We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming, homey atmosphere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Broadford Backpackers Hostel
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Welcoming, homey atmosphere”
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

This may not be the most flash hostel in the world but I certainly had a very nice stay. I felt at home straight away, the staff and all the people were very friendly. There's a large selection of DVDs you can watch anytime in the lounge (however 'Braveheart' was missing!!), and there are two resident cats that love a cuddle. The bus stop was less than 3 minutes walk away and beautiful views across the water were about 5 minutes away. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gen1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    35
    25
    14
    14
See reviews for
13
34
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

cracking hostel great location,great staff, warm heating at all times, a must for all travaellers..

Room Tip: all rooms are fine as hostels go..just like being at home,the tv lounge is large,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoops-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

location is kinda facilitating for ppl cming to visit isle of skye...right after u cross the main bridge u gotta travel around 7 miles inland to broadford and then take a small inlan road right and ure there!

the hostel could be better maintained is the 1st impression i get. colorful, homely, full of fun ppl - is all quite good, but more tidiness could help too. there's a nice lounge with an attached kitchenette, but the presence of cat-bowls inidicating the presence of cats ruined my moment of peace in the lounge (i hate cats!)

Also, since the facility has a kitchen and there's hardly any eateries around - it could think of serving some basic breakfast...at least tea/ coffee if nothing else!

the rooms - well...not too large, but i hve seen worse. it had the kind of bunk beds which is a double in the lower, a single in the upper and a single bed. what was irksome was that there was absolutely no other furniture in the room in form of a cupboard or shelves or chair or anything where you could even say hang ur t-shirt or open your watch or anything!
plus point - the room had a sink in it!
the baths/ toilets were quite alright...one huge bathroom actually had a bath-tub in it which quite a many patrons where taking advantage of! :-)

staff- quite friendly and quirky. wish they knew a bit more abt the best places to visit etc...

all in all - i defintely would not mind coming back with a few improvements.

Room Tip: larger room with more furniture? :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoumitreeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra Headland, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I came across this IHS by chance and the staff was very friendly and helpful...the place wasn't busy as it was just after the easter holiday and she suggested best option for my stay both price wise and comfort...the hostel itself was clean, comfortable, and had loads of amenities like outdoor BBQ, lounge room, large dining room, large kitchen...DVD's etc and free WiFi...if they had been full I was told I could have pitched my tent in the gardens and enjoyed the hospitality..thats great service in my books and the staff member was only there to help out. I was lucky in one way that the 'Haggis Bus' of partying tourists weren't staying but thats only once a week - and to be honest I wouldn't have minded as its a hostel...

Room Tip: I was lucky as it was a bit quiet and so instead of my own room the staff member suggested I have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadicRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here initially for one night and liked it well enough for a second. The staff are helpful and friendly as are those who have been resident a little longer. There are sinks in the rooms, plenty of showers, a kitchen that could do with a good scrub but is adequate, two very cool cats in the lounge and an easy to find location. Would recommend it for a short stop on Skye.

Room Tip: Rooms next to toilets can be noisy if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szaznyolc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Hostel is a bit tricky to find, it is signposted from the main road in Broadford but then you have to look for the hostel behind the medical center... It doesn't look very distinguished from the outside it's true, but it makes up for it once you are inside because the staff seems to be very fond of painting which means there is art everywhere on the walls! Staff is welcoming and helpful, no problem here. The rooms are very clean with good beds and nice decoration AND a sink in the room which is always a bonus in a hostel. The showers are clean and very recent (as is the rest of the hostel) and there is even one bathroom with a bathtub! The kitchen is not as fresh as the rest of the hostel, and the common room is very cosy. There are two very friendly cats living in the hostel too, so be warned if you are allergic. All in all a very good hostel, I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbost, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Yes, it's basic backpacker accommodation, but.... I've stayed here a couple of times and although the manager has a friendly demeanour that doen't make up for it's shortcomings. First off it's noisy, not just from the residents who stay up till partying till the small hours, but also from the impromptu traveller's site in the garden.The manager doesn't seem to mind this and in fact seems to tacitly encourage it. She really doesn't have a handle on the situation and even admitted to me that she didn't really have any control over it. If you like sitting round a fire outside drinking, smoking, and singing Hotel California all night then this is the place for you, but if you want a decent night's sleep, a shower, and to get away early in the morning to get out and about on Skye then you're sunk.

The communal kitchen is supposedly open from 7.30am. 7.30 is quite late if you're wanting to make your breakfast and head out, but on more than one occassion I've found it still locked with nobody about at well gone 8, not much use if you're wanting to get a day on the hills for instance. I can't comment on it's level of amenity because I've never been able to get in!

With regard to cleanliness, it's poor to mediocre at best. Putting some bins in the bathrooms would discourage people from throwing used sanitary products on the floor.

Some people might like it's free festival type vibe, but that is encouraged to the detriment of other guests.

I won't be going back. Ever. Even if this is the type of accommodation you are looking for, there are better options within a short distance.

Room Tip: Put a tent in the garden. Bring Rizlas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gates_of_Delerium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadford
0.4 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
29.6 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Broadford Youth Hostel
Broadford Youth Hostel
#4 of 5 in Broadford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadford Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadford Backpackers Hostel

Property: Broadford Backpackers Hostel
Address: High Road, Broadford IV49 9AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Broadford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is situated in the scenic village of Broadford ideally located for enjoying everything the Isle of Skye has to offer with access to public transport to get you all around the island and surrounding mainland. The hostel itself offers safe, clean and comfortable accommodation with a personal touch and we are always willing to do our best to meet any requirements that you may have. So whether you are going out to enjoy the sights or staying in to relax in our living room cuddled up with our cat we will try to make your experience of the Isle of Skye as wonderful as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Broadford Backpackers Hostel Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing