We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveler rating
385
70
29
27
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
70
29
27
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasting menusplit levelsconesoystersisle of skyevenisonlocal producebefore dinnerlong driveloch dunveganlittle touchesbreakfast roomeach eveningremote locationgranolasingle track roadporridge
Filter
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 532 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We made certain to book our stay at Three Chimneys early to make sure we could be accommodated both in a room as well as for dinner while on our tour of Scotland in June. As luck would have it, the sun emerged as we arrived and make the lovely white buildings look even more stunning against the blue sky and surrounding greenery. Our room was incredible-huge, two levels, sitting area, spacious bathroom with separate tub and shower, and the most comfortable bed imaginable. We enjoyed a beverage outside in the sunshine before tidying up for dinner, which we eagerly anticipated. After checking with the maitre d', who assured us that the portions would be reasonable, we opted for the "Seven Courses of Skye" tasting menu and wine pairings. We especially enjoyed the prawn, smoked fish, and scallop courses, and the wine selections were delicious. By the time we got to the venison course, we were fully stuffed, unfortunately, as asked for a "doggy bag," caused a bit of a stir. Fortunately, it worked out that the restaurant held it for us and packed it as a lunch for the next day. The service was friendly and impeccable, as befitting a restaurant of such high repute. The only suggestions we would make are that a five course tasting menu might be more realistic, or perhaps the oyster course might feature a fresh raw oyster, rather than a breaded one, to be less filling. Small issues, really, because everything else about our stay here was marvelous. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GYac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreside, Owner at The Three Chimneys House Over-By, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Dear GYac,

Thank you so much for taking time to write this lovely reveiw of your visit to eat and stay with us at The Three Chimneys and The House Over-By. You make some superb comments and are very complimentary about everything. This is wonderful and great to be so highly recommended.

We hope you can come again one day in the future.

Best wishes,

SS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is more a "Life experience" than a hotel & restaurant.
They just get everything right.
They are off to a great start with the location which looks on to a beautiful Skye shoreline.
Thereafter the hotel staff kick in. They aim to please from start to finish. Nothing is a bother and they come over as "Friendly" rather than just "There to help".
The hotel is luxury from start to finish and the restaurant is 5 star at every turn. Each course gives the impression of being an individual work of art and made especially for you. The restaurant staff have been trained in serving in a fine dining establishment and it shows.
This place isn't cheap so you don't go every month. However, it is very good value for money.
If you want a lifetime experience that you will never forget, don't go anywhere else.

Room Tip: All the rooms are exceptional
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jams50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear Jams50,

A "lifetime experience" is what we hope to provide every guest and customer who comes through our doors. Obviously, this is not always the result we achieve, but we aim to do so at all itmes. Thank you very much for putting your comments on TA and also for the very kind message you sent direct to the Front Office this morning. It is very much appreciated by everyone.

Finding the right balance for every single person is not an easy task for anyone in the hospitality industry, but our team at The Three Chimneys &The House Over-By do exceptionally well and frequently, go beyond customers' expectations. It is very kind of you to be so complimentatry and we hope that there will be another occasion when you can return to Skye and enjoy more of what we offer.

SS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Everything you would expect from a hotel in this price bracket. Nice touch that afternoon tea is available on request and is complementary. We wish we had booked for a longer stay

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verysmallholdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you very much for writing. We hope you will come back and enjoy the Three chimneys & The House Over-By on many other occasions. SS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed at the Three Chimneys in early June for 1 night. The room is large and spacious with a 6ft bed and separate seating area. Room is decorated in a neutral green hue and thankfully no tartan (too many hotels go over board with the tartan). Would say facility's are as expected for the price.

A few niggles:

We were told by Ray that breakfast was served until 9.30am and checkout was at 11am. However the info inside the room stated 10am and 12pm respectively at weekends (we checked out on a Saturday).

There is a grassy area outside, but only one uncomfortable seat for all rooms to share. Suggest more chairs outside?

The service in the lounge area for pre/after dinner drinks is slow. We found the barman to be very unfriendly (not even a smile).

Have removed a star from my rating due to the poor service in the bar area...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charstar9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Charstar9,

Thank you for taking time to write about your stay with us. I am very pleased that you found the room to be comfortable and well-appointed. We have replaced the missing garden chairs - a bench beside each of the French windows leading from each room into the garden was in the process of being replaced while you were staying with us. We also have a great suntrap beside the entrance to The House Over-By, where guests frequently enjoy their welcome drinks.

I apologise on Ray's behalf, a slip of the tongue, I feel sure, regarding the times for breakfast and checkout. I am glad you spotted the 30 minute difference at weekends, when reading the room notes.

The Bar service seems to have annoyed a few people of late. I cannot be sure why, as Ricky can be such a great guy. It is hard to get service perfect night after night and to be instantly on-hand between the two buildings at all times. However, we aim high and have no wish to disappoint anyone. Thank you for mentioning this.

We hope you will come again one day if we can encourage you back to this part of the country.

SS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed for one night, principally for dinner in the restaurant. We had a good reception by the staff on duty and were offered tea and pastries while we settled in to our room. The room itself was large and well appointed, as was the bathroom, and the bed was very comfy. It was a first class room but, for the price, no more than we would have expected.

Dinner in the restaurant was everything we had hoped for and anticipated. Again, it was expensive, but meals of this quality have the ability to demand high prices. We had the tasting menu accompanied by the restaurant’s “wine flight” (matched wines for each course) and is was gorgeous. Beautifully cooked, beautifully presented and beautifully tasting. The accompanying wines were varied (not what I would have ordered) and a good match for the food. It was a perfect evening. Thank you.

Breakfast the following morning was a good combination of a traditional cold buffet (but very high quality) and a cooked breakfast – not your traditional Scottish but something special.

Overall, everything was really good, of the highest quality and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Potato_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Potato_Travellers,

It is wonderful to receive such a high recommendation from you. I am very pleased indeed that you enjoyed everything that we have on to offer our guests and customers. Thank you for taking time to write to this website. We all hope that you will come again one day, when you can be assured of a warm welcome back.

SS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews