We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like time travel........”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Broadford Backpackers Hostel
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Booked this after reading various reviews on the net, and after approx 10 mins we thought we had gone back in time: to when Hostels were cheap, basic and generally places you stayed in when you had no choice!

The beds are old, very uncomfortable and badly water marked, some windows are taped shut, others locked, the paintwork is, well bad, the bathrooms similar. If you are not woken up by the cars in the parking, or the plumbing that is old and makes more noise than a siren, then the internal walls that are paper thin or the internal doors that dont close without slamming them will do.

Kitchen was ok, but when compared to all the other 9 Hostels we stayed in over the 3 weeks is again, crap. I spoke to some of the locals and the place used to be a Hospice, and was bought approx 14 months ago and converted to a Hostel. The call points and old emergency switches are still in the rooms if you like antiques!

Dont normally write bad reports, but seriously save yourself some hassle and go 800 mts down the road to the SYHA Broadford (we were not the first to do this by a long long way apparently) and you will see the difference (and if you are a member its cheaper too!). Great staff and nice place to be.

Sorry Broadford Backpackers, nice staff, but the rest really needs to join 2013!

Room Tip: 800 metres to SYHA!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Broadford Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 122 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

Booked at the last minute, this turned out to be a great place to stay. As a couple we wanted privacy so managed to book a twin room. Very comfy beds and warm bedding, and great to have own sink in the room.

The door had dropped on its hinges and was an effort to open and close though.

Toilet was just opposite our room was very clean.

Living room was large and attractive with high ceilings and big windows. Not great coffee though and one sofa had a broken seat.

Very reasonable prices and friendly resident cat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzi88x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here and we loved it. The staff were really friendly and made us feel right at home. Its a very cosy hostel with good showers and comfy beds so great value all in all. Broadford is a quite spot but it is beautiful and its a great place to bass yourself for touring the island.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Good hostel. The place is located in a quiet area and at night they dont have exterior lights, at first we thought the hostel was close... We arrived late and the staff was efecient. We didn´t pre-book a bed but we got a room with three beds. The place was clean and cozy. All the rooms had locks.The facilities were very good. Even though we only stayed for one night we recomend the hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catia28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Was in a 6 bed room at this hostel. It is very run down from the outside, and also a little on the inside, not very great upkeep on the owners/managers part. The bed linen was quite dirty and looked just generally unhygienic . There was only one toilet working to be shared amongst roughly 12 rooms, each with at least 4 people in them.

The whole experience just generally wasn't great at this hostel. Found another one on skye for similar price and had a lovely pub next door, just down the road from the Talisker distillery!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwinhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Clean and confortable. There is a common living room with DVD, Wifi, tea and coffee machines,... The toilet and the showers are clean and good. There is also a dining room and a kitchen but I didn´t use it. Ten minutes walking from Broadford. Recommendable!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbb_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I booked it for four friends, and we got separate room, as i reached late after 12pm, still the arrangements was done nicely, the in house rep, also opened the kitchen for us, which was out of her duty, I appreciate the efforts and assistance i received from them, one of the best priced hostel near to co-op and main shops, ideal location for the skye explorer, good for relaxing and nice camp fire out side gives more pleasent time to party along, not recommended for family or elderly group.... carry mitches protection to avoid skin marks and high irritation!!!!!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are good... depending the time of year u travel
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayur_vhatkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadford
0.2 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
592 reviews
15.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Broadford Youth Hostel
Broadford Youth Hostel
#4 of 6 in Broadford
72 reviews
7.1 mi away
Saucy Marys Lodge
Saucy Marys Lodge
#3 of 3 in Kyleakin
279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Broadford House Skye - B&B
Broadford House Skye - B&B
#26 of 26 in Broadford
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadford Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadford Backpackers Hostel

Address: High Road, Broadford IV49 9AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Broadford
Price Range: $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is situated in the scenic village of Broadford ideally located for enjoying everything the Isle of Skye has to offer with access to public transport to get you all around the island and surrounding mainland. The hostel itself offers safe, clean and comfortable accommodation with a personal touch and we are always willing to do our best to meet any requirements that you may have. So whether you are going out to enjoy the sights or staying in to relax in our living room cuddled up with our cat we will try to make your experience of the Isle of Skye as wonderful as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Broadford Backpackers Hostel Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing