We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Harbour Restaurant

Harbour Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Broadford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Harbour Restaurant Where Cristina Hermoso Escalas offers you a traditional taste of Spain, on the Isle of Skye. We believe in serving only the very best of fresh produce, all of which we prepare in our own kitchen or source form top suppliers both locally around the world. All our food and most of our delicious deserts are made on the premises. Most of our dishes are gluten free and free of dairy products but if you have any special dietary requirements or have any allergies, please let the waiter know and we will be happy to try to accommodate you. We hope you will enjoy eating here and lingering over an after dinner drink or coffee. To see our Menu please go to our web page We are generally closed From November till late February
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Nice varied menu. Great food and friendly service. Good value for money. There was a power cut on the island during our meal but the staff dealt with it very professionally and it did not spoil our meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pmj310162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Arrived on a Friday evening ....the starter of seafood paella was fantastic, and most unusual...we were advised that the "sea food platter" would probably include turbot, as well as the mussels, prawns and langoustines.... rather disappointedly had sea trout, no sign of turbot!
A modest bottle of French white, and final bill of £71....
We did notice a party of six foreign visitors asked for a table, and were rebuffed, (the restaurant was half empty) rather than move two tables together! Business must be good...
Would we go back....probably

1 Thank Perersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatmanbilly, Owner at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We have no objection to a negative review as long as it is accurate.

We are glad you liked our seafood Paella as a starter! We don't actually serve this however and I think that what you had was the Frito Marinero, a dish without rice. Thanks for the compliment anyway.

As you comment, I said that the seafood platter, which you each had as a main , would "probably" include Turbot. Unfortunately we had finished that and in its place was a piece of salmon, not sea trout, We don't have any at this time of year and the dish would have been more than the £20 if we did. I did apologise for this and I recall the chef also apologising to you for what she considered her error in not telling me we had run out. You did eat all the Salmon so we assume you enjoyed it.

The wine you had was a bottle of Marques de Riscal rueda verdejo. A Spanish wine not a French. We are a Spanish restaurant and all our wine is from that country. We sell this at £21 per bottle, a very reasonable price considering that many restaurants are selling this at up to £25.

Dessert ? I cant remember but even without coffee you are up to nearly £70. We are not sure, do you think this is expensive? You did have the most expensive items on the menu after all.

We did have two empty tables which we would have loved to give away but please give me credit for knowing the layout of my own restaurant. It would have made the service terrible and inconvenient for my existing customers who always come first. We would love to be able to accommodate all the people who want to eat in our restaurant but it is not always possible.

By the way, we did not appreciate the slamming of the door as you left the restaurant causing the rest of my customers to turn to the noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Spanish restaurant on Skye”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We had soup of the day which was delicious, as was the meat and cheese selection. Slow cooked lamb was amazing... So tasty and tender. Pheasant & lentils very good too. Owners friendly and welcoming. Would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christina030605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The food was excellent service first class we would go back to Skye just to have another meal in the restaurant

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank malcolm9257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

The trifle (it's called something else since this is a Spanish influence restaurant) was basically the best thing I've ever eaten in my entire life and ordered 3. A-maz-ing!!!

The slow roasted lamb was divine.

Highly recommend

Thank three t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Restaurant also viewed

Broadford, Isle of Skye
Broadford, Isle of Skye
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides

Been to Harbour Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing