We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay again!”
Review of Swordale House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swordale House
Ranked #13 of 26 Broadford B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 26, 2012

It's easy to think that you should stay along the coastline on Skye, but let me tell you about Sworedale. My wife and I spent a week on Skye and in the end found the peninsula containing the Sworedale House and the village of Elgol to be the most entertaining. Sworedale House sits directly between mountains on the road to Elgol. Barbara and Alan are relaxed and very nice folks. The clean room had a larger than double bed and plenty of space. Our two night stay was very comfortable and the food was fine. The rooms are up one flight of stairs. Parking was not a problem.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LookoutJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 56 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

We only stayed here in this lovely BB for one night (unfortunately). Anyway, the experience was simply wonderful!
The owners are amazing people, helpful and hearty etc. The location of the BB was pleasant surprise for us as it is located in the middle of mountain covered with sheep:-) Beautiful!!

Rooms nice and clean, breakfast lovely!

Me and my husband and friends can only recommend this place for stay.

Hana & Milan from the Czech Republic

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We only stayed for one night in this B&B on our Scotland round trip but we were really impressed by the kindness and hospitaliy of Barbara and Alan. We would have liked to stay longer. If you need suggestions about sights or hiking tours, both Barbara and Alan share their knowledge of the surroundings with you. Our room was lovely, very clean and good shower. Breakfast was lovely and even offered products from the garden. Great. Hope to be back some day on Isle of Skye and in Barbara's and Alan's house.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We only stayed at Swordale House for one night to so we didn't have to drive too far, plus we wanted to drive out to see Elgol. Swordale House is a very cosy house in a wonderful Scottish landscape of sheep and mountains, with some very old church ruins just down the road. The bedrooms were clean with comfortable beds. When we got back from our dinner (a small Seafood Restaurant, don't remember the name, not especially good) it was getting a little chilly, and Barbara had a fire going for us in the parlor! We didn't meet Alan until the next morning, but Barbara couldn't have been nicer. This is not a fancy B&B, but a great value, and we thought quite charming. If you need a B&B in that area, don't hesitate. They do have a website if you Google it, showing the house and the bedrooms.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wrenwood_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The owners of the place are wonderful people, very friendly and the house is situated in a beautiful landscape area, with lots of ships. The breakfast is delicious, typical scotish.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thales d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at this B&B for 2 nights as we toured the Isle of Skye, and we certainly made the right choice for accomodations. The hosts were great, serving tea (and coffee) when we checked in, helping with restaurant reservations, and making, as it turned out, accurate predictions about the weather. We had to alter some plans due to weather and likely could not have done so without their help. The breakfast was great (some produce right from their garden) and the views fantastic. The accomodations were clean and neat. All in all, a great B&B. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Stayed here on a very wet weekend - had the place to ourselves due to cancellations so was very quiet but worth the stay. We think the views are nice (!) and we loved the breakfast. The owners were superb hosts and the room was spotless and had everything we needed. Recommend for a complete getaway - there's no TV or radio (and we had no mobile signal!) which we baulked at for a start but that didn't matter after getting settled in.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curlypow44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broadford hotels
0.0 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
609 reviews
0.0 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
362 reviews
0.0 mi away
Broadford Youth Hostel
Broadford Youth Hostel
#4 of 6 in Broadford
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Broadford House Skye - B&B
Broadford House Skye - B&B
#26 of 26 in Broadford
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luib House Bed & Breakfast
Luib House Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 26 in Broadford
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swordale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swordale House

Address: Broadford IV49 9AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Broadford
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Swordale House Broadford, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing