We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Recent holiday in Skye”
other travelers have booked this property
Moeraki from Broadford Bay showing beach at high tide.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moeraki from Broadford Bay showing beach at high tide.
Moeraki from entrance driveway View from croft behind Moeraki - looking out to Broadford Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Moeraki from Broadford Bay showing beach at high tide.
Moeraki from entrance driveway
View from croft behind Moeraki - looking out to Broadford Bay
Summer view of front decking at Moeraki - photo courtesy of Global Warming Images
Aurora Borealis taken from decking of Moeraki by guest Rich Nichols February 2014
Winter view from lounge out over decking and Broadford Bay
Wood burning stove with wide screen TV above
Sitting room with wide screen TV with surround sound system and woodburning stove
Dual aspect Sitting room - photo courtesy of Global Warming Images
Kitchen dining room looking out onto south facing decking suntrap - photo courtesy of Global Warming
Kitchen dining room - photo courtesy of Global Warming Images
Master Bedroom with en-suite shower room - photo courtesy of Global Warming Images
2nd En-suite Bedroom: King-size Double or Twin - photo courtesy of Global Warming Images
En-suite shower room - photo courtesy of Global Warming Images
Twin or King-size Double bedroom - photo courtesy of Global Warming Images
Single bedroom - photo courtesy of Global Warming Images
Winter view of Moeraki from the gate - Photo courtesy of Scott Masterton
Winter view from beach at Moeraki - photo courtesy of Scott Masterton
Winter view of front decking at Moeraki - photo courtesy of Scott Masterton
winter view from Moeraki garden - Photo courtesy of Scott Masterton
Otter on rocks below Moeraki - Photo courtesy of Scott Masterton
Winter sun rise view of Broadford Bay with Moeraki - photo courtesy of Scott Masterton
Summer View of Broadford Bay
Friendly Highland Cow :-)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Broadford, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Roving643...
1 review
“Recent holiday in Skye”
Reviewed October 1, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is the second time we have stayed at Moeraki. It is a lovely, comfortable, well equipped house with spectacular views.. The level of cleanliness is very high.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: No dislikes
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveH999
Holmfirth
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I have to say we loved the accommodation in terms of both location and size and appreciate the thought that goes into making it a home from home. Spotlessly clean with superb facilities, from the starter kit for the wood burner to the welcome bottle of wine, everything we have needed has been provided. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Moeraki to anyone travelling to Skye and would certainly look to stay there again should I return to that part of scotland.
Set back from the road on a private track overlooking the sea and with the lovely Claymore Restaurant at the entrance of the track. What could be better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue F
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Home with Stunning Views”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had an amazing weeks stay at Moeraki as a party of 5 adults, and found the accomodation to be perfect for our needs.
The house is extremely well equipped and very spacious, at no time did any of feel on top of each other. The bedrooms are spacious with very comfortable beds and crisp white bed linen and plenty of storage and two have amazing sea views. The bathrooms are clean and modern. The living room is a huge comfortable room and the large kitchen has literally everything you need to cater for a week if you need to. Reliable wifi is available.
Moeraki is very well situated within walking distance of all the restaurants and shops in Broadford and sits right next to the beach with superb views of Broadford bay. You could spend hours watching the wildlife outside on the terrace, we spotted sea otters, seals and lots of wading birds.
I would thoroughly recommend this gorgeous house and would definitely return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cakeandbu...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“HIgh quality self-catering house in a great setting”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Spent a week at Moreaki with our family of three children of varying ages. The whole family loved the house and are already talking about when they can stay again. It is a fantastic family house with plenty of space to spend as much or as little time with each other as we liked. The large open plan kitchen and the living room with the wonderful view of the sea and Applecross made this particularly special. The house is very well-equipped, nicely laid out, and in a brilliant location for exploring both Skye and Lochalsh. The children enjoyed being able to walk straight out of the garden gate onto the beach to explore it at low tide. We would love to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great living space in the kitchen and living room
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2016
Thank you Rachel and you would all be very welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, fabulous spacious holiday cottage”
Reviewed August 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a week at Meoraki, which was fantastic. We cannot fault the cottage at all. The property was well equipped, clean and tidy. There was plenty of space for myself, husband and 5 children.
The views from the property were amazing, the first morning waking up and spotting a seal and an otter was quite exciting.
Our days were full, with boat trips, castles, gardens and beautiful scenic walks. When we were back at the cottage the kids were down on the beach exploring.
I have never slept so well and the beds were so comfy.
Thank-you jenny and Dave for a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: coming home
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euan M
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday house with amazing views”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Beautiful views across Broadford Bay that can be enjoyed from every room at the front of the house and the balcony off the sitting room. Excellent, well-equipped accommodation with good wifi connection. Very handy for good local shops. Well-placed as a base to explore Skye. We'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susan s
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The ideal house in the ideal situation”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our sixth visit to Skye - and our sixth different rental property - but when we make a seventh trip, it will be back - we hope - to Moeraki. The bungalow is warm, spacious, comfortable, clean and very well equipped indeed. The owners were very helpful throughout the booking process and with pre-travel information, and were quick to sort out the minor problem we had with the Wi-Fi once there. They also provide extensive info on all the appliances in the house, as well as lots of info about Skye and its attractions.
I have mobility problems, so appreciated the fact that the showers in the ensuite rooms were large and walk-in. And the few steps to access the front door were not a problem thanks to the stout hand-rail. The only difficulty I had was with the gravelled parking areas, which weren't so much gravel as random, ankle-turning stones.
But it is the situation that makes Moeraki. Right on the waterline for watching sunsets over Broadford Bay - and tide-pooling and bird-watching - and close enough to the town centre to walk to the shops (especially the sublime Skye Artisan Bakery) and the various galleries and restaurants. Despite being at the heart of things we were never disturbed by traffic noise, but had the pleasure of being lulled to sleep by the sussuration of the waves. The noisiest thing about this house are the Oyster catchers flying by!
If you want comfort, peace and quiet, and a base equidistant to all the sights of Skye, than Moeraki is for you ...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The idyllic situation.
Liked least: The bumpy drive
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing