We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised, not disappointed at all !”
Review of Broadford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Broadford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Broadford
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Good sized room with separate seating area with additional TV. Very modern and clean, huge bathroom with separate bath and power shower. Overall impression that hotel is generally well maintained. Staff very pleasant and helpful. They allow dogs which is a big plus for us. We ate in the bar on both nights, very nice and reasonable price. The local mussels are a must if you like seafood. Breakfast was served promptly and was very good. Would recommend and would return in future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VMATHESONMACIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 370 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel room was a good size, clean with a large bathroom and a sitting area. The breakfast was great. The town of Broadford does not have a lot in it, Portree is a better bet if you want to be in a village. We ate in the restaurant for dinner one night, no bread with our meal and when requested they charged us a pound for it, seemed very petty. The next night we went back to the dining room where they have some couches and tables and a bar and wanted a tea and dessert, the waiter, a young man with a limp, refused us service and sent us to the pub in the hotel. The barkeep there seemed VERY put out that she had to get us tea and milk. Overall, this aspect of the stay was a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diverguy106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Beautiful position but very lack lustre hotel. My daughter had room 33 which is huge with a sitting room but completely lacking in atmosphere. We had a room at the back of the hotel which would have done well as a single room. The position of the bed and cupboards was such that you had to sit on the bed to swing your legs round to the other side.
My daughter had the crab cakes and reported that they were more like potato cakes (see previous review). The kitchen is so far from the restaurant that the service was very slow. This is the only place on our tour that we didn't get our own jug of coffee and the cups were very small.
After dinner we tried to sit in the bar but the lights were turned off around us - we had to go next door where there was a little more atmosphere - but not much!
We'll find somewhere a little more friendly next time

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizatdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Went to the Gabbro for a bar meal. Appeared to be only one member of staff waiting on tables and serving drinks at bar! Not very welcoming and service left a lot to be desired. Three members of our party had starters which were well presented and tasty. However the main course crab cakes were tasteless and contained very little crab meat and had an unpleasant taste of cooking oil!! The pastry on the courgette and bean tart was not properly cooked . Service was slow and very offhand. Have heard rumours that hotel may be in financial difficulties and perhaps this has reflected on staffing moral all in all we were all left very disappointed and therefore did not linger to order deserts!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank MIM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Guest Relations Manager at Broadford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Hello and thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor – we do use all feedback to improve the standard of service and food that we offer and so I have passed this on to my staff for discussion. I can only apologise if you were less than happy with your meal, and only hope that you did mention it at the time, as without that happening, we cannot do anything to sort the problems people have.

With regard to your last comment, the Hotel is running as normal, there is no change to the standard of service, suppliers, food or morale as a result of anything that is happening outwith the building, as has been borne out by the excellent reviews we have received over the last few weeks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night. The hotel has potential. It overlooks broadford bay and has an old style charm that appeals. We checked in and the staff were friendly. The hotel was very quiet but nice. Unfortunately, this was as good as it got for us. We headed to our room on the top floor. When we opened the hallway door an overpowering stench of damp and stale carpet filled the air. It was cruel. It was coming from a real damp patch at a door that was either leaking or had been leaking. Upon entering our room, it was two tiered with a separate living area which would have been cosy but for the smell. The mattress on the bed had seen better days. We ate in the restaurant which was nice. The food was more pub grub than fine dining, but it was tasty and the staff were friendly. Overall, the hotel has potential but the smell ruined it and at £135 for a midweek night, it did not represent good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hally1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Guest Relations Manager at Broadford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Hello and thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I was so disappointed that your experience was not up to your expectations. We have had a problem with the carpet inside the fire escape door with regard to rain getting in underneath, but I had no idea that this had got to the stage where it was creating a smell as we have had no other comments from other guests. This problem with the door has been ongoing and is one where we have had to liaise with our local fire officer to rectify. We do now however have the matter in hand and are waiting for a joiner to come and fit a new door.

I do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel but we ate in the restaurant, and the food was very good. I thought the service was excellent too, and the person I spoke to when booking the table was brilliant. We had had problems getting a booking at Plockton, so drove over to Skye to have our meal at the Broadford Hotel, and it was very good. The view, overlooking the bay, was lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Guest Relations Manager at Broadford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Hello - we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your meal with us, as it is an excellent alternative to Plockton, with lots of fresh daily specials on each day too. Do hope you will come back one day to visit this lovely island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We came across this hotel by accident as everything in Portree seemed to be fully booked and even this hotel had only one twin-room left. The hotel is on a nondescript street corner and the entrance hall rather dark, so our hearts sank.. Surprise: a very welcoming lady led us to the second floor, to a bright, newly renovated room with a separate sitting area and a good sized bathroom with a nice tub and a separate shower. Many other places would have called this a junior Suite! Breakfast turned out to be not only huge but good and we happily stayed for two nights. The only negative: an overpowering melon smell in the upper-floor corridor, maybe the carpet cleaner?
Restaurant choices in Broadford are rather limited, but less than 10min away is Creelers, a small (don't forget to reserve early!) restaurant serving fantastic food!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Guest Relations Manager at Broadford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Hello and thank you so much for your lovely review. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay and also that you extended it. Broadford is an ideal location for visiting most of the attractions on Skye and easy for travelling away too as it is close to the Bridge and the Glenelg ferry. Do hope you will return one day to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadford
15.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,123 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
16.1 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
31.9 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadford Hotel

Address: Torrin Road, Broadford IV49 9AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Broadford
Price Range: $131 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadford Hotel is situated in the centre of the Isle of Skye overlooking Broadford Bay. The Hotel (established in 1611) has been completely refurbished and offers excellent food and quality accommodation. There is Free Wifi Internet access throughout the Hotel and ample free parking.Broadford Hotel is the 'Original Home of Drambuie', where the liquor was first made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Broadford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadford Hotel Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing