We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful - great service, great food and wine !”
Review of Harbour Restaurant

Harbour Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Broadford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Harbour Restaurant Where Cristina Hermoso Escalas offers you a traditional taste of Spain, on the Isle of Skye. We believe in serving only the very best of fresh produce, all of which we prepare in our own kitchen or source form top suppliers both locally around the world. All our food and most of our delicious deserts are made on the premises. Most of our dishes are gluten free and free of dairy products but if you have any special dietary requirements or have any allergies, please let the waiter know and we will be happy to try to accommodate you. We hope you will enjoy eating here and lingering over an after dinner drink or coffee. To see our Menu please go to our web page We are generally closed From November till late February
Arisaig, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful - great service, great food and wine !”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Living in the north west Highlands ourselves, it is seldom we get the chance to eat out somewhere that has an imaginative menu. Delighted to find some-where where the owners' passion for excellent food shows through, locally sourced produce, decent selection of well priced wines, great cooking. Service was friendly, nice and relaxed feel in restaurant and prices were very keen. We had a 3 course meal and a bottle of wine for just over £70 - that is great value, given the quality. Highly recommend and will make sure that next time we get over on the Mallaig ferry we'll be paying a visit. Looking forward to it already. Well done !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HighlandGlemix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    94
    27
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“harbour some doubts”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had seen plenty of people in the restaurant just across the road from where we were staying so we wanted to try it. Appetizer of mussells ok fresh but without any desire to dip bread in the sauce at the end. Something I always do in Rome where I live. Then the main course of salmon. Nice presentation but the salmon considering where I was eating I expected to be something special. Instead utterly tasteless. Overall nice atmosphere but let down by mediocre food. Very overrated and too expensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank templestar54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatmanbilly, Owner at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
I am sorry that our Spanish restaurant was not up to your high Roman standards. It is a shame that you didn't let us know at the time that you were unhappy but then why do that when you can look forward to writing a complaint from a safe distance.
We take great care in finding the best suppliers of the freshest meat, fish and seafood and hope we prepare it to the satisfaction of the vast majority of our customers and so I am very disappointed in your review.
Firstly: "steamed mussels". That's what they are; Mussels which have been steamed. We do not serve them with a sauce. We do not advertise a sauce. The local mussels are excellent and neither we nor the majority of our customers feel the need to mask their flavour with a sauce of cream, wine, tomatoes or whatever. Next time, please read the menu or ask the waiter.
The Salmon? Well, this is one of the most popular dishes on the menu with many people complimenting us after the first mouthful. This is served with a leek sauce which is savoury and full of flavour. Did you have it without the sauce?
The majority of the salmon served in restaurants in Scotland and the rest of the world is farmed. If you want a richer fuller flavour, less oily and with a better texture then try the wild version but be prepared to spend two to three times as much for this dish as well as the rest of the meal.
As far as expensive goes, well that's down to you. We have many customers telling us that they believe we don't charge enough. That's up to them! Our prices are displayed outside and on the menu and our main courses range from £10.50 to £18.50 for a steak. If you think it’s too much for your budget then perhaps you should have tried elsewhere.
Nice pun by the way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good seafood with a spanish twist”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Ate here in August 2013. The food was good. The seafood cocktail starter tasted excellent. The sea trout main was also good. It was a large piece of fish. However one bit was very boney. Also at £20 per main it was not cheap. The service was good however I recommend booking as it was very busy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank EMcCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“excellent seafood with a Spanish flair”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We ate here twice. The first time, we had just arrived on Skye (via the Skye bridge from Kyle of Lochalsh), and we stopped here for a quick lunch. The second time was for supper.
Both times, the food and service were fine. I had the whitebait (small, whole, fried fish), and my spouse had the soup and the sirloin (soup was good, but spouse says he should never order steaks in a foreign country, never seasoned as much as he would like).
At supper, I had the salmon with leek sauce, which was beautifully cooked and the leek sauce was excellent. I thought it was one of my best seafood meals from the trip.
Service was attentive without being overbearing.
The place is directly on the main street in Broadford and is a small place, so reservations are probably advisable, especially during tourist season. Tables are a bit close together, probably to take best advantage of the small space. It has a pretty, clean ambiance.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pseudonym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIdnes
1 review
“skye delight”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Visited restaurant on our tour of the island, excellent choice of food. Service brilliant well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 266SUe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Restaurant also viewed

Broadford, Isle of Skye
 
Broadford, Isle of Skye
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides
 

Been to Harbour Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing