the road
The hotel, itself, whilst uninspiring in design, is offset by the warm and wonderful welcome, which includes tea and muffins on the house. But don't think ordinary scones, but the most delicious, home made fruit scones
Before dinner we gazed at the basking Seals through the binoculars out across the loch...total joy.
The restaurant, situated in another building alongside the hotel is a somewhat more up to date building, and the food absolutely sensational. As for the breakfast the next day.....fantastic.
The whole experience was wonderful, a real treat. I can't wait for my wife to nag me again....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

3 amazing days and 6 incredible meals, including the chef's table in the kitchen! Chef Michael holds his own in a good banter as well. There were so many people that we met who made our stay at 3Cs so incredible, we're sure to return. Perfect weather (outside tea and sunshine in October!).

Room Tip: Be sure to toss a barb or two at Chef Michael for me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This review has nothing to do with the quality of the food at the Three Chimneys as were we never able to enjoy it. Rather, I'm disappointed in this restaurant's cruel and unforgiving cancellation policy.

We had a table booked during our recent holiday in the area. Unfortunately, just before we were meant to dine at the Three Chimneys, our dog ran away. Given the vast and rugged Scottish landscape, we felt that it was more important to look for the dog than go to the restaurant. Any dog owner would have done the same. The Three Chimneys moved our reservation to the next day, but when the next day came along, the dog had not returned. As dog lovers, there was just no way we could leave our rented cottage for a meal when the dog was missing. Unfortunately, the Three Chinmeys did not sympathise.

We were charged £40 per head for a meal we never ate. This came to £400 for our group.

Thankfully our little dog came back a day later. We loved the area and plan on returning. But we do not plan on eating at the Three Chimneys because any establishment so unforgiving that they would impose a fee on a group of people already in crisis is not a place we ever want to eat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank 689laurar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Three Chimneys came highly recommended and certainly lived up to our expectations. Yes, it's pricey, but the food is outstanding and the service first rate. It compares favorably with outstanding restaurants we have enjoyed on the Continent. Finding it is a bit of a challenge - if you're not staying at the adjoining hotel be sure to have precise directions.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 389davidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
285 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband & I booked lunch at the Three Chimneys while we were on the Isle of Skye. I was disappointed I wasn't able to get in for dinner, but lunch lived up to the great reputation The Three Chimneys has! The dining area is very cozy and the restaurant is set amongst some of Scotland's the most fabulous scenery! Our table boasted a wonderful view! We both decided to go with the seafood platter & we were not disappointed there were lots of interesting and tasty treats! Yes, Yes, Yes it is pricey but very well worth it!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bakerswoodfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We treated ourselves to dinner at the Three Chimneys. The service was amazing and the meal very interesting. We are glad we went but felt overall it was a very expensive experience. Not sure we would go again but glad we went just once.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HornchurchPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colbost
17.3 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
988 reviews
38.0 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
8.4 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
342 reviews
4.5 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
17.1 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portree
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Chimneys House-Over-By? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Chimneys House-Over-By

Property: The Three Chimneys House-Over-By
Address: Colbost | Isle of Skye, Colbost IV55 8ZT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Colbost
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Colbost
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Three Chimneys House-Over-By 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Three Chimneys and The House Over-By is a Gold 5-Star Restaurant with Rooms in a stunning, remote location beside the sea in the north west corner of the Isle of Skye, Scotland. Colbost is situated on the shores of Loch Dunvegan, a wide sea loch that opens into The Minch, the narrow stretch of sea between Skye and the Outer Hebrides. The views are stunning whatever the time of year. The Three Chimneys is one of Scotland's most famous restaurants, specialising in the freshest local produce including wonderful seafood from the immediate coastal waters. Head Chef, Scott Davies, is well-known for his passion for Scottish ingredients, cooked simply to allow the flavours to sing for themselves. Providing very skilful, professional, but friendly and welcoming service at all times is what the Restaurant and Reception teams strive to achieve. Standards of cleanliness and comfort in the bedroom suites in The House Over-By are meticulous. The rooms have wonderful sea views and breakfasts (all-inclusive in the room rate) are served in the Morning Room with its panoramic views across the loch, where seals can be seen clearly on frequent occasions. Eddie and Shirley Spear have owned the business for 31 years and remain pro-active within their business daily. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Three Chimneys Restaurant With Rooms Hotel Colbost
3 Chimneys Restaurant With Rooms
The Three Chimneys House-Over-By Scotland/Isle Of Skye - Colbost

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing