We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveler rating
385
70
29
27
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
70
29
27
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasting menusplit levelsconesoystersisle of skyevenisonlocal producebefore dinnerlong driveloch dunveganlittle touchesbreakfast roomeach eveningremote locationgranolasingle track roadporridge
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 532 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We treated ourselves to dinner at the Three Chimneys. The service was amazing and the meal very interesting. We are glad we went but felt overall it was a very expensive experience. Not sure we would go again but glad we went just once.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HornchurchPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Kitchen Table!!! I returned to Three Chimneys on Saturday evening after a three and a half year gap. It was a treat for my boyfriends birthday and we were offered the kitchen table. WOW. I really recommend it. I wont sit "in front" again. The food and wine were fantastic. Take your camera. Observe and enjoy from the moment you arrive. We were greeted at the "House over by" for pre dinner drinks and to meet our other dinner guests as we were a party of two joining two other couples. We all got on great and chatted all evening. You are shown through the kitchen to your table at the rear in a lovely bright, big oak table setting. We watched our food be prepared, asked questions, learned a lot about food and wine. The Wine Flight was great and the sommelier fantastic. Mike the Head Chef, man in charge, was a great teacher as we experienced "assisting head chef",was attentive and glad to speak to us over dessert wine, answering lots of questions. Even cucumber sorbet recipe from 3 yrs ago. It was awesome. Can't wait to go back. Thank u Thank u Thank u. I have now ran out of space.......

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mollie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed dinner and lunch at the Three Chimneys during a glorious week on Skye. The location is simply beautiful. The menu was really interesting and the food excellent. The welome was warm and the service was exceptionally good - attentive but not oppressive, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the menu. This was impressive given that many of the staff seem quite young. Eating at the Three Chimneys fulfilled a long held ambition - it more than lived up to my expectations - I loved it and look forward to my next visit

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Ford65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

There are some rare places where as soon as you have entered the premises, you know everything is going to be outstanding. This is the case for the Three Chimney Restaurant in Scotland.
We booked a table for two just 3 days in advance because a hotel receptionist in Edinburgh strongly advised us to go for diner there. We were expecting the restaurant to be fully booked but they managed to get a table for us at 9:30 pm, this was on a Sunday evening. We got there a good hour in advance, as they told us they had a lounge where we could have a drink before dinner, so we had the opportunity to have a look at the whole "complex" which looks very nice. Fortunately for us, our table was ready 10 minutes after we arrived so we managed to have diner earlier than scheduled and our drinks were transferred to the main dining room. The dining restaurant is very cosy and intimate and very simple as well, with great staff that make you feel like you are at home, so no need to be impressed or embarrassed, and it is a perfect romantic spot. We took the seven course menu made exclusively of local produce and that menu was just perfect, the wine list was good too, and personal attention all the way long that made this evening the best restaurant experience of all our vacations in Scotland. Would definitely return and advise any couple to spend an evening there. A true gem in the middle of nowhere in the Isle of Skye

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank kikoubun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Long drive after arriving in Skye, over one hour! If only the restaurant was situated just over the Skye bridge.
Food very good and well thought out ,we had the tasting menu on the chef's table. Some of the wines were rather lacking, especially the English white we were given first. Red wines were exceptional as was the young sommelier.
Michael Smith (Chef)was very welcoming and clearly an accomplished and relaxed chef. He is quite obviously a very good motivator as the staff were very young but clearly accomplished. Gorgeous guy I thought.

Rooms were a little underwhelming, especially the furnishings. The exception being the top quality bed linens and very comfortable king sized bed.

Breakfast was good and only slightly marred by the dour elderly waitress who kept forgetting what had been ordered.

Room Tip: The split level room we had was quirky with stunning views.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClifftopLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews