We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Tigh an Dochais

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tigh an Dochais
Ranked #6 of 26 Broadford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Found this guest house online. Fabulous. What a superb house,food great,rooms great,comfy bed,nothing Is too much trouble. This is just the loveliest place to come back to after a day e ploring Skye. Neil is a fab host. Muffins are soooo good ! Thanks neil and Lesley,we hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
112
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Agree with everything the last reviewer says. We stayed in September and it was superb. The views are second to none from those amazing windows, and it was brilliant to sit and just stare out the window in rain or sunshine. Neil's cooking is brill, wish we could have sampled one of his dinners. The fresh daily muffins and non intrusive help to plan your day are very thoughtful and such great itinaries are suggested that you don't have to think- makes for an amazing break.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moragmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Just stayed at Tigh an Dochais for 3 nights. Arrived about 4pm and after being shown our room were offered a welcome cup of tea. Served in a comfortable, warm guest lounge with floor to ceiling windows overlooking a view to die for. We had contacted Neil and asked him for a light dinner on our first night. Delicious fresh fish with local vegetables, followed by the lightest sponge with local blackberries and cream, absolutely delicious and perfect. The bedroom was very well appointed, with a huge sliding door and window, again with that view. Huge bathroom, with lovely toiletries. The breakfast was excellent, a wonderful selection of cold choices, followed by a wonderful cooked breakfast, and the freshly baked bread - well..... we certainly didn't need lunch! The provision of a plastic bag, in which to take away the freshly baked muffins we hadn't managed to force down at breakfast, was a lovely touch. Neil was very helpful offering advice on places to visit. So the floors creaked - so do ours at home! We also met some very interesting people round the communal breakfast table .This is a wonderful B&B and we shall most definitely be back.

Room Tip: All 3 have the fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caro52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This has to be one of the best places I've ever stayed in! The position of the house right on the beach with floor to ceiling windows is second to none. The room was large and well appointed with a huge bathroom and underfloor heating. The guest lounge was very comfortable with a roaring fire and plenty of reading matter at hand. Neil's breakfasts were delicious with locally sourced ingredients and home made jams and lashings of fresh fruit. At the end of breakfast Neil came around and gave everyone a ziploc bag in which to put some of his home made muffins to eat during the day. What a great touch! Neil himself is very knowledgeable about the island and was more that happy to talk about it and give very good advice on what to see and routes to drive. I would highly recommend this place, and I guarantee you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highlystrung47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Everything about this B&B was fantastic. We were greeted on arrival with homemade cake and given a great recommendation for dinner. The building has been tastefully built and decorated and the room was peaceful and comfortable and backed onto the water. It was lovely to sit there in the evening outside the sliding door and share some wine. The breakfast was very good with well sourced ingredients and included a huge bowl of fresh berries. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honungs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our group stayed in B&B's all over Scotland on a recent trip. The food, amenities and views from the house were second to none. Neil's morning breakfasts were the class of the trip with more than enough quality meals and sides to choose from. Truly a classy experience with many nice touches both in the meals and accommodations. Well worth the price. Don't hesitate to book this B&B!

Room Tip: All rooms are on the lower level with a walk out to the back of the house and amazing bay views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We first heard of Neil and his B and B froml another proprieter, who recommended it highly. We reserved 2 nights in early September.

We got the room at the end of the hall, which is set up for a handicapped access room... which means a huge bathroom, just without the view from the shower that the other rooms have. The room seemed a bit small and the bed was set up particularly close to one wall. Plenty of towels and under the floor heat... the room was quite comfortable otherwise.

The common room/dining room is upstairs and has huge windows with a great water view. There are a diverse selection of books. When breakfast is served the coffee table doubles as a place for fruit, cereal and yogurt.

Neil is an interesting person. He speaks quickly with a very strong local accent, which means you have to listen carefully, and we sense he is a very disciplined and organized person. He was very helpful in activity tips for us, which we appreciated much on our rainy stay. And he clearly cares about his food preparation... we did not have Neil prepare dinner for us as others have, but breakfast was beautifully presented and was delicious.

About the floors... the upper floor floorboards are definitely pretty noisy when you walk on them, which means if you are the first one to bed or the last one up, and have a room under the kitchen or common room, you will hear them. I asked Neil about them and he said that it was caused by all the windows in his 8 year old building causing lots of expansion and contraction.

Even with the noisy floors, this is a worthwhile place to stay... not up to The Spoons standards, but also about 1/3 less cost. Thanks Neil.

Room Tip: Handicapped room is probably the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taxman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadford
7.3 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
0.6 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
558 reviews
0.9 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
5.9 mi away
Blairdhu House
Blairdhu House
#4 of 11 in Kyleakin
156 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#1 of 2 in Sleat
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh an Dochais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh an Dochais

Property: Tigh an Dochais
Address: Broadford, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Broadford
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Tigh An Dochais Hotel Broadford
Tigh An Dochais Broadford, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing