We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skye Picture House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skye Picture House
Ranked #1 of 28 Broadford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

A very clean and comfortable place to stay in a truly beautiful location. The welcome was warm, with plenty of advice available on where to go and what to do. A delicious breakfast was served early on request and set us up perfectly for a couple of days out in the hills. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuisleofskye, Owner at Skye Picture House, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your review, sorry for the dely in our response. We glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you had a great trip into the hills.
Best wishes
Stuart & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    32
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
116
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shieldaig, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed one night in Sept. The house is just of the main road about six miles north of Broadford but seems completely unaffected by road noise. It makes it very easy to find. Had a light supper on arrival in the lounge (breakfast is served here as well). Minestrone soup which was delicious followed by ice cream then a lovely malt whisky to finish. The views from the lounge are amazing. Our room is accurately described (Room 5 I think) as small on the website. So small only room for one chair. There is no view from this room other than the grass bank at the back of the house. However perfectly acceptable. My only whinge was the shower which could only manage a dribble. Power shower needed? Reading other reviews it seems the bedroom to avoid is this room but the popularity of the house means this is not always going to be possible as it books up very quickly. This last bit sounds abit negative but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If possible avoid room 5 as it is small and has no view. This is made clear on the web site by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogerh2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuisleofskye, Owner at Skye Picture House, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. we can only apologise for the lack of pressure in the shower but there was no problems with the bath, this was due to major mains water works been carried out in the area which affected the pressure. This has now been resolved and we are also having a unvented water heating system installed. Room 5 is the perfect twin room if its just for sleeping and like you mentioned you can enjoy the amazing views from the lounge while having a Malt Whisky or glass of wine or sit out on the deck.
We hope you will come see us again.
Best wishes
Stuart & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I loved this place. The sitting room\breakfast room view was incredible. It's such a cozy house. Great location for exploring the island. The food was excellent. They were so helpful with everything. We loved it so much that wen wanted to stay another night but they were booked.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JordieBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuisleofskye, Owner at Skye Picture House, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. Sorry that you weren't able to stay longer. Perhaps you will manage a return trip to Skye one day.
Best wishes
Sarah and Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night whilst touring the Hebridian Islands. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfy with top quality bedding. The en-suite bathroom was spacious and was also spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of cereals, cooked breakfast and tea/coffee & toast. There was a lounge room for guests to use and was very comfy. There were amazing views over the loch from the lounge room and it was very relaxing to look out during our stay. The hosts were both great and very welcoming. There is homemade soup to buy in the evening served with homemade bread and it is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meesajarjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuisleofskye, Owner at Skye Picture House, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your kind comments are much appreciated. Hope that the rest of your Hebridean tour was memorable and enjoyable.
Best wishes
Sarah and Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great location on Skye - easy to find and a nice base for exploring the island. Stuart and Sarah couldn't be nicer. The room we stayed in (room #1) had beautiful views overlooking the lake and the stars were incredible at night. After breakfast Stuart helped us map out where to go and we had a wonderful time. Thanks again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gimi393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuisleofskye, Owner at Skye Picture House, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you fro your review, the views also sold the place to us 3 years ago and you can never tire if them. There are wonderful B&B's through out the Island but our location is centrally located 20 minutes from the Skye bridge which enables you to visit all corners of this winged Isle if you are only hers for 1 or 2 nights. Hope you had a safe journey home.
Best wishes
Stuart & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at the Skye Picture House in June. I had a single room with a window overlooking Loch Na Cairidh, and my senior parents a room at the other side of the property. Both rooms were very clean and my parent’s bathroom was just a step down from the bedroom level.

One of the best features of this B&B is just how close it is to the water, and we had the good fortune of seeing otters floating by at breakfast time. Sarah’s light supper menu was another great touch, and the breakfasts were very nice.

Stuart was very knowledgable of the area, and gave us a great idea for a trip to Applecross via the Bealach na Bà (Pass of the Cattle). If you do it, make sure you eat at the Applecross Inn.

I didn’t personally venture out on to the loch side platform because unfortunately the West Highland Midge (prevalent on Skye) finds me irresistible! However, there’s great views from inside the lounge/breakfast area and lots of good reading for trip planning etc.

The website photos are excellent, and they give a great feel for both where the house is situated and the facilities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atw63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuisleofskye, Owner at Skye Picture House, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we are glad the otters made a showing, not always the case, We have a great location on the Loch with fine views. The midges can be a pest a times May and end of Sep are the best times to be midge free. So we hope to see you again.
Best wishes
Stuart & sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
477 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The room was comfortable and clean and quiet, but best of all was the minestrone soup at night time! Delicious. And so was the Drambuie porridge at breakfast time. Helpful host who provided us with good advice on what to see in the brief time that we had available. Sorry we were only staying one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serendipitous02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuisleofskye, Owner at Skye Picture House, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your review, Sarah's Picture House porridge will keep you going for most of the day.
We hope you enjoyed you short trip to Skye and take back some good memories. May one day you will return.
Best wishes
Stuart & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadford
12.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
21.6 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
11.1 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
12.9 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skye Picture House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skye Picture House

Property: Skye Picture House
Address: Ard Dorch, Broadford IV49 9AJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Broadford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guesthouse is situated in an acre of garden and is right down at the water's edge with magnificent views of sea and mountains from almost every window. We have frequent wildlife sightings including otters, seals and over fifty species of birds. Ideally situated for walking in the Cullin mountains. We offer comfortable rooms, all en-suite, and wonderful home cooking, including evening meals. We are licensed to serve alcohol. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skye Picture House Hotel Broadford
Picture Hotel
Skye Picture House Broadford, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing