We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”
Review of Swordale House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swordale House
Ranked #11 of 26 Broadford B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We only stayed for one night in this B&B on our Scotland round trip but we were really impressed by the kindness and hospitaliy of Barbara and Alan. We would have liked to stay longer. If you need suggestions about sights or hiking tours, both Barbara and Alan share their knowledge of the surroundings with you. Our room was lovely, very clean and good shower. Breakfast was lovely and even offered products from the garden. Great. Hope to be back some day on Isle of Skye and in Barbara's and Alan's house.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia USA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We only stayed at Swordale House for one night to so we didn't have to drive too far, plus we wanted to drive out to see Elgol. Swordale House is a very cosy house in a wonderful Scottish landscape of sheep and mountains, with some very old church ruins just down the road. The bedrooms were clean with comfortable beds. When we got back from our dinner (a small Seafood Restaurant, don't remember the name, not especially good) it was getting a little chilly, and Barbara had a fire going for us in the parlor! We didn't meet Alan until the next morning, but Barbara couldn't have been nicer. This is not a fancy B&B, but a great value, and we thought quite charming. If you need a B&B in that area, don't hesitate. They do have a website if you Google it, showing the house and the bedrooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrenwood_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The owners of the place are wonderful people, very friendly and the house is situated in a beautiful landscape area, with lots of ships. The breakfast is delicious, typical scotish.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thales d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at this B&B for 2 nights as we toured the Isle of Skye, and we certainly made the right choice for accomodations. The hosts were great, serving tea (and coffee) when we checked in, helping with restaurant reservations, and making, as it turned out, accurate predictions about the weather. We had to alter some plans due to weather and likely could not have done so without their help. The breakfast was great (some produce right from their garden) and the views fantastic. The accomodations were clean and neat. All in all, a great B&B. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Stayed here on a very wet weekend - had the place to ourselves due to cancellations so was very quiet but worth the stay. We think the views are nice (!) and we loved the breakfast. The owners were superb hosts and the room was spotless and had everything we needed. Recommend for a complete getaway - there's no TV or radio (and we had no mobile signal!) which we baulked at for a start but that didn't matter after getting settled in.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curlypow44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Swordale is in a perfect location, overlooking the Cullin mountains with easy access to Broadford and Elgol. We were made to feel very welcome in Barbara and Alan's home. We were greeted with a cup of tea on arrival and later they lit the wood fire in the lounge for our return from our evening meal. It feels like you are a guest in somebody's home, with no pretention or eagerness to please, just genuine hospitality. The room was clean, well furnished with a very comfortable bed. As for the view...this was wonderful. Barbara was happy to make us anything for breakfast but the homemade oatcakes and preserves were a lovely touch. We had a memorable stay and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_and_JanetL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

I spend three nights at Swordale on a walking trip with Walkabout Scotland (www.walkaboutscotland). They had chosen this B&B for me and it couldn't have been better. The owners Barbara and Allan are the most genuinely hospitable and lovely people. Their house is the prefect cozy nest you need after a day walking about the gorgeous landscapes of Skye. And their breakfast the perfect and yummy start of the day! I would go back in a heart beat...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikita09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broadford hotels
0.0 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
569 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hillview Budget Rooms
Hillview Budget Rooms
#14 of 26 in Broadford
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Broadford Youth Hostel
Broadford Youth Hostel
#4 of 5 in Broadford
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Broadford House Skye - B&B
Broadford House Skye - B&B
#26 of 26 in Broadford
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swordale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swordale House

Property: Swordale House
Address: Broadford IV49 9AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Broadford
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Swordale House Broadford, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing