We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome night sky viewing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allt a Choire Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 26 Broadford B&B and Inns
Nassau Bay
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome night sky viewing”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Irene and Andy welcomed the 4 of us for 2 days in May 2012. Our guest entrance took us across a lovely plant filled porch and kept us from disturbing our hosts late in the evening. Our rooms were comfortable and attractive, with beds long enough to accommodate our tall stature. With no guest lounge we would have appreciated 2 comfortable chairs for seating, however the room sizes weren't large enough. Andy and Irene prepared wonderful breakfasts and offered valuable tips for exploring the isle. Ask Andy about his collection; what a surprise!

Room Tip: Both Kilbride and Swordale have long beds. If you read in bed, bring a reading light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Sam39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireneskye, Owner at Allt a Choire Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. Glad you and your party enjoyed your stay at Allt a Choire. I am sorry your stay was marred by our lack of comfortable chairs in your rooms. When we have parties of four or more they often use the dining room which has comfortable Ikea recliner chairs. The beds in the double rooms are Kingsize beds, we find these very popular with our guests. We have never had any complaints about the lighting, both rooms have bedside lamps, most guests find them adequate for reading. It is difficult to accommodate everyone's individual requirements but we do our utmost to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay with us. Hope you have a good year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
99
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canvey island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent 4 nights in May. The room was lovely with view for miles. Our breakfast was great . after beeakfast Andy would sit with us and guide us on the best route to see as much as we could eack day. A wonderful stay and a great place to visit
Alan and Maggie

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireneskye, Owner at Allt a Choire Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your great review. It was lovely to meet you both, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Skye. Andy was pleased to be able to advise you on places to visit. Having a resident guide is always an advantage. I do hope you will get a chance to return to this magical island. Best wishes, Irene & Andy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tathra
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was a wonderful three days with hosts that had everything we needed. Breakfasts were local, fresh and tasty and the history talks with Andy about European history, Scottish history and the history of Corry itself were very illuminating. A great storyteller. Irene was warm, friendly and caring, generous with her time, skills and knowledge.

If you want a taste of Skye, go here. Our room was spacious, warm and comfortable, looking through the mist to the nearby mountain. The walks in the valley were fresh, fresh, fresh.
Andy and Irene recommended a seafood restaurant ten minutes away and we had seafood that rivalled the best we've had at home in Australia.

For two Australians who were interested in their Scottish past, Andy and Irene were the perfect hosts.

Room Tip: Talk to Andy and Irene. They want the best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter and Janet... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireneskye, Owner at Allt a Choire Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write the great review. We are so glad we were able to make your stay with us enjoyable. It is always interesting when guests are tracing their ancestors, we were glad to have been able to help with the history of the area. Skye is a magical place with so many myths and legends and spectacular scenery. We are so glad you were able to experience the magic. We hope the rest of your grand tour went well. There will always be a welcome in Old Corry should you ever get the chance to return. Best wishes Irene & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. Our room was very comfortable and clean, with tasteful modern decor and furnishings. Irene is a wonderful hostess and very knowledgable about the best things to do and see on the island. The b&b is a little bit outside of town and surrounded by beautiful views. Breakfast was delicious and generous. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Skye.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireneskye, Owner at Allt a Choire Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Skye. I was happy to share my knowledge of this wonderful island. There is so much to see and do on the island it is always hard to recommend the best places to visit. Hope you will get a chance some day to revisit. Best wishes Irene & Andy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed here during our few days in Skye, Irene's welcome was warm and her knowledge of the island helped to shape our stay into a very memorable retreat. The rooms are modern and clean and Irene offers a great choice of breakfast options which are all very tasty and are a great start to any day. We wouldn't hesitate to return in the future.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireneskye, Owner at Allt a Choire Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I am glad I was able to help with advice on places to visit. You were fortunate to have good weather to enjoy your trip over to Rum & Canna. I hope you enjoyed the ferry trip over to Mallaig and onward journey to Loch Lomond. A warm welcome awaits you at Allt a Choire when you get a chance to return. Best wishes, Irene & Andy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Dear Irene and Andy,

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us while we visited Skye - you took such good care of us, the rooms were very comfortable (everything was new) and your breakfasts were delicious. If it wasn't for your help guiding us we may never have found our way to the Black Cuillians to fulfill our dad's wishes. We loved the views from our bedroom windows and the variety of birds visiting your feeders, everything was perfect even the weather. We will definitely make it a point to stay at Allt a Choire the next time we are lucky enough to find ourselves visiting your fair island. Thanks again for your wonderful hospitality and for taking this photograph of all of us on your front lawn just before we left to spend a memorable day hiking in the mountains. Till we meet again, Fiona

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireneskye, Owner at Allt a Choire Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your fabulous review. It was our pleasure to have you all stay with us at Allt a Choire. We were pleased that we were able to guide you to the final resting place for your . . Dad. Your dad would be so proud of you all. We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay with us, we hope some day you will get the chance to return. Our best wishes Irene & Andy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voerde
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2012

It was our second stay at Irenes and Andys B&B and we loved it again! The location of the house is wonderful and the welcome is very familiar, warm and friendly. The rooms are lovely, clean and modern and the view is really amazing.

Irene and Andy give us very good tips for visiting places on Skye and furthermore they have a lot of guidebooks and maps for borrowing.The breakfast was very tasty, delicious and "relaxed". The other guests we met during our stays were very kind and friendly and we had a lot of interesting and funny breakfast talks :-)

We left Skye with mixed feelings and we are sure to come back again to one of the most beautiful places

Room Tip: make booking in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FennaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireneskye, Owner at Allt a Choire Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you both so much for writing your great review. It was great to see you both again this year. We are glad you enjoyed staying at Allt a Choire. There is always things to see and do on Skye, we are glad we were able to assist in your route planning. We always think that the shared dining experience in the morning is a great opportunity to share stories with like minded people. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes Irene & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadford
8.3 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
15.4 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,026 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
343 reviews
7.6 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
16.0 mi away
Hartfield House Applecross
Hartfield House Applecross
#1 of 2 in Applecross
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allt a Choire Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allt a Choire Bed & Breakfast

Property: Allt a Choire Bed & Breakfast
Address: Old Corry, Broadford IV49 9AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Broadford
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a warm Skye welcome at Allt a Choire Bed & Breakfast. Set in a peaceful, tranquil location, nestling below Beinn Na Caillich. 2 miles from the village of Broadford, relax and enjoy the breath taking scenery. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Allt a Choire Bed & Breakfast Broadford, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing