We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad hotel at all.”
Review of Dunollie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunollie Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadford
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

After staying in a big group named hotel which was absolutely discussed, this small unknown hotel is much better, bed is amazing, so comfortable. Room smells little damp, but overall staff and sea views is amazing. Well done.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stv987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amac1red, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Your comments are very much appreciated, thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 637 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

A good value hotel, perhaps overpriced for what they provide . We had a sea view room which was a great distraction.
The downstairs restaurant is of a size which allows for mass catering for tour groups. If we were aware that they depend on this market other hotels would be more attractive.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amac1red, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

I am pleased on the whole you enjoyed your stay.

Although our Restaurant is large this is more to do with the fact we have 87 Bedrooms than being dependant on tours who only really account for 50% of our business this time of the year.

We keep our prices very competitive for the location and time of year , but I do appreciate your comments and have taken them on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Very happy with the price paid for 3 nights. We had read other reviews and although some were quite harsh and negative with some comments being very petty, I can thankfully say that this is not the experience we had. The hotel staff we encountered were all friendly, welcoming and helpful. The hotel was clean and comfortable throughout, and appeared to be freshly decorated. Breakfast was buffet style, plentiful, hot, constantly replenished, filling and delicious. Dining room had a lovely view of the bay and was clean and spacious. Our room (with a sea view) was clean, fresh and comfortable and appeared to be recently refurbished and we didn't have any disturbance from neighbouring rooms. Bathroom was clean, no mould to be found. Shower was hot and water pressure was fine. We had our two dogs with us and they were welcomed too! Perfect location for walking dogs along waterfront. Parking was limited although a carpark next door at the Co-op store was just as close. Two out of three nights, we did get parked in the hotel car park though. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jac D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amac1red, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Thank you very much for your generous comments, my team and I very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

From the road it looks like a small traditional hotel, with a bar in front. When you get in it turns out to be quite a large hotel, with all modern features. I suspect it has been recently rebuilt, but because of its position, it was not allowed to look too big or too modern from outside.

View of the bay are great; not sure whether all the rooms have the view (they may do), but it would be worth asking. You also have the glorious view from the dining room. Very good breakfast. Wi-fi only available in the (large) lobby, not in the bedrooms. There is some hotel parking, but it rather looks as if it could be filled up soon: come early if you are in a car.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_the_driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amac1red, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thank you for your comments they are very much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We had a sea view room with views to die for. The receptionist was very helpful and friendly and the buffet style breakfast aimed at coach parties was acceptable with rapid service from the staff. The downside was our room had seen better days especially the bathroom though everything worked and we had a comfortable nights sleep. We arrived when the car park was full and used the free car park just along the road next to the Cooperative supermarket. Given the difficulty of finding accomodation on he main road this is a reasonable option for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room. The views are magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amac1red, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thank you for your review and your generous comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We made last minute bookings at a busy time and were happy to get rooms. After reading awful reviews we expected the worst and were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and comfortable, we had a great sleep and the staff were helpful and friendly. It was minimal cost so I think we got good value. Yes we had to park a half a block away and internet is not in the bedrooms. We only wanted a bed. We enjoyed a meal in the dining room and breakfast was more than adequate. We had already paid for a weeks accommodation elsewhere but had two days on Skye at minimal extra cost so who could complain.

Room Tip: Just tell them that you don't want a room you will have to complain about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amac1red, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thank you for your comments and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Where do I start? The parking is down hill which means you have to pull your luggage up hill. The hotel is run down and has a musty smell to it. There is NO air conditioning and I require a/c when I stay at a hotel. The internet can "only" be used in the lobby.... "Maybe and if its working". The rooms are dingy and old looking. The beds are worn out. The bathrooms are very small and you have to pump the toilets to flush them. The bathroom door did not close completely. The over the sink light did not work at all. The shower water trickeled out and made it almost impossible to get yourself clean. The dinner menu is "Limited" and the breakfast is barely edible. The drinking glasses in the restaurant were cracked and I managed to get one of them "twice". The carpets were dirty and had stains on them. My hotel door knob was about to fall off which means anyone could break in the room. They could probably break in anyway because the hotel room door is probably the original door from when the hotel opened "years" ago. This hotel needs a major renovation!! The staff was semi-friendly but the manager has the manners of a "rock". I'd recommend staying at one of several Bed and Breakfast around town. There are several B and B's to chose from. Not to mention they are cheaper and cleaner than this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Polishedfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amac1red, Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Obviously disappointed to read your review. And I have taken on board your comments but I can't help thinking you might not of met me as I'm described in many different ways but never having a personality of a rock.
The Hotel has had a large refurbishment over the last 2 years and I except there is more to be done and we are and will continue to achieve that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadford
0.2 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
369 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
16 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
411 reviews
16 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 6 in Portree
493 reviews
9 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunollie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunollie Hotel

Address: Main Street, Broadford IV49 9AE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadford
Price Range: $96 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunollie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunollie Hotel is nestled on the edge of Broadford Bay is ideally situated in the centre of the village. The hotel is seated at the foot of Beinn na Caillich and Beinn nan Cran leading towards the famous Cuillin Hills allowing you to explore the area and its wildlife on countless walks and hikes. A home away from home, there are 84 en-suite bedrooms offering stunning panoramic sea views and the charming Torridon View Restaurant will satisfy the heartiest of appetites. Our friendly staff are always on hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dunollie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunollie Hotel Broadford, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing