We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room BUT...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berabhaigh Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berabhaigh Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 28 Broadford B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice room BUT...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Ok, let me start with the positives. The location is good, just a 7 minute walk to the Co-operative and 3 minute walk to several restaurants. The rooms were fairly spacious and the bathroom updated. Ian was lovely to speak with, usually in the morning after breakfast. The breakfast was nice, cooked to order.

So what wasn't so great? Frankly the attitude. It started when we arrived and because my friend and I just needed to have some greens in our diet, we bought salads from the local grocery. Rather than eating in our room, I thought it might be better/nicer if we ate in the dining room. Instead, Anne seemed annoyed and constantly came in to see if we had finished eating and tried several times to grab what she perceived as trash - really our food which we hadn't finished eating yet. When I gave my breakfast order for the next morning (which included some mushrooms and sausage in addition to the smoked salmon with scrambled eggs), I was met with horror and basically Anne telling me that was crazy and making me feel like a freak for asking for such a meal. In order to just laugh it off, I told her it was an American thing. She constantly complained about the "trash she had to pick up after people" after the other couple left after breakfast. It made me frankly uncomfortable and if she has such a problem with cleaning up after people, maybe she is in the wrong business.

The internet was fairly non-existent - my friend and I struggled to get connectivity which we needed to book another room for the next few days.

Overall, my friend and I felt very uncomfortable in the house even if the rooms were quite nice (this I would rate 5 stars). Out of our entire 2+ weeks in Scotland, this was the one place we would never return to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berabhaigh, Owner at Berabhaigh Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thanks for your complimentary comments regarding our rooms and breakfast. They are much appreciated.
We are however deeply disappointed and concerned to learn that you didn't enjoy your overall experience when staying with us because of our "attitude". We find this somewhat surprising as we go out of our way to make our guests feel welcome and at home and as far as we can tell are largely successful as evidenced in 86 of our 87 reviews. Despite numerous conversations with you during your stay we had no suspicions whatsover of your concerns and it would have been helpful had you voiced them then. We could have addressed them on the spot and hopefully made your stay more enjoyable. However that didn't happen and all we can do now is express our regret.
For avoidance of doubt, we do absolutely refute your allegations that Anne tried to "grab" your food away from you and moaned constantly about having to clear up behind people. This is simply not the case. We have, for want of a better expression been happily "attending to and clearing up after guests" for some 15 years and hopefully we will continue doing this cheerily for some years to come.
Yes there can sometimes be difficulties in accessing our free WiFi throughout the house. This problem is mainly with Iphones which do not have strong receivers. One of the downsides in living in a 200 year old house with stone interior walls is that wireless beams have difficuly in penetrating stone hence our problem. When we are aware that guests are having WiFi problems we provide them with the use of a laptop free of charge.
In conclusion, we can only express our regret that we weren't able to make your stay with us enjoyable.
Anne and Ian Macmillan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
72
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our first trip to Scotland from the States, and this was our second night in the country. All that I can say is that the hosts are great, the location is great, the home is very comfortable, and we would stay there again. Simply a treat, we felt so welcome!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, with ocean view. (Both from the bed and the bath!) My only issue is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linkup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed there with a friend of mine and had a great time! The owners are so helpful and nice, we loved it! He gave us good tips for our trip and breakfast was excellent! You should stop there if you go on Skye!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our second time staying at Berabhaigh and the welcome we received was fantastic! It was like we were old friends. Ian and Anne could not have made us feel more welcome. We visited with our French friends and Ian and Anne remembered them too. They absolutely loved the decoration and the scottish breakfast!

The B&B is decorated to a very high standard and absolutely spotless. It is lovely to find somewhere where the owners obviously take a pride in their hotel.

Ian and Anne were happy to recommend where to eat and I have to say that we weren't disappointed. Try RedSkye. They also recommended places to visit and the best routes around the island which came in very useful.

Both bedrooms were very comfortable with lots of little extras, including chocolates on the bedside table - something I loved! There were tea and coffee making facilities too and the views over the bay are spectacular.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone, including foreign visitors.

Room Tip: Both rooms are fantastic but one is decorated in tartan if you fancy a typically Scottish room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadsPerth_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
186 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here in August 2013. B&B was very nice. Breakfast was good and the room was large and clean. Hosts were also able to provide plenty of information about the island. Would recommend staying here.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EMcCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We abolutely enjoyed our stay at Berabhaigh B&B. Beautiful, modern, clean spacious rooms, with good beds! Ann and Ian are very friendly and helpful. Ideally located with views over the bay. One of the best B&B's we had during our 2 week stay in Scotland. A true recommendation!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eva456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the B&B and it was an awesome experience. Anne and Ian greeted us very warmly and insisted on helping us up with our luggage. The room was beautifully appointed with an eye for detail. Little touches that were well thought out. There was an international adaptor in the wall plug for us which was very helpful. They have maps to help you along with great advice as to where to go and what to do. The views were amazing from our room. We would highly recommend staying here as we would gladly stay again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CathyB612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadford
0.5 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
16.2 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
26.9 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
8.4 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berabhaigh Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berabhaigh Bed & Breakfast

Property: Berabhaigh Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3 Lime Park, Broadford IV49 9AE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Broadford
Hotel Class:4 star — Berabhaigh Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star B&B which offers quality accommodation to guests ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Berabhaigh Bed & Breakfast Broadford, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing