We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have chosen a better place to stay.”
Review of Skye Picture House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skye Picture House
Ranked #2 of 26 Broadford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2011

A very warm welcome from our hosts, generous portions of excellent food, and stunning views from our rooms and the visitors lounge. If you want a base to explore Skye then book the Picture House.
Myself and my adult son and daughter were here for three nights and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Talisker19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
There are newer reviews for Skye Picture House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 275 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2011

I had a single room ensuite with was of goog size for a single room. It had a beautiful view directly to the water. Both, room and bathroom, was spotlessly clean, the room very cosily and the bed comfortably. The breakfast left open no wishes.
I was called warmly welcome and received a coffee offered as the first. Only the recreation room in which also the breakfast was served could be more pleasant a little.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotlandfan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The views from our room were amazing and there was a great lounge to sit in. I would recomend this b&b to all.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairebelts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

The good:
- Comfortable beds
- Friendly hosts, with lots of travelbooks and advice for hiking - they even photocopied hikes for us
- Willing to do laundry in a pinch (with a small charge)
- variety of choices for breakfast (but a bit slow on the service)

The bad:
- The shower - the water pressure wasn't great, and the angle also meant it was very hard to get a nice shower, which is a bummer after long days of hiking
- Thin walls...but to be fair, the other people staying while we were there were very nice (but still loud) motorcyclists from London, and rather fit the stereotype...just meant you could hear conversations through the walls at night, but it wasn't awful. We heard nothing the first night (before bikers arrived).
- Room is a bit snug; it was challenging to find space for two suitcases.

The location is a bit weird, broadford is just off the main road. This was fine for us, as we had a car, wanted to see various parts of the island, and it was still quiet,. But, if you wanted to be able to walk to dinner, or have no transport, you should stay elsewhere.

Next time, I would probably stay elsewhere, but it would do.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DC_girl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuisleofskye, Owner at Skye Picture House, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2011

Thanks for the review especially the part about the friendliness of hosts. This aspect of our guest's experience is extremely important to us and we will always do our utmost to make a stay enjoyable
Unfortunately the level of water pressure in our area is out of our control. We have undertaken a programme of installing power showers in the bedrooms where there is a problem and are confident that this will remedy the situation. Some of our rooms also have baths. Photos of all the bedrooms acn be viewed on our website.
The location of The Skye Picture House is outstanding, only metres from the waters edge with magnificent views of the surrounding mountains and the amazing experience of regular Otter visitors in the garden. We are 6 miles from the nearest restaraunts and bars which are located in Broadford. Check out our location on Google Maps.
We are licensed to sell alcohol and serve evening meals which are very popular. if a guest wishes to eat with us, there is an opportunity to enjoy a nice bottle of wine with the meal without the worry of having to drive. Otherwise we are more than happy to recommend excellent local restaraunts and bars.
We have had guests come to stay who have not had a car. Buses onto the Island will drop you at our door if you ask them to let you off at the Ard Dorch Lay by. However as many of Skye's popular locations are remote we would recommend a car to make the most of your time on the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Sarah and her friend Joyce couldn't have been more welcoming, breakfasts were good. However, we had a double ensuite facing the back of the house, facing the trees. The room was small, and under the eves, so one side of the bed was accessed via bending and there was no room for a bedside cabinet that side. The bathroom needed smartening up, the loo was on a wooden plynth, the shower wasn't very good. We understand this was Sarah's first season and she was working hard, but we wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PinnerSylv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Having stayed at the Picture House several times over the last 5 years, I found The new owners have maintained the same high standard and will definitely keep going back

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhoenixTangerine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Stayed at the Picture House as part of a motorcycle tour of the Islands. Sarah
and Stuart made us welcome with tea and cake and information about the area.the accommodation was lovely and the driveway an interesting challenge. The location is next the water with added interest supplied by seals and otters. The breakfast is excellent and will set you up for the day. Will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Offbeat1296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadford
11.1 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,070 reviews
5.1 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
592 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Off the Hill B&B
Off the Hill B&B
#1 of 4 in Sleat
40 reviews
11.0 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#13 of 95 in Portree
303 reviews
21.2 mi away
Ardmorn Holiday Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skye Picture House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skye Picture House

Address: Ard Dorch, Broadford IV49 9AJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Broadford
Price Range: $41 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guesthouse is situated in an acre of garden and is right down at the water's edge with magnificent views of sea and mountains from almost every window. We have frequent wildlife sightings including otters, seals and over fifty species of birds. Ideally situated for walking in the Cullin mountains. We offer comfortable rooms, all en-suite, and wonderful home cooking, including evening meals. We are licensed to serve alcohol. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skye Picture House Hotel Broadford
Picture Hotel
Skye Picture House Broadford, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing