We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Extremely comfortable and cosy in a great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Lounge/diner complete with upright piano, sea views, cosy woodburner, Wifi, DVD and TV
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge/diner complete with upright piano, sea views, cosy woodburner, Wifi, DVD and TV
Waterside Cottage with the sea behind A cosy woodburner makes winter stays as cosy as summer ones
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Lounge/diner complete with upright piano, sea views, cosy woodburner, Wifi, DVD and TV
Waterside Cottage with the sea behind
A cosy woodburner makes winter stays as cosy as summer ones
Lounge diner
Dining table
The conservatory looking out over the garden and sea
Guests love our vintage kitchen - it may be traditional but it is very well stocked
Kingsize bedroom
Downstairs ensuite bedroom
Upstairs double bedroom
Upstairs twin bedroom - can be a supering
Downstairs shower
Downstairs ensuite
The beach, a couple of minutes walk from the house with wonderful birdlife
View from the edge of the garden at sunset
The shore in front of the cottage at low tide, fabulous for bird watching
Sunset over the bay
Waterside in summer
Our lovely cottage garden coming into flower
Waterside Cottage with the sea beyond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Broadford, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rosiesram...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Extremely comfortable and cosy in a great location”
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I stayed in Waterside Cottage as part of a group of friends on a walking holiday to Skye. Arriving at the cottage definitely had a wow factor. The beds were very comfortable with gorgeous bed linen and I loved the Arran Aromatics toiletries. It was an added luxury to have dressing gowns. A special surprise was a hamper box full of local goodies on our arrival. The cottage made an excellent base for doing walks in different areas of Skye. I would recommend this lovely cottage to anyone who would like a home from home on holiday, and I would love to come back :).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arran Aromatics
Liked least: We couldn't find the BBQ
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnalGhosh
Hyderabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its best!”
Reviewed May 17, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Waterside Cottage for 2 nights and didn't repent a minute of it. We arrived 2 hours before the scheduled check-in time at 4 pm, but David and Fiona were gracious enough to set up our room despite having just returned from a long trip themselves right then.

The room was cozy, washroom spotless, and a lovely view of the lake to boost. We had continental breakfast on the first day, and hot English breakfast on the other, and both were sumptuous and delicious. And David and Fiona were always there if needed any help - be it towels, tea in the room or an umbrella to withstand the Skye weather :)

The property is situated right on the main road and the the Broadford city center is an idyllic 15 walk from the place. Hebridean Hotel and Claymore restaurant are right next doors and serve some wonderful food and drinks. Waterside Cottage is perfect for a relaxed stay at Skye!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fozzie59
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant holiday rental”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were lucky to enjoy some fantastic weather during our week but even if it had rained all week we would have enjoyed spending time at this comfortable home from home. The house is on the main road into Broadford but you are not disturbed by road noise at night. The views are wonderful and the log burning stove kept us cosy in the evenings. There are plenty of books and games for wet days too. The house backs on to the shore making it ideal for dogs and kids. It was so nice to be able to take the dog to a lovely, comfortable house. The welcome pack was much appreciated as were the information folders. This house would work equally well for a large family or four couples. Plenty of off road parking. Friendly hotel across the road for a drink or a meal.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foodster7...
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Amazing comfortable cottage with great location and superb facilities”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Where to start? We loved the cottage and the location. Everything and more with a beach just off the garden and shops, restaurants and just off the main road making it easy to explore the island. The owners have thought of everything you need from binoculars,barbecue, plastic plates and spoons for the younglings to a wonderful log fire add in all mod cons such as wifi, dvd player and books and games and we just felt it was a home from home. The cottage is quirky with good sized rooms and what we all agreed to be the comfiest beds ever. We didn't want to leave but Im sure we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: 10 o'clock check out
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rymanii
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a fabulous large cottage with everything you could wish for, Waterside Cottage is the one”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We rented this cottage as a base from which to tour Skye. Convenient location close to the Kyle of Lochalsh meant that it was easy to reach from the mainland. Inside, the place exudes warmth and cosiness and the furnishings and fittings make it a very comfortable place to stay. Bags of room for everyone and great bathrooms and shower rooms made easy work of getting ready for each day. Fiona has thought of everything when creating this home from home. It is so unlike most holiday rental properties as it really is a proper home and not just a bland self catering facility.

With the Co-op store , fuel station and abundant other shops only a short walk or quick drive away, this place makes a fantastic base for a holiday.

I would definitely recommend Waterside Cottage to anyone thinking of staying on Skye, and whilst I didn't meet Fiona, booking communications were quick and easy and very friendly.

Book this place and I fail to see how you could be disappointed.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stewartto...
barrowford
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage to stay on Isle of Skye”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed at Waterside for a week, amazing views and a great location with a lovely treat box and a prepared fire to cheer us up after a long drive it was a perfect start to a week away. Waterside has all that you need and you either turn off or use the Wifi to keep in touch when required, we loved it and would recommend to anyone who wants a cosy base to see the Isle of Skye.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log fire
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J H
Wisbech, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great holiday”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Had a wonderful week staying at Waterside Cottage. Fiona made sure everything you could need was in place. Sitting in the garden watching wildlife was wonderful.
Easy drive to mainland Scotland or round Island. We spend most of our time looking at the wonderful scenery on Skye or sitting in the garden which went directly to the beach.
Great to have three bathrooms (one on-suite). Meant each couple had separate bathroom.

We felt very welcome - a real home from home.
If you want to have a relaxing enjoyable, fuss free holiday, - look nowhere else.
Many thanks to Fiona for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Easy to find, well appointed with relaxing garden
Liked least: Leaving - everything else very good
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing