We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveler rating
385
70
29
27
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
70
29
27
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasting menusplit levelsconesoystersisle of skyevenisonlocal producebefore dinnerlong driveloch dunveganlittle touchesbreakfast roomeach eveningremote locationgranolasingle track roadporridge
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 532 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Long drive after arriving in Skye, over one hour! If only the restaurant was situated just over the Skye bridge.
Food very good and well thought out ,we had the tasting menu on the chef's table. Some of the wines were rather lacking, especially the English white we were given first. Red wines were exceptional as was the young sommelier.
Michael Smith (Chef)was very welcoming and clearly an accomplished and relaxed chef. He is quite obviously a very good motivator as the staff were very young but clearly accomplished. Gorgeous guy I thought.

Rooms were a little underwhelming, especially the furnishings. The exception being the top quality bed linens and very comfortable king sized bed.

Breakfast was good and only slightly marred by the dour elderly waitress who kept forgetting what had been ordered.

Room Tip: The split level room we had was quirky with stunning views.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClifftopLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Like many reviews, the food undoubtedly was excellent with daily fresh catch from the pond outside, melt in your mouth fish, cow tongue that was soft and marinated well, and the best berries ever! We were a group of 11 and we were seated comfortably on one side of the restaurant. Service was attentive and knowledgeable, he even explained to us the science behind the butter rolls that came out (one is salted, one is not). At £28.5 for two course and £35 for three course lunch, it's not exactly affordable but it's something to experience while in the Isle. Oh, do NOT end your meal with coffee...that's not their forte.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wing D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

A warm welcome, rooms are nice but far too expensive for the standard. We opted for the 7 course dinner and courses ranged from good to very good but nothing was outstanding, the wine menu was well matched to each course and the sommellier very helpful. Too many tables were crammed into the restaurant, it felt more like a being in a pub. The waiters jacket kept brushing against our water jug when he served the adjacent table. There were too many silly little errors to make the evening memorable.
I can't understand the rave reviews this place gets, it will never achieve Michelin star status unless it ups its game significantly, they don't even have tablecloths!!
As for breakfast it was a complete disaster, probably the worst breakfast we have ever had, apart from the eggs everything else was inedible, clearly it had been cooked hours before and was stone cold. Service was poor, when I complained they had the good grace to knock it of our bill.
Based on our experience we would never return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Was really looking forward to this and immediately went for the seven course tasting menu, only one course could be described as special, the rest were merely good. The wine pairings were poor and when you realise you are paying around seven pounds per 75ml glass or £70 a bottle then you be much better choosing something from the list. Didn't stay at the hotel but at a local B and B which was only £80. Sat next to the kitchen door which meant constant swinging sounds and noise from the kitchen, not a table I'd sit at again

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank Steviem71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were so excited to return to The Three Chimneys after a couple of years absence. The food and service are still among the best we've experienced, but a couple of things left us with a "huh?" feeling. First of all, everything on the menu is now very Scottish. As a Scot I appreciate local produce and support local suppliers, but it seemed over the top and aimed at overseas visitors rather than people who enjoy innovative food.
We stayed in the rooms over by. They are spacious, well equipped and very comfortable ... although the creaking floorboards on the way to the bathroom in our room was not appreciated in the middle of the night. After we had dinner we came back to the sitting area to have a nightcap ... and found several people waiting to go over to the restaurant for late dinners. What was a quiet sitting area had become a holding room to handle more diners who were staying elsewhere. I can understand the economics of it all, but it does detract from the overall experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValandDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews