We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The only place to stay on Skye - truly 5 star...”
other travelers have booked this property
Frontal view of Ardmore
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Frontal view of Ardmore
Scottish Tourist Board rating Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Frontal view of Ardmore
Scottish Tourist Board rating
Lounge
Lounge close up 1
Lounge close up 2
Dining room
Kitchen
Four poster bedroom
Sleigh bed bedroom
Twin bedroom
bathroom
Patio
View from front garden
Rear view of Ardmore
Looking east from Ardmore
Beach at Point of Sleat
Ashaigh beach
Small harbour at Broadford
Castle Moil
Skye Bridge and glass bottomed boat
Local view 'Blaven'
The Black Cuillin from Elgol
The Old Man of Storr
White tailed eagle
Highland cow with her calf
Buzzard
Otters
Seal
Stag
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Broadford, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Toffeeman...
UK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The only place to stay on Skye - truly 5 star accommodation”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

What a truly remarkable bungalow to use as a base for touring around the Isle of Skye and Wester Ross. We have stayed with Ian and Anne several times and the welcome has always been really warm - a bit like meeting old friends. Ardmore Cottage is a superb property, spotlessly clean and furnished to a high standard. The beds are so comfortable, the location so quiet, that you can't fail to get a good night's sleep. We always feel so relaxed and at home here and it is a perfect retreat to come back to after a day spent walking or touring the area.
The cottage is situated in a quiet cul-de-sac with views over Broadford Bay and is within easy walking distance of the local pub and restaurant. Ian is very knowledgeable about the area - walks, pubs, shops, places of interest and restaurants.
We certainly love staying here and hopefully we will be back again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness, location, quality of the fixtures and fittings, Ian and Anne
Liked least: Leaving Ardmore at the end of our holiday.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2014
Thanks very much for your kind comments and for taking the time to write a review. Glad you had an enjoyable stay at Ardmore and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Ian Macmillan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thistle10...
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic house! Exceeded expectations!”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A fantastic house for our stay on Skye. It exceeded our expectations and we couldn't fault anything about it. We would definitely recommend it. We travelled with two one year old children and there was so much space for them to play, for travel cots and lots of baby/toddler belongings! Ian was very pleasant and helpful. Would love to return again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments about Ardmore. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at my cottage and on the Isle of Skye despite the rather mixed weather. Would be delighted to see you and your friends back in the future.
Kind Regards
Ian Macmillan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddudley86
Broadford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is THE place to stay on Skye!”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The Ardmore went above and beyond my expectations. The cottage is perfect for a large or extended family. All the creature comforts of home await you at the Ardmore. Want to impress your family? Book the Ardmore - I'm still basking in the glow of my family's praise for a spectacular choice in holiday cottages. We will definitely be returning. The owner was very pleasant and professional - this is THE place to stay on Skye!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2014
Glad to learn you had an enjoyable stay at Ardmore. Thanks for your kind comments they are very much appreciated. Would be delighted to see you again in the not too distant future.
Ian Macmillan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood3...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our best ever UK Self Catering Cottage”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed with our son & daughter in law for one week in August. The property is really home from home with everything (including tool kit!) provided. Everything was spotless and there was a very generous welcome pack of basic groceries. Ian was most helpful & we enjoyed magnificent weather. Top quality WiFi & TV in most rooms.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Superb Quality Accommodation
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2014
Thanks very much for your very kind comments. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Ardmore. I try hard to achieve this and am delighted to learn I have been successful.
Kind Regards
Ian Macmillan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTravel...
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best holiday accommodation ever!”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We've been renting holiday accommodation for 20-odd years, and many of these have been very good properties. Ardmore has raised the bar. The Scottish Tourist Board star rating system tops out at 5, awarded to properties of “an exceptional standard”, which in our opinion understates the true quality of this cottage.
Ardmore is a spacious bungalow with beautiful views over sea and mountains, tastefully and very comfortably furnished to provide everything you’d want for an effortless self-catering holiday. Spotlessly clean and well-equipped throughout, option of using en-suite power showers or of lounging in the luxury of a large roll top bath. Really comfortable beds. Well proportioned and laid out rooms, uncluttered with the pointless personal knickknacks we have encountered elsewhere.
A great location for access from the Skye bridge after a long journey and as a central point for enjoying the rest of the island. We felt relaxed from the moment Ian showed us around and we didn’t want to leave at the end of our week. Already booked again for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments. They are much appreciated.
Glad you had an enjoyable experience at Ardmore and am looking forward to meeting you again next July.
Kind Regards
Ian Macmillan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMH1947
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is a fantastic cottage in a beautiful setting on a lovely island. It is very spacious and well equipped with everything you could possibly want. Everything is in excellent condition. It is well placed in a quiet road, with a restaurant and a couple of shops at the end of the road, only a couple of minutes walk away. The food shops in Broadford are about a 10 minute walk away, as are several other restaurants and tea shops. We would definitely return.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2014
Delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday while staying at Ardmore. Thanks very much for your kind comments about the cottage. They are much appreciated. Thanks also for taking the time to write a review.
Hope to see you back in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Ian Macmillan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeryckH27...
Conon Bridge
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday house in a good location to explore Skye”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a warm welcome form the owner who was very helpful showing us around the house explaining how everything worked. This is an attractive, spacious, well kept house with garden. It was also warm and comfortable. We found its location was excellent, as it was in a very central position to explore Skye. There was also a good choice of local restaurants which we enjoyed visiting. One of our party has a food allergy problem and we were impressed how helpful the local restaurants were.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable, spacious house
Liked least: We could not find any drawbacks with this property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2014
Thanks very much for your kind comments. They are much appreciated.
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and also your experience in the local restaurants
Thanks also for taking the time and effort to write your review.
Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Anne and Ian Macmillan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing