We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, exceptional place!”
Review of Tigh an Dochais

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tigh an Dochais
Ranked #6 of 26 Broadford B&B and Inns
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful, exceptional place!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We actually stayed here a couple of years ago in July but neglected to write a review. We plan to return (hopefully soon), and we wanted to share that this B&B is exceptional. The other positive reviews are spot on. Neil was especially helpful with us when we were planning our trip from the U.S. and very responsive to our questions via email. The weather was fantastic for hiking. From the food to the details in the rooms to the knowledge of the hosts (thanks again, Neil) on local hiking, dining, etc., you will enjoy the experience of Skye and the surrounding area more fully by staying here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aandbOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
108
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Tigh an Dochais certainly is a 5* B&B. The room was a great size, with it's own decking out onto the beach and large bathroom. The pillows, duvet and towels were of a high quality. There is under floor heating too!
There are a couple of restaurants locally and a supermarket. Neil will be able to tell you anything you need to know about the area and for your onward journey.
We woke to the most amazing breakfast on display, we thought that was it until Neil asked us what we wanted! I had to try the local sausages, which were cooked to perfection.
Thank you for a great stay Neil!

Room Tip: Room 4 is below their living quarters, so you can hear them move around first thing so if you like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danslowj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

we are not fans of B&B but thought we would try Tigh an Dochais because of the reviews.I am glad we did.Neil made us very welcome with coffee and home made treats on arrival.
The locational is perfect for visiting the Cuillin Hills and other areas of Skye
We had smoked salmon for breakfast and smoked haddock another morning. please try the Stornoway black pudding with your traditional Scottish breakfast.I only wish we had ordered dinner for Neils cooking is superb.
The bedrooms and bathroom are tastfully decorated comfortable and large and the view from any area of the house is spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank great9977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiltern Hills UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

completely different type of place than what you'd expect in this location - but all the better for that., but do check out their website to make sure it's what you want. Every little detail has been thought out so well. Food EXCEPTIONAL

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FussyfromTurnipEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

amazing place, a few bedrooms down stairs , designed perfectly , perfect views comfy beds, a proffesional host , then upstairs for dinner cooked & served by Neil, shell fish caught that day & venison to die for, with a view of the sea , take your own wine.
If your ever in Sky stay here for more that one night you will not regret it

Room Tip: dinner is a real experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I have travelled in several hotels and B&B. Among all these hotels and B&B the Tigh An Dochais is most probably the best I've ever stayed at.

My wife and I came by motorbike and stayed there only one night.

I've read all the comments written here before booking the room and could not believe that the Tigh An Dochais would be so fantastic. But INDEED it is!!!!

All rooms offer an incredible view on the sea. As IanWorcester wrote here "Neil the host is a natural at his job and the breakfast he creates could not be surpassed in the best 5 Star hotels in the world.
The rooms offer a view equal to any hotel room in the World".

This says it all.

Neil also gave me in the morning very useful piece of advice of what to see and where to go on the Isle of Skye.

Last but not least, I should admit that I litteraly fell in love with Jessie, Neil's dog!!!

Thank you Neil for this wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superrobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed 1 night at this brilliant B&B in July.
Neil the host is a natural at his job and the breakfast he creates could not be surpassed in the best 5 Star hotels in the world.
The rooms offer a view equal to any hotel room in the World
I recomend it to anyone visiting Skye

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanWorcester0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadford
7.3 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
0.9 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
30.6 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.5 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
16.5 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh an Dochais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh an Dochais

Property: Tigh an Dochais
Address: Broadford, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Broadford
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Tigh An Dochais Hotel Broadford
Tigh An Dochais Broadford, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing