We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing!”
Review of Broadford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Broadford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Broadford
Inverness
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Went to the Gabbro for a bar meal. Appeared to be only one member of staff waiting on tables and serving drinks at bar! Not very welcoming and service left a lot to be desired. Three members of our party had starters which were well presented and tasty. However the main course crab cakes were tasteless and contained very little crab meat and had an unpleasant taste of cooking oil!! The pastry on the courgette and bean tart was not properly cooked . Service was slow and very offhand. Have heard rumours that hotel may be in financial difficulties and perhaps this has reflected on staffing moral all in all we were all left very disappointed and therefore did not linger to order deserts!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MIM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Guest Relations Manager at Broadford Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello and thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor – we do use all feedback to improve the standard of service and food that we offer and so I have passed this on to my staff for discussion. I can only apologise if you were less than happy with your meal, and only hope that you did mention it at the time, as without that happening, we cannot do anything to sort the problems people have.

With regard to your last comment, the Hotel is running as normal, there is no change to the standard of service, suppliers, food or morale as a result of anything that is happening outwith the building, as has been borne out by the excellent reviews we have received over the last few weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    111
    74
    45
    21
See reviews for
62
186
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tullow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night. The hotel has potential. It overlooks broadford bay and has an old style charm that appeals. We checked in and the staff were friendly. The hotel was very quiet but nice. Unfortunately, this was as good as it got for us. We headed to our room on the top floor. When we opened the hallway door an overpowering stench of damp and stale carpet filled the air. It was cruel. It was coming from a real damp patch at a door that was either leaking or had been leaking. Upon entering our room, it was two tiered with a separate living area which would have been cosy but for the smell. The mattress on the bed had seen better days. We ate in the restaurant which was nice. The food was more pub grub than fine dining, but it was tasty and the staff were friendly. Overall, the hotel has potential but the smell ruined it and at £135 for a midweek night, it did not represent good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hally1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Guest Relations Manager at Broadford Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello and thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I was so disappointed that your experience was not up to your expectations. We have had a problem with the carpet inside the fire escape door with regard to rain getting in underneath, but I had no idea that this had got to the stage where it was creating a smell as we have had no other comments from other guests. This problem with the door has been ongoing and is one where we have had to liaise with our local fire officer to rectify. We do now however have the matter in hand and are waiting for a joiner to come and fit a new door.

I do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel but we ate in the restaurant, and the food was very good. I thought the service was excellent too, and the person I spoke to when booking the table was brilliant. We had had problems getting a booking at Plockton, so drove over to Skye to have our meal at the Broadford Hotel, and it was very good. The view, overlooking the bay, was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Guest Relations Manager at Broadford Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hello - we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your meal with us, as it is an excellent alternative to Plockton, with lots of fresh daily specials on each day too. Do hope you will come back one day to visit this lovely island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We came across this hotel by accident as everything in Portree seemed to be fully booked and even this hotel had only one twin-room left. The hotel is on a nondescript street corner and the entrance hall rather dark, so our hearts sank.. Surprise: a very welcoming lady led us to the second floor, to a bright, newly renovated room with a separate sitting area and a good sized bathroom with a nice tub and a separate shower. Many other places would have called this a junior Suite! Breakfast turned out to be not only huge but good and we happily stayed for two nights. The only negative: an overpowering melon smell in the upper-floor corridor, maybe the carpet cleaner?
Restaurant choices in Broadford are rather limited, but less than 10min away is Creelers, a small (don't forget to reserve early!) restaurant serving fantastic food!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Guest Relations Manager at Broadford Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hello and thank you so much for your lovely review. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay and also that you extended it. Broadford is an ideal location for visiting most of the attractions on Skye and easy for travelling away too as it is close to the Bridge and the Glenelg ferry. Do hope you will return one day to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbost
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Went for a meal with friends to the Spinnaker restaurant, food was great, the peppercorn sauce has to be the best I've ever had, and although there was a small problem with one steak it was quickly rectified with a completely new plate of food. The wait-, sorry, maître d' was friendly, funny and very helpful. Thank you for putting up with us as well!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Guest Relations Manager at Broadford Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review and I totally agree with you about Gail's peppercorn sauce. How on earth does she do it? Very glad you were happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire, england
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Excellent value restaurant, we have just returned from dining in the restaurant at the
Broadford Hotel and we could not fault our meal. The crab and scallop linguini being worthy of a special mention, no skimping on the seafood in the dish, the wine list is extremely good value and the do finish off the evening with a Drambuie, Thanks to Tom and Susan, for the service they provided, hope your employers realise your worth.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farmer_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Guest Relations Manager at Broadford Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and for mentioning both Susan and Tom too - they are delighted, and yes we do value their worth! I do hope very much that you will come back and visit us, in the meantime, many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silsden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at the Broadford for the 3rd time and found it still to be warm and friendly. Even when we haven't been able to get a room and stayed elsewhere we've called in to the bar where the locals always remember us which is nice considering we are scots living in Yorkshire. We had room 33 which is split level and huge and Gail's food is always of a high standard,Tom was also friendly and helpful despite being in pain from burnt fingers!! We like good standards without a place being overly pretentious and the Broadford offers this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Guest Relations Manager at Broadford Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review - delighted to read that you have returned three times now! We do hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadford
0.2 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
569 reviews
29.8 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
7.9 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,052 reviews
31.9 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
386 reviews
26.4 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadford Hotel

Property: Broadford Hotel
Address: Torrin Road, Broadford IV49 9AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Broadford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadford Hotel is situated in the centre of the Isle of Skye overlooking Broadford Bay. The Hotel (established in 1611) has been completely refurbished and offers excellent food and quality accommodation. There is Free Wifi Internet access throughout the Hotel and ample free parking.Broadford Hotel is the 'Original Home of Drambuie', where the liquor was first made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Broadford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadford Hotel Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing