We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Visit and Amazing Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Skye Serpentarium - CLOSED

Skye Serpentarium
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Visit and Amazing Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

As soon as you enter the Serpentarium your welcomed by friendly staff. We began to look round the exhibits and were given detailed, interesting information by one male member of staff who was a complete credit to the institution. It was incredibly easy to enjoy all the animals as the guide was enthusiastic and obviously cared a great deal about his work. I would definitely recommend a visit and the work that gets done here deserves a lot more recognition and help. We'll be back to see the wee guy we sponsored next time we're on Skye.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 186487Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    33
    8
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing work being done here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was a fantastic visit. The actual display area is small but the staff member who showed us around was what made this visit great.
She spent a long time explaining how the Serpentarium started and the passion the owners have for rescuing animals in need and answered any questions we had.
Absolutely fantastic place and there needs to be more of these around to help animals :D

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Magic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

During a recent family holiday to Skye, one of the attractions we had on our 'to do' list was the Serpentarium.
Saved it for a rainy day, as we were lucky with the weather, but wish we had visited earlier!
The Serpentarium is located in a small old watermill building on the edge of Broadford, on Skye.
Probably gets busy in high season.
There's free parking outside for visitors, but watch the kids, as there is an unfenced stream.
Brilliant value for money at only £4.50 per adult, and it made a refreshing change to visit an attraction that was run by friendly enthusiastic people.
All the staff obviously have a genuine love for their reptile friends, and really knew their stuff.
I think the tree frog was my favourite!!
I felt this place existed primarily to share knowledge, and a love of the subject at hand, instead of a simple 'wallet opener' with all else secondary to the cash, which unhappily seems to be the case with many other attractions these days.
Animals very well cared for in large spotless enclosures.
An interesting hour was had by all!
Make sure to try the excellent cafe next door too.
Cake to die for, friendly helpful staff, plus possibly the cleanest loo in Scotland?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank winkertonk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Informative visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Only a small place, but has a café as well & parking. We had a tour and this was very interesting, with all our questions answered, we even got to hold a snake which we had not done before, glad to contribute to the reptiles upkeep which is greatly needed

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank filoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Skye Serpentarium is a cracking wee place, and well worth a visit. Staff are very passionate about the reptiles, and Billy's knowledge of them was first class. The enclosures are immaculate, and the reptiles are obviously well looked after and cared for.

The Serpentarium is in quite a small building, however they have about 20 - 25 custom built enclosures, all with various species, such as snakes, lizards, frogs, and tortoise. You even get a chance to handle a snake, which is a great experience and definitely something you should try.

Entrance fee is £4.50, and although some people feel this is too much, you have to take into consideration that this is a non-profit organisation, which looks after and cares for over 600 various reptiles, without any form of funding as a charity, or grants.

The Serpentarium also offers the chance to sponsor the reptiles on display. Sponsorship is for a year, and starts from £10 for the smaller animals. We sponsored one of the Green Iguanas - "Uaine".

We were the only people in when we went, and spent about an hour there. Billy obviously loves what he does, and his passion and enthusiasm is infectious.

I really hope the Serpentarium continues to remain open to the public, and maintain their good work. Don't take any notice of the negative reviews - there's no pleasing some people.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit, and if you're in the area, it is definitely well worth popping in to.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GKC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skye Serpentarium also viewed

Isle of Skye, The Hebrides
Portree, Isle of Skye
 
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing