We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B on Skye”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allt a Choire Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 26 Broadford B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Irene and Andy's B&B must be one of the best on Skye. We are regular visitors to Skye and have stayed in a number of different places.
Irene and Andy are a most welcoming and friendly couple, well able to give helpful advice on where to go and what to do on Skye. The rooms are tastefully and comfortably furnished. The house has great views of the mountains and is totally peaceful and relaxing.That said, you are no more that a 10 minute drive from Broadford and its facilities. Add to that a tasty freshly cooked breakfast, and you have the perfect place for your holiday. I would highly recommend staying with Irene and Andy, but please leave room for us when we return to Skye!

Room Tip: Great views from all the rooms. Different mountains to look at from the front to the back.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireneskye, Owner at Allt a Choire Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thanks for taking the time to write your review. We work really hard to ensure our guests have a good experience of Skye when they stay at Allt a Choire. Glad to know that all that hard work is appreciated. We hope you do return and we can welcome you once again to our home. I'll make sure I have plentiful supply of freshly baked shortbread available. Best wishes Irene & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Allt a Choire Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 144 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

This was my first trip to Skye whilst my fiance has family here. It took me while to get use to the sheep!! While my fiance found this very amusing. The location was stunning and whilst having a remote feel we were very close to town.

Our room was kitted out with everything you could thing of and need. It was very clean and we received a very warm welcome.

The owners we very knowledgeable about the area and extremely helpful with anything we needed to know. The breakfast was very generous and the whole ambiance was very laid back and homely.

We are likely to return in the future and would certainly check availability here. A great B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireneskye, Owner at Allt a Choire Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B. We are so glad you enjoyed your first visit to Skye.
It was a pleasure to meet you and your fiance. We try to ensure that our guests have a pleasant stay with us. We hope you will get a chance to return. I could think of worse places for a honeymoon! Hope all goes well for the big day. Best wishes Irene & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This B&B was one of the best of our one week Highlands trip.

It is in a very quiet and picturesque location a short drive from Broadford and thus in the perfect location for exploring Skye. While it can be a bit tricky to find the way to the B&B (postcode doesn’t help, unfortunately, and you should definitely get directions from the hosts), the views and peace of the location are totally worth it. The B&B is set just underneath a tall mountain – we absolutely loved the herds of sheep virtually in front of our window, and the countless cute wild rabbits.

The house itself is of excellent standard. The rooms are decorated with lots of love and eye for detail. The tap water is mountain water coming from a stream nearby. The furniture etc. is all in top shape. The breakfast room is very airy and provides great views. Breakfast itself was delicious and offered anything from fresh fruit salad and yoghurt to full Scottish breakfast etc.

We only had time to stay for one night but would have loved to stay longer. We didn’t meet Andy, but Irene gave us a very warm welcome and made us feel at home. She is very knowledgeable and has many stories to tell and tips to pass on about Skye. Her homemade shortbread is delicious and the money she raises by selling the recipe goes to a dog’s trust.

Overall, there’s not a negative word to be said about this B&B. We can absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

It was really kind of you to write a review of your stay. We are lucky to have such a peaceful location, so sorry it took you a bit longer to find us. Glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope you may get a chance to return some day. Hope the shortbread recipe is a success for you and thank you for the donation for The Dog Trust. Best wishes Irene & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I really liked it here. Irene and Andy are very friendly and know so much about the island. The location is terrific, the room was excellent in every way and the breakfast magnificent. When I go back to Skye, I know where I'm going to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireneskye, Owner at Allt a Choire Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. It was lovely to meet you and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope the rest of your holiday went well. best wishes, Irene & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Allt a Choire B&B is situated in a quiet dead-end near Broadford.
Irene gave us a very warm welcome and was most attentive during our whole stay! She provided lots of information about places to visit on the Isle of Skye.
Our room (Kilbride) was very comfortable with modern furniture. The bed was rather low (no problem for us!), but comfortable and provided stunning views to the mountains.
The breakfast room is very airy and gives an amazing view over the countryside and the lovely garden with rabbits and birds. If you're lucky you can even see a Golden Eagle! Breakfast itself was very tasty as was the homemade shortbread which was really delicious and we blame ourselves for not taking the recipe! One of many reasons to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireneskye, Owner at Allt a Choire Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad you both enjoyed your stay at Allt a Choire. Skye is a fabulous island,we hope you will be able to come back some day. Sorry about the shortbread recipe, I will email you a copy. Best wishes Irene & Andy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This B&B is a wee gem conveniently situated just outside Broadford but with a wonderfully remote feeling. Irene and Andy are genuinely friendly hosts and made us feel relaxed and at home from when we arrived until we waved them goodbye. They both have a vast knowledge of the island and provided really useful recommendations for places to visit which ensured we made the most of our short stay.The accommodation is clean and spacious with a seperate entrance for guests which works really well. I thoroughly recommend you consider this B&B as I am sure you will love it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireneskye, Manager at Allt a Choire Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Thanks for writing your review of Allt a Choire, we are pleased to have been able to make your stay more enjoyable by sharing our knowledge of the island with you. Skye is a magical place and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes Irene & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The house has a beautiful quiet location with magnificent views in an island whose beauty is speechless. What to recharge. We thank Irene and Andy for their home and their advice for the rest of our trek on the island. Thank you again for the photos. The rooms and the house is very clean and well maintained. If you plan to take a ride on the Isle of Skye, we really advise you to make a short detour Alt a choire. We will return with pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AudreyetJerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireneskye, Owner at Allt a Choire Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the me to write a review of Allt a Choire B&B. We are so glad we were able to share our enthusiasm for Skye with you. You had traveled so far to visit our beautiful island, we are so glad it didn't disappoint. Best wishes Irene & Andy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadford
15.4 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,069 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
592 reviews
1.4 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Off the Hill B&B
Off the Hill B&B
#1 of 4 in Sleat
40 reviews
26.0 mi away
Beinn Edra House Bed & Breakfast
15.4 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#13 of 95 in Portree
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allt a Choire Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allt a Choire Bed & Breakfast

Address: Old Corry, Broadford IV49 9AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Broadford
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a warm Skye welcome at Allt a Choire Bed & Breakfast. Set in a peaceful, tranquil location, nestling below Beinn Na Caillich. 2 miles from the village of Broadford, relax and enjoy the breath taking scenery. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Allt a Choire Bed & Breakfast Broadford, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing