We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid at all costs”
Review of Lion House

Lion House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lion House
Ranked #21 of 26 Broadford B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was the worst B n B we have ever encountered in many years of travelling throughout Great Britain. A disservice and disgrace to the Isle of Skye and Scotland. bar of soap left in bathroom from previous occupants.no complementary toiletries provided breakfast choice was not up to usual b&b standard in that if you had cereal then you could not have a cooked breakfast. on returning in the evening from a full day out,(as a second night was booked) the room had not been touched! we always turn bedding back to air and this was as we had left it! cups had not been washed. milk,tea,sugar had not been replenished.towels were as we had left them (drying over the shower).bin not emptied, no side tables, no hair dryer in room.in general an unkempt untidy room with wiring hanging down from tv etc. we can only presume this is why this establishment is not registered with the scottish tourist board! on our enquiring with them.

Room Tip: drive straight past !
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brian228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
There are newer reviews for Lion House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Only one bathroom between 3 double bedrooms this also included the toilet. So could to use if some one was in the shower. No shampoo supplied, an old half used cake of soap still in the shower. Breakfast was not up to standard, only cooked or continental both vey small, it was put down in front of you and did not see the owner again, we had to go and call them for some more tea and coffee which seemed an imposition to them. We had to ask for a hair dryer and this was also met with annoyance from the owner. They need training in customer service. Would not recommend plenty of better ones around.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIA01Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

If you are visiting Skye and are on a schedule, Broadford is very handy for the Skye Bridge, better than staying in Portree. The Lion House was comfortable, big bed and en suite. The breakfast was not the best on holiday, but certainly better than many hotel buffets. It is close to good restaurants for an evening meal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This B&B is in an excellent location with off street parking and within walking distance of several restaurants.However there are some minus points:
1) I was charged the full cost of a double room although I was a single occupant even though I saved them some costs by having only a single breakfast.
2) The room was not cleaned during my stay with dirty cups and full bin remaining the two days I was there.
3) It was cash only for my stay and I was not given a receipt for my payment.

Room Tip: Only one room with private facilities
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We chose this b&b because of its location on the main bus-route. The hosts practice of accepting payment in cash only, payable on arrival did not seem like normal business practice to us. The room was small but comfortable although the en-suite was ultra compact! There were some things which the hosts need to work at - most notably the breakfasts, which were either "continental" or cooked. If you chose continental, you got serials and a microwaved croissant which was horrible. If you chose cooked, you DIDN'T get cereals, etc. which seemed unusual to us. We stayed for 3 nights and the room was never serviced once - so bins remained un-emptied, toilet and sink uncleaned, wet towels not replaced, etc. Not good enough really!
The rates are the same as the best b&bs in Scotland but this place did not match up to the best in any way.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank C. H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2012_escocia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadford
0.8 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
592 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Broadford House Skye - B&B
Broadford House Skye - B&B
#26 of 26 in Broadford
47 reviews
6.5 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Broadford Youth Hostel
Broadford Youth Hostel
#4 of 6 in Broadford
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion House

Address: Harrapool, Broadford IV49 9AQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Broadford
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Lion House Broadford, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing