We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing place to stay”
Review of Skye Picture House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skye Picture House
Ranked #1 of 26 Broadford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toms River, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Absolutely amazing place to stay”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Skye Picture House is located in a beautiful place. Waking up to see the sunrise above the mountains was awesome. The food was outstanding. It was some of the best food we had in Scotland. The Skye porridge was some of the best oatmeal I have ever had. The owners were very helpful with helping us to determine where to go. Stuart was very understanding and helpful when I lost my key for my suitcase lock. He was very understanding late at night when he opened my lock. Sarah also was very gracious to share her recipe for a sauce she used over her apple dessert. It reminded me of a sauce my grandmother made and didn't have the recipe for. If you like to take pictures, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuisleofskye, Owner at Skye Picture House, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for you kind review, we hope that you will be able to visit Skye again and enjoy our Picture House portering.
Best wishes
Stuart & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    36
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
126
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Libertyville, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I wanted to stay at the Picture House sometime ago but it was fully booked. I now understand why as our stay was wonderful. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and the owners could not have been more helpful. The food was excellent.
I highly recommend the Picture House as a base for anyone who is into photography.
Without reservation we will return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrJohnG303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuisleofskye, Owner at Skye Picture House, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, besides the great views form the house, we are ideally located to explore the whole Island as you indicated. Next season we are providing a light supper rather that a full evening meal as we think this will appeal to more guests. I am sure people will still enjoy Sarah's cooking.
Best wishes
Stuart & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Skye Picture House setting is beautiful. We even saw our first river otter there! The host was very interested in the local otters. The location is rather isolated but the scenery is stunning. The host kindly offered us a whiskey tasting with three whiskey varieties. He was very personable and glad to share information and experiences about Skye and other locations in Scotland. Beautiful guest lounge overlooking the water, along with a very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maura and Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuisleofskye, Owner at Skye Picture House, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review, the otters are part of everyday life here and we are pleased you saw your first river otter. Scotland has so many fine whiskies and we enjoy promoting our national drink. We are located 6 miles from Broadford just off the main road. conveniently and centrally located for exploration of the whole of the island.. Hope that your journey home was a good one.
Best wishes
Stuart & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful week on Skye.The Picture house was perfect Stuart and Sarah were excellent hosts who really put themselves out for us and the Skye porridge was to die for I will really miss that.The views were fantastic and we saw the most perfect rainbow arched across the loch, a perfect place to spend a week.We will be back.

Room Tip: Choose room 1 the most fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuisleofskye, Owner at Skye Picture House, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review, so glad you had a great time and I hope you got some good photos. The otter seems to be out everyday now the season has ended. Look forward to a return visit and don't forget to book room 1.
Best wishes
Stuart & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent a wonderful long weekend in what could only be described as absolute luxury. The welcome was extremely warm. The room was just perfect and the bed was very comfortable. The view from the room was breath taking across the loch to Scalpay. Breakfast was to die for and would recommend anything that Stu and Sarah have on the menu as its scrumptious. As a surprise I asked Stu if they could possibly do an evening meal for my girlfriend's birthday and I have to say this was out of this world and I cannot say enough to say thank you for the whole experience. They really outdone themselves and they gave us something that will be remembered for a very long time. All the places Stu told us to visit for interest and to eat out were absolutely fantastic and we had no doubts that what he advised would be just perfect. All in all this trip was made perfect by our hosts as there was nothing they couldn't do to make it so and I highly recommend anyone to stay at this wonderful place as you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: To get the best views choose a room facing the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoZ8220872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuisleofskye, Owner at Skye Picture House, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind review. It was a privilege to be able to help you both celebrate a special day. Hope that the break gave you both the rest that you were looking for and that you returned home taking a bit of Skye's tranquillity with you.
Best wishes
Sarah and Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

What drew us to Skye Picture House was the views and wonderful decking - they are really as good as the website suggests. The location is also excellent for exploring the southern half of the island. Stuart was excellent advice on walks and areas to explore and the 'Skye Porridge' with brown sugar, double cream and Drambuie will remain a culinary highlight of our holiday. On the downside, we felt that the room was small, the bathroom a little dated and that a great deal could be heard from one room to another. Still, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyDuck777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuisleofskye, Owner at Skye Picture House, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. So pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the island. We also believe that our situation is perfect for making the most of all areas on Skye. Our rooms vary in size, not sure which room you were in. Guests are encouraged to view rooms on our website which gives a comprehensive description along with photos to enable guests at the booking stage. Hope that your return journey home was enjoyable.
Best wishes
Sarah and Stuart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Unfortunately we were only able to spend one night at Skye Picture House. Broadford is conveniently located close to the Syke bridge. Skye Picture House is a few metres down the main road (quite a steep street) and is directly at the sea front, offering fantastic views from our room, as well as the breakfast room. We were staying in an ensuite double room - good size, nicely warm blankets, tea and coffee making facilities, perfect for our needs. Breakfast was excellent and Stuart gave us many very helpful tips for walks and sightseeing during our time in Skye.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birgitxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuisleofskye, Owner at Skye Picture House, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We do enjoy meeting people and helping them to make the most of their time on Skye.
Best wishes
Sarah and Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadford
11.1 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,055 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
5.1 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
354 reviews
11.9 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
11.0 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#14 of 93 in Portree
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skye Picture House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skye Picture House

Property: Skye Picture House
Address: Ard Dorch, Broadford IV49 9AJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Broadford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guesthouse is situated in an acre of garden and is right down at the water's edge with magnificent views of sea and mountains from almost every window. We have frequent wildlife sightings including otters, seals and over fifty species of birds. Ideally situated for walking in the Cullin mountains. We offer comfortable rooms, all en-suite, and wonderful home cooking, including evening meals. We are licensed to serve alcohol. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skye Picture House Hotel Broadford
Picture Hotel
Skye Picture House Broadford, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing